SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5142 (The Perfect Jean)

27 more reviews
Viewed 3054 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 415 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/07 0:31 AM
Last Updated:7/31/07 0:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, they look fab!!
7/31/07 0:35 AM
sewsewboy said...
Those jeans are amazing!!! You do excellent work. Your attention to detail is fantastic!!! Your pair of denim looks WAY better than those $150.00 plus pairs out there in the retail world. Custom fit to your body. I bow down to your sewing awesomeness!!!
7/31/07 0:37 AM
Lisa Merry said...
I LOVE the embroidery on the pockets!! These look like very expensive store-bought jeans!
7/31/07 0:37 AM
luvzdogz said...
What an awesome pair of jeans! The metallic topstitching sounds like it gives your jeans a dressy Chanel touch.
7/31/07 0:40 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow!! There is no way I am ever going to spend $$$ on jeans when such a superb pair can be CUSTOM MADE at home.
7/31/07 1:10 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jeans.
7/31/07 1:53 AM
Annette1 said...
Perfect! I love your idea of silver topstitching. Don't you love it when you find a pattern that you really LOVE? :o)
7/31/07 2:00 AM
Kiwi Girl said...
So cool.... your jeans look awesome and you look stunning in them. You have done such a great job. I have got this pattern ready to go so I am thrilled to read your review. Which view did you sew... I am assuming view B..? They look far better than RTW I have seen.
7/31/07 2:18 AM
Tany said...
You did it! You made the perfect pair of jeans! Wow!
7/31/07 3:12 AM
Sigrid. said...
Perfect jeans. I have this pattern and hope it will fit as well as yours does.
7/31/07 3:21 AM
susinok said...
Ooh nice! I have that pattern and have not made it yet. We are similar shaped below the waist, so I am encouraged to get mine out and sew them up.
7/31/07 6:54 AM
LauraLo said...
I want that pattern, I want it now! And an embroidery machine to go with it... Erica, seriously now, these are absolutely gorgeous jeans and they look perfect on you. Amazing job!
7/31/07 7:05 AM
MissCelie said...
Gah!! How do you do it? I could make jeans from now until kingdom come and they would still look like I got them from the flea market.
7/31/07 7:17 AM
carolynw said...
Wow - if I saw this int he store I would expect to pay big $$$$ - lovely
7/31/07 9:08 AM
CarolynGM said...
Perfect! Now when is the next McCall's patern sale -- this pattern looks like a must have.
7/31/07 9:20 AM
TrixieD said...
I bought the pattern a few weeks ago, and after your review, I'm going out to find the right denim. Awesome work!
7/31/07 10:24 AM
sewbehind said...
Erica, those look top of the line. Fantastic job.
7/31/07 11:08 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Those jeans *are* perfect.
7/31/07 11:44 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Another winner! You have a great eye for fabric and design.
7/31/07 12:45 PM
Levone said...
Wow, great job on these! They look fantastic on you. I love the embroidery and the contrasting topstitching.
7/31/07 1:21 PM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous jeans! Jeans are my next project, so I appreciate your review. I also have this pattern in the stash. If mine fit this well I won't be buying anymore jeans!
7/31/07 3:15 PM
wsu 1 fan said...
First time ever I have wanted to buy a pants pattern. I will now thanks to your awesome review!
7/31/07 3:49 PM
krawz said...
Your jeans look amazing! I never would have thought of the color combination but it looks stunning! I have to get that pattern! Great job!
7/31/07 8:11 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fab as usual. Luv the pocket detail
7/31/07 8:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Fabulous - love all of your additional touches to make these jeans uniquely yours.
7/31/07 11:47 PM
PhyllisC said...
Love 'em - I really admire anyone who tackles jeans!
8/1/07 6:35 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
GOrgeous ... I am inspired!
8/8/07 9:13 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
I'm currently working this pattern and I'm curious to know if you used the pattern directions for the fly/zipper or a different method. After multiple tries I finally figured out the pattern directions, I'm just not loving how they came out. Would be interested to hear your thoughts. Thanks!
9/3/07 11:47 PM
Angelia74 said...
Ok... these jeans look great! I have always been afraid to try and sew jeans but these are an inspiration! I'm getting the pattern today! Thanks for the review!
10/17/07 8:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's M5743

photo
by: GoNSew

Review