SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4443 (Princess seam Dress)

62 more reviews
Viewed 2307 times 
Reviewed by:ladybegood
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ladybegoodstarstar
Member since: 5/19/03
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/07 7:04 PM
Last Updated:7/24/07 8:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 41 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
double post! sorry
4/22/08 7:36 AM
Lisette said...
The fit on your dresses is great. I am working on a dress for my SIL and she has a wide back and needs an FBA. I made the FBA and the shoulder seams are pulling towards the back (like it needs the extra fabric back there). Would you take a look at the pictures(http://www.flickr.com/photos/9266162@N03/ and give me your advise? Thanks so much!
4/22/08 7:29 AM
Doleres said...
Beautiful dresses.
8/6/07 4:02 PM
Katy O'Halloran said...
These dresses look great, I think that I will buy this pattern.
8/5/07 6:53 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
your dresses are very nice and inspiring!
8/4/07 9:41 PM
AmandaW said...
Your dresses are great and a well written review.
8/4/07 8:07 PM
Marji said...
Very flattering dress and your fit is fantastic.
8/2/07 10:03 AM
Bonnie O said...
Like everyone else, I agree that the fit of this dress is perfect. Very flattering on you. I don't need another dress pattern but I'm going to pick it up anyway! Your sewing tips were very helpful.
8/2/07 7:34 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, excellent dresses. Both are great. And they don't just look like multiple copies of the same dress, either, between the neckline change and the different fabrics.
8/1/07 8:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice looking dresses. Your review was most helpful.
7/29/07 9:14 AM
Athene said...
thank you for the very informative review. The pink dress looks fantastic on you.
7/28/07 3:48 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Great dresses! I thought the cherry print looked retro until I saw your sporty comment, then went back and looked again and agree. I think if you added the same trim at the waist that would bring back the retro feel. Lovely results from all your fitting fine tuning. Surely you are now an intermediate sewist!
7/27/07 10:45 AM
morzel said...
Thanks for your info!
7/26/07 0:55 AM
jlg said...
Fantastic dresses. Like carolhope, my first thought was wow.
7/25/07 9:38 PM
Anabolina said...
Looks great!!!
7/25/07 8:21 PM
eightyferrettoes said...
teehee-- I adore tacky prints, too. Wonderful dresses, great fit, and you have a lovely figure, too.
7/25/07 7:50 PM
ladybegood said...
Thanks everyone! EveS, I'll work on getting that pciture. Morzel, the skirt is less than a 1/4 circle, and Butterick describes it as "slightly flared." A size 12 has a 47" hip, and an 80.25" hem.
7/25/07 4:58 PM
ryansmumAria said...
What a lovely dress! I loved LATTC - I graduated from there in Fashion Design and learned so much. Maybe it will be a career for you - you're great at it.
7/25/07 11:45 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely, lovely dresses. The fit is wonderful!
7/25/07 10:10 AM
cindyann said...
Terrific dresses. A perfect design for your lovely figure.
7/25/07 10:01 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dresses - you look terrific in them. Very helpful review!
7/25/07 9:16 AM
*Pepper* said...
You are stunning in that dress! I *must* have one.
7/25/07 9:10 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fantastic, ladyb! These are lovely dresses!!
7/25/07 7:37 AM
morzel said...
Beautiful dress! Especially the second one looks wonderful, I guess because of the neckline. Great! Would you mind telling how the skirt pattern part looks like? Half circle, quarter circle? Or rather flared? Thank you!
7/25/07 5:56 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the review. I just bought this pattern so I'm glad to know it worked for someone else (and that it's quick!)
7/25/07 4:13 AM
Em's Summer said...
Your dresses are soo cool! I love that style! Great review!
7/25/07 4:03 AM
EveS said...
These are fabulous dresses and the fit is incredible!!! I believe I need a similar BB alteration...I'd love to see pics if you get an opportunity. Thanks for the great review!
7/24/07 9:36 PM
Mary Reed said...
Beautiful! And a good use of fabulous quilting cotton. Thank you for the very complete review.
7/24/07 8:29 PM
bunz said...
They're both beautiful! I think the first one looks more retro than the beige print one.
7/24/07 8:21 PM
lisaquilts said...
Excellent work! Thanks for the review!
7/24/07 8:16 PM
LauraTS said...
The fit looks immaculate on these - gorgeous.
7/24/07 7:55 PM
carolhope said...
Wow! What a beautiful fit. These dresses remind me of what I used to wear in the 60s. I love both of them, especially the pink one. Great job in fabric choice and fitting.
7/24/07 7:30 PM
CarolynGM said...
The fit is awesome, especially on the second dress. Excellent review too.
7/24/07 7:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now