Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2006-121 (Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 444 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:SewingBunny
photo
About SewingBunnystar
CT USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 7:26 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
Burda has less ease in their patterns than the big 4. I do add sas when I cut, but I add extra at the side seams to adjust for differences in fabrics. I use a rotary cutter with an adjustable guide that I run along the pattern edge with the cutter at the width I want the seam. This guide fits on an Olfa cutter, and is made by them. I used to use chalk until I got this. I use different width sas for different seams and clip mark at the top to remind me what I cut. But, regardless, these look very nice on you.
7/30/07 8:34 AM
dbsewer said...
I usually don't like the way pants look on most women but these do look nice on you despite your fitting woes. I add my sa to the pattern tissue because I cut with scissors and it seems to be more accurate but a rotary cutter or chalk marks on the fabric works, too. The paper pattern can be confusing but do it a few more times and it gets easier.
7/30/07 9:28 AM
SewingBunny said...
Bernie - I also add my seam allowance to the pattern tissue now by using the seam tracer I mentioned above. I first trace according to the lines, then go around the edges using the seam tracer. It works really well.
7/30/07 9:41 AM
Patzee said...
I think that Burda drafts a longer inseam because nothern Europeans are now, on average, taller than in the US.
7/31/07 3:21 AM
nimble said...
I think these look really great on you. I would be happy with them. But that is annoying that your pants get those wrinkles. In my completely unprofessional opinion, it seems to me that you don't have knock knees but that your legs are actually somewhat close together. If that's the case, I would think that moving the leg inward, like you said, would help. I hope you have success!
7/31/07 5:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 2662
photo
Review by MapleCandy... on 3/19/10
Read Review

Burda 9712 Pattern
Burda 9712 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2801 Pattern
Jalie 2801 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6788 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by aaltje on 1/24/14
Read Review

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us