Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4443 (Princess seam Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2275 times 56 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 41 people   
Reviewed by:ladybegood
photo
Friend of PR
About ladybegoodstarstar
Member since: 5/19/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/07 7:04 PM
Last Updated:7/24/07 8:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
The fit is awesome, especially on the second dress. Excellent review too.
7/24/07 7:25 PM
carolhope said...
Wow! What a beautiful fit. These dresses remind me of what I used to wear in the 60s. I love both of them, especially the pink one. Great job in fabric choice and fitting.
7/24/07 7:30 PM
LauraTS said...
The fit looks immaculate on these - gorgeous.
7/24/07 7:55 PM
lisaquilts said...
Excellent work! Thanks for the review!
7/24/07 8:16 PM
bunz said...
They're both beautiful! I think the first one looks more retro than the beige print one.
7/24/07 8:21 PM
Mary Reed said...
Beautiful! And a good use of fabulous quilting cotton. Thank you for the very complete review.
7/24/07 8:29 PM
EveS said...
These are fabulous dresses and the fit is incredible!!! I believe I need a similar BB alteration...I'd love to see pics if you get an opportunity. Thanks for the great review!
7/24/07 9:36 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your dresses are soo cool! I love that style! Great review!
7/25/07 4:03 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the review. I just bought this pattern so I'm glad to know it worked for someone else (and that it's quick!)
7/25/07 4:13 AM
morzel said...
Beautiful dress! Especially the second one looks wonderful, I guess because of the neckline. Great! Would you mind telling how the skirt pattern part looks like? Half circle, quarter circle? Or rather flared? Thank you!
7/25/07 5:56 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fantastic, ladyb! These are lovely dresses!!
7/25/07 7:37 AM
*Pepper* said...
You are stunning in that dress! I *must* have one.
7/25/07 9:10 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dresses - you look terrific in them. Very helpful review!
7/25/07 9:16 AM
cindyann said...
Terrific dresses. A perfect design for your lovely figure.
7/25/07 10:01 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely, lovely dresses. The fit is wonderful!
7/25/07 10:10 AM
ryansmumAria said...
What a lovely dress! I loved LATTC - I graduated from there in Fashion Design and learned so much. Maybe it will be a career for you - you're great at it.
7/25/07 11:45 AM
ladybegood said...
Thanks everyone! EveS, I'll work on getting that pciture. Morzel, the skirt is less than a 1/4 circle, and Butterick describes it as "slightly flared." A size 12 has a 47" hip, and an 80.25" hem.
7/25/07 4:58 PM
eightyferrettoes said...
teehee-- I adore tacky prints, too. Wonderful dresses, great fit, and you have a lovely figure, too.
7/25/07 7:50 PM
Anabolina said...
Looks great!!!
7/25/07 8:21 PM
jlg said...
Fantastic dresses. Like carolhope, my first thought was wow.
7/25/07 9:38 PM
morzel said...
Thanks for your info!
7/26/07 0:55 AM
tweedcurtain said...
Great dresses! I thought the cherry print looked retro until I saw your sporty comment, then went back and looked again and agree. I think if you added the same trim at the waist that would bring back the retro feel. Lovely results from all your fitting fine tuning. Surely you are now an intermediate sewist!
7/27/07 10:45 AM
Athene said...
thank you for the very informative review. The pink dress looks fantastic on you.
7/28/07 3:48 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice looking dresses. Your review was most helpful.
7/29/07 9:14 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, excellent dresses. Both are great. And they don't just look like multiple copies of the same dress, either, between the neckline change and the different fabrics.
8/1/07 8:30 AM
Bonnie O said...
Like everyone else, I agree that the fit of this dress is perfect. Very flattering on you. I don't need another dress pattern but I'm going to pick it up anyway! Your sewing tips were very helpful.
8/2/07 7:34 AM
Marji said...
Very flattering dress and your fit is fantastic.
8/2/07 10:03 AM
AmandaW said...
Your dresses are great and a well written review.
8/4/07 8:07 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
your dresses are very nice and inspiring!
8/4/07 9:41 PM
Katy O'Halloran said...
These dresses look great, I think that I will buy this pattern.
8/5/07 6:53 PM
Doleres said...
Beautiful dresses.
8/6/07 4:02 PM
Lisette said...
The fit on your dresses is great. I am working on a dress for my SIL and she has a wide back and needs an FBA. I made the FBA and the shoulder seams are pulling towards the back (like it needs the extra fabric back there). Would you take a look at the pictures(http://www.flickr.com/photos/9266162@N03/ and give me your advise? Thanks so much!
4/22/08 7:29 AM
Lisette said...
double post! sorry
4/22/08 7:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-120 Zip-up top
photo
Review by meggipeg on 4/2/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by ImListenin... on 7/12/10
Read Review

McCalls 5721 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5721 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1787 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 1787 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us