SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5142 (The Perfect Jean)

27 more reviews
Viewed 3054 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 413 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/07 0:31 AM
Last Updated:7/31/07 0:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, they look fab!!
7/31/07 0:35 AM
sewsewboy said...
Those jeans are amazing!!! You do excellent work. Your attention to detail is fantastic!!! Your pair of denim looks WAY better than those $150.00 plus pairs out there in the retail world. Custom fit to your body. I bow down to your sewing awesomeness!!!
7/31/07 0:37 AM
Lisa Merry said...
I LOVE the embroidery on the pockets!! These look like very expensive store-bought jeans!
7/31/07 0:37 AM
luvzdogz said...
What an awesome pair of jeans! The metallic topstitching sounds like it gives your jeans a dressy Chanel touch.
7/31/07 0:40 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow!! There is no way I am ever going to spend $$$ on jeans when such a superb pair can be CUSTOM MADE at home.
7/31/07 1:10 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jeans.
7/31/07 1:53 AM
Annette1 said...
Perfect! I love your idea of silver topstitching. Don't you love it when you find a pattern that you really LOVE? :o)
7/31/07 2:00 AM
Kiwi Girl said...
So cool.... your jeans look awesome and you look stunning in them. You have done such a great job. I have got this pattern ready to go so I am thrilled to read your review. Which view did you sew... I am assuming view B..? They look far better than RTW I have seen.
7/31/07 2:18 AM
Tany said...
You did it! You made the perfect pair of jeans! Wow!
7/31/07 3:12 AM
Sigrid. said...
Perfect jeans. I have this pattern and hope it will fit as well as yours does.
7/31/07 3:21 AM
susinok said...
Ooh nice! I have that pattern and have not made it yet. We are similar shaped below the waist, so I am encouraged to get mine out and sew them up.
7/31/07 6:54 AM
LauraLo said...
I want that pattern, I want it now! And an embroidery machine to go with it... Erica, seriously now, these are absolutely gorgeous jeans and they look perfect on you. Amazing job!
7/31/07 7:05 AM
MissCelie said...
Gah!! How do you do it? I could make jeans from now until kingdom come and they would still look like I got them from the flea market.
7/31/07 7:17 AM
carolynw said...
Wow - if I saw this int he store I would expect to pay big $$$$ - lovely
7/31/07 9:08 AM
CarolynGM said...
Perfect! Now when is the next McCall's patern sale -- this pattern looks like a must have.
7/31/07 9:20 AM
TrixieD said...
I bought the pattern a few weeks ago, and after your review, I'm going out to find the right denim. Awesome work!
7/31/07 10:24 AM
sewbehind said...
Erica, those look top of the line. Fantastic job.
7/31/07 11:08 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Those jeans *are* perfect.
7/31/07 11:44 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Another winner! You have a great eye for fabric and design.
7/31/07 12:45 PM
Levone said...
Wow, great job on these! They look fantastic on you. I love the embroidery and the contrasting topstitching.
7/31/07 1:21 PM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous jeans! Jeans are my next project, so I appreciate your review. I also have this pattern in the stash. If mine fit this well I won't be buying anymore jeans!
7/31/07 3:15 PM
wsu 1 fan said...
First time ever I have wanted to buy a pants pattern. I will now thanks to your awesome review!
7/31/07 3:49 PM
krawz said...
Your jeans look amazing! I never would have thought of the color combination but it looks stunning! I have to get that pattern! Great job!
7/31/07 8:11 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fab as usual. Luv the pocket detail
7/31/07 8:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Fabulous - love all of your additional touches to make these jeans uniquely yours.
7/31/07 11:47 PM
PhyllisC said...
Love 'em - I really admire anyone who tackles jeans!
8/1/07 6:35 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
GOrgeous ... I am inspired!
8/8/07 9:13 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
I'm currently working this pattern and I'm curious to know if you used the pattern directions for the fly/zipper or a different method. After multiple tries I finally figured out the pattern directions, I'm just not loving how they came out. Would be interested to hear your thoughts. Thanks!
9/3/07 11:47 PM
Angelia74 said...
Ok... these jeans look great! I have always been afraid to try and sew jeans but these are an inspiration! I'm getting the pattern today! Thanks for the review!
10/17/07 8:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Simplicity 3678

photo
by: pt6356

Review