SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2006-121 (Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:SewingBunny
photo

 
 
About SewingBunnystar
CT USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews: 30 (patterns: 25)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 7:26 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
nimble said... (7/31/07 5:02 AM) Reply
I think these look really great on you. I would be happy with them. But that is annoying that your pants get those wrinkles. In my completely unprofessional opinion, it seems to me that you don't have knock knees but that your legs are actually somewhat close together. If that's the case, I would think that moving the leg inward, like you said, would help. I hope you have success!
Patzee said... (7/31/07 3:21 AM) Reply
I think that Burda drafts a longer inseam because nothern Europeans are now, on average, taller than in the US.
SewingBunny said... (7/30/07 9:41 AM) Reply
Bernie - I also add my seam allowance to the pattern tissue now by using the seam tracer I mentioned above. I first trace according to the lines, then go around the edges using the seam tracer. It works really well.
dbsewer said... (7/30/07 9:28 AM) Reply
I usually don't like the way pants look on most women but these do look nice on you despite your fitting woes. I add my sa to the pattern tissue because I cut with scissors and it seems to be more accurate but a rotary cutter or chalk marks on the fabric works, too. The paper pattern can be confusing but do it a few more times and it gets easier.
Nancy K said... (7/30/07 8:34 AM) Reply
Burda has less ease in their patterns than the big 4. I do add sas when I cut, but I add extra at the side seams to adjust for differences in fabrics. I use a rotary cutter with an adjustable guide that I run along the pattern edge with the cutter at the width I want the seam. This guide fits on an Olfa cutter, and is made by them. I used to use chalk until I got this. I use different width sas for different seams and clip mark at the top to remind me what I cut. But, regardless, these look very nice on you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6796

photo
by: Danvillegi...

Review