Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: HP-104 (Butterfly Top) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 999 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 8:02 PM
Last Updated:7/30/07 8:02 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
The drape on this pattern is gorgeous. It shows up very well in the solid color you chose.
7/30/07 8:55 PM
beangirl said...
What a great top! This looks fab on you, I could see it made up in anything from very casual to super-dressy fabrics and it would look great.
7/30/07 9:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab top! I think your fabric choice really makes it.
7/30/07 9:55 PM
nicegirl said...
That's a very dramatic piece--I love it!
7/30/07 10:01 PM
Diane E said...
Barbara, your top is beautiful on you and I really enjoyed reading your review. I am definitely moving this pattern to the top of my pattern stack!! Thanks for the heads-up on the neckline trickiness!
7/30/07 10:09 PM
Levone said...
Cute top! Yours definitely looks better than the pattern picture. Thank goodness I have more projects than I can handle otherwise I would probably pick up this pattern as well. :-)
7/30/07 11:01 PM
Marji said...
That really works!, most likely due to your excellent fabric choice.
7/31/07 0:05 AM
Stacy Sews said...
OOOh, I love it!
7/31/07 0:14 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Looks great!
7/31/07 0:33 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely top. The fabric choice is perfect for this style.
7/31/07 10:52 AM
ldpaulson said...
Barbara, that's a very beautiful and flattering top. Wonderful. Since this pattern is on my to-do list and you mention fabric choice as key, would you say jersey would be a poor fabric choice? What about prints? I appreciate your review and would look forward to reading your opinions.
7/31/07 11:23 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks! LD - Jersey will work very well. I suggest you stay with a lightweight single knit jersey - rayon or silk or lightweight polyester or wool- all with or without lycra - will be good. Cotton is 'doable' but less intrinsically drapy, unless it is super light weight. As for whether to use a print - I deliberately did NOT use a print, as I wanted the drape to speak loudly. I think this depends on what you want to achieve (sorry...not too helpful but that's the best I can do). If you want to post a pic of the fabric you're thinking of, I'd be glad to give you my thoughts on it. Good luck, and thanks for commenting.
7/31/07 11:42 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your top is beautiful!
7/31/07 12:14 PM
Modiste Madness said...
That looks wonderful on you!
7/31/07 12:50 PM
ldpaulson said...
Thanks Barbara! Those are very helpful comments. I thought this fabric http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-26239499928554_1959_0 captured the retro spirit of the top and might be great for a first go at this top. (With the Hot Patterns Trouser Skirt or a full a-line skirt in red and chocolate boots or red peep toe pumps!) This blouse style can be worn all year 'round where I live.
7/31/07 1:25 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Oh, yes, LD - that print is great. I love how you plan to wear it. That will be a smashing outfit!
7/31/07 5:07 PM
ldpaulson said...
Thanks! Sometimes with prints so adventurous, it helps to have a little encouragement to consider them. And especially because I'm a solid-solid-solid wardrobe kinda gal. I wore a print top last week and never got so many compliments ... it emboldened me! Thank you so much for your kind encouragement. Now to just get the sewing machine back from repair!
7/31/07 6:21 PM
Dmd4106 said...
OMG. This pattern was made for you. The drape is sheer perfection. This is one you send to HP for the sorely lack photo gallery. Thank you for the great review.
8/2/07 9:27 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks, Dina! I sent a pic to HP earlier this week.
8/3/07 9:39 AM
Athene said...
A very pretty look.
12/6/08 0:57 AM
turnerkatie said...
i cant find this pattern for sale :(
9/17/12 11:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

New Look 6626
photo
Review by maridunn on 12/14/07
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6022
photo
Review by MarianS on 8/27/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6508 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6508 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6019 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 6019 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us