SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2006-121 (Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:SewingBunny
photo

 
 
About SewingBunnystar
CT USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 7:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nimble said...
I think these look really great on you. I would be happy with them. But that is annoying that your pants get those wrinkles. In my completely unprofessional opinion, it seems to me that you don't have knock knees but that your legs are actually somewhat close together. If that's the case, I would think that moving the leg inward, like you said, would help. I hope you have success!
7/31/07 5:02 AM
Patzee said...
I think that Burda drafts a longer inseam because nothern Europeans are now, on average, taller than in the US.
7/31/07 3:21 AM
SewingBunny said...
Bernie - I also add my seam allowance to the pattern tissue now by using the seam tracer I mentioned above. I first trace according to the lines, then go around the edges using the seam tracer. It works really well.
7/30/07 9:41 AM
dbsewer said...
I usually don't like the way pants look on most women but these do look nice on you despite your fitting woes. I add my sa to the pattern tissue because I cut with scissors and it seems to be more accurate but a rotary cutter or chalk marks on the fabric works, too. The paper pattern can be confusing but do it a few more times and it gets easier.
7/30/07 9:28 AM
Nancy K said...
Burda has less ease in their patterns than the big 4. I do add sas when I cut, but I add extra at the side seams to adjust for differences in fabrics. I use a rotary cutter with an adjustable guide that I run along the pattern edge with the cutter at the width I want the seam. This guide fits on an Olfa cutter, and is made by them. I used to use chalk until I got this. I use different width sas for different seams and clip mark at the top to remind me what I cut. But, regardless, these look very nice on you.
7/30/07 8:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Kayla Kennington 721

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
HotPatterns 1144

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now