Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6429 (Misses' Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1381 times 56 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/07 11:14 PM
Last Updated:7/29/07 9:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in that dress- It looks like something from Barneys or Saks! Great fabric!
7/28/07 11:31 PM
Puppy said...
Ooooh, I like that!
7/28/07 11:39 PM
slee said...
Your dress looks wonderful on you! I really like the neckline. How did you do the neckline? What size ribbon did you use?
7/29/07 0:19 AM
SusiM said...
This dress looks great on you. Very lovely. I like the contrast of the black piping around the front.
7/29/07 0:21 AM
Dee2 said...
Beautiful dress--you look great in it! The elastic on the neckline is a nice detail. Is it special elastic? Thanks for the review.
7/29/07 0:29 AM
oracle said...
Wow. I just had to look at the photo again and again. You've done a really great job! Maybe I'll see you and your dress on the street in Toronto! (I won't know you; but I'll know your dress!)
7/29/07 1:26 AM
Schnauzer said...
VERY nice! I love that fabric!
7/29/07 1:40 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I love this dress and your version is lovely!
7/29/07 4:22 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful dress!!! Please tell us the name of that elastic. It looks wonderful on your dress. Billie
7/29/07 5:51 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Ditto to all the other enthusiastic comments. Great fabric - and I WANT that elastic.
7/29/07 6:06 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Kay !!
7/29/07 8:32 AM
2BSewing said...
Your dress is beautiful on you!
7/29/07 8:57 AM
MissCelie said...
Ooooh. Love that neckline detail. Does the elastic have a specific name or type?
7/29/07 9:16 AM
carolynw said...
Very, very nice - I am still behind you - had the pattern out yesterday but folded it and put away. Possibly won't get to it until Fall. Your review is very helpful and wil definitely check out Mokuba if I'm in the city this coming week as I really like theneckline finish you show.
7/29/07 9:48 AM
Marji said...
Kay that is such a flattering long lean look on you. Love Mokuba, I wasn't aware they were making an elastic. Some of Their ribbons are avail here locally. Thanks for the resource info.
7/29/07 10:18 AM
mahalosu said...
I have made this dress 3 times now, and I think the back is my favorite part. It is so girly. You did a great job. I love learning about the elastic.
7/29/07 10:39 AM
Nancy K said...
Love how you did the trim. Great idea. Will have to remember this tip. Great dress on you. Great dress period. How did I miss this one?
7/29/07 10:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
Gorgeous drape. Thanks for the info on the elastic.
7/29/07 10:58 AM
Levone said...
Such a lovely dress. It looks great on you! Thanks for the details on how you applied the elastic.
7/29/07 11:12 AM
Annette1 said...
I think you must write the best reviews on here! :o) Before I even commented, I did a Google search for "fold-over elastic," I like your neckline so well. I did get some results, and it looks this, at Fay's Fabrics, might be close to what you have, and they have lots of colors, too: http://faysfabrics.com/Elastic.htm Here's the really sad part: I think I HAD some of this elastic at one time that I bought in bulk at a Pendleton's outlet, but I didn't really know what to do with it -- ha! Maybe I still have it. I'll have to check in The Black Hole. Your dress turned out perfectly. Your fabric is so fun and, as you said, drapes beautiful. Thanks for another informative review.
7/29/07 2:24 PM
slee said...
Thanks for updating the info on the ribbon. I will try to look for them.
7/29/07 2:32 PM
khurtdvm said...
I love your fabric!
7/29/07 4:32 PM
Margie T said...
Love your work - beautiful sewing.
7/29/07 5:24 PM
loridiane said...
Gorgeous dress!
7/30/07 1:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Jeez, always LOVE something that makes me run out to buy the pattern IMMEDIATELY. THank you!!
7/30/07 10:58 PM
clarice said...
i love this dress in your photo, and the others too. the only thing keeping me frome making it is the hem . i have such a problem with knits when it come to hems. i do petty good with the side seams but , the hems is soooo' tackie to the point it causes me to give up. if you have any pointer please help'
8/21/07 12:10 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the detail on your elastic application, I'l lhave to keep my eyes open for that type of product.
12/12/09 9:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Butterick 5523 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by aleah42 on 2/22/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2010-119 Dress with Bow
photo
Review by mpastinell... on 3/17/11
Read Review

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4896 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4896 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us