SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5205 (Boat Neck Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1252 times 
Reviewed by:Tina C
photo

 
 
About Tina Cstar
AZ USA
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/03 9:39 PM
Last Updated:2/22/03 11:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
I am beginning to think I will have to get this pattern. Thanks for the review, including the sleeve situation!
2/22/03 9:48 PM
Karen Bowers said...
tina, you and i are very similar in body type -- short-legged, full-busted, narrow shouldered pear! and i love this pattern, too. and you have also now discovered that LH's sleeves tend to be narrower than most women's arms. i usually have to redraft her sleeves, or at least do a sleeve muslin.
2/23/03 0:02 AM
Tina C said...
Karen, the funny thing is, I never considered myself full-busted. I was a AA cup forever - I didn't even wear a bra with my wedding dress - but 3 kids... well you know...Even when I measure my bust for a pattern I can't believe the measuring tape! I wish I had done a sleeve muslin on this one - I checked everything BUT the sleeves. Next time....
2/23/03 0:10 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
I've been looking at the beige EOS has in this fabric, and may have to get it, along with this pattern. Your top looks great! BTW, if you get the email from Timmel Fabrics, the rumor has it that next week's special with be this pattern and the boucles on her site. ;-)
2/23/03 12:18 PM
Tina C said...
Rhonda, I have to agree that this fabric makes a very nice top although it does snag a bit easily. You'll have to post your finished shirt - I'd love to see another version - just make sure to do a sleeve muslin first!
2/23/03 12:41 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Beautiful top, Tina, and a great fabric choice. I've been eyeing these EOS knits too, I appreciate seeing one made up.
2/23/03 3:59 PM
Diane E said...
Tina, this is very very pretty! I haven't yet made the boatneck version and your review reminds me to get going. I love the fabric you used - so dressy and special.
2/23/03 9:18 PM
Tina C said...
One thing I would add if using this fabric: if you intend to bind the neckline (which I think looks better) I would attach the binding so it's shorter in the front - I think it might lay on front a little neater as I found there to be more neckline in the front than I actually need. Again, this was my first experience sewing with a stretch fabric and I've learned alot through (and after) the process!
2/23/03 11:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7447

photo
by: Fashionabl...

Review