SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2006-121 (Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:SewingBunny
photo

 
 
About SewingBunnystar
CT USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 7:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
Burda has less ease in their patterns than the big 4. I do add sas when I cut, but I add extra at the side seams to adjust for differences in fabrics. I use a rotary cutter with an adjustable guide that I run along the pattern edge with the cutter at the width I want the seam. This guide fits on an Olfa cutter, and is made by them. I used to use chalk until I got this. I use different width sas for different seams and clip mark at the top to remind me what I cut. But, regardless, these look very nice on you.
7/30/07 8:34 AM
dbsewer said...
I usually don't like the way pants look on most women but these do look nice on you despite your fitting woes. I add my sa to the pattern tissue because I cut with scissors and it seems to be more accurate but a rotary cutter or chalk marks on the fabric works, too. The paper pattern can be confusing but do it a few more times and it gets easier.
7/30/07 9:28 AM
SewingBunny said...
Bernie - I also add my seam allowance to the pattern tissue now by using the seam tracer I mentioned above. I first trace according to the lines, then go around the edges using the seam tracer. It works really well.
7/30/07 9:41 AM
Patzee said...
I think that Burda drafts a longer inseam because nothern Europeans are now, on average, taller than in the US.
7/31/07 3:21 AM
nimble said...
I think these look really great on you. I would be happy with them. But that is annoying that your pants get those wrinkles. In my completely unprofessional opinion, it seems to me that you don't have knock knees but that your legs are actually somewhat close together. If that's the case, I would think that moving the leg inward, like you said, would help. I hope you have success!
7/31/07 5:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick B5796

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now
McCall's 6512

photo
by: KatiMade

Review