Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8379 (Misses Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1432 times 121 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:snowflake girl
photo
About snowflake girlstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/23/07
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:8/3/07 9:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JeanM said...
Nice job! - but definitely I would put trim on, I think - it helps define the lines of the dress and provides a little "pop!" visually.
8/3/07 9:32 PM
mahalosu said...
I vote for trim.
8/3/07 9:36 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Love the dress with the trim. Defines the lines--diagonal and vertical--very slenderizing. Thanks for your review!
8/3/07 9:37 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Looks great! I'd leave it as is. This is one of those great "blank canvas" pieces that let you have complete freedom with accessories. I think it looks more sophisticated without the trim.
8/3/07 9:39 PM
JuliaS said...
I too think it looks more sophisticated without the trim. Nothing wrong with a simple, pared-down dress to wear with great shoes and accessories!
8/3/07 9:57 PM
michellep74 said...
Looks good both ways, but if it were my dress, I'd leave the trim off and dress up or down with accessories.
8/3/07 10:11 PM
cafelatte said...
Go without the trim, your dress is beautiful!.
8/3/07 10:16 PM
rosannec said...
Without, I think. At least without the peach as laid out in the photo. I find it a bit too reminiscent of some airline uniform trimmings, etc. However, maybe a tonal satin slinky in a darker color for the neck binding and the sash might be nice. Either that or maybe something similar but with metallic threads or sequins or something (tonal here). Or, just pair it with some really long beads and chunky bracelets. Simple and fun!
8/3/07 10:28 PM
sewbehind said...
I like your dress without the trim. That is my vote. Go nuts with accessories, or not.
8/3/07 11:54 PM
christinawo said...
I vote no trim, and great jewelery or accessories. Very sophisticated.
8/4/07 1:11 AM
SillyValley said...
I like the trim too
8/4/07 3:41 AM
Linda G said...
Cute dress, I would go without the trim and have it in my closet as a basic wardrobe piece. I would consider the color almost a basic that could be worn with anything...like blue jeans.
8/4/07 5:57 AM
Robbie Jo said...
No trim with amazing accessories and Kick a** shoes. Looked at your portfolio, good stuff there!
8/4/07 6:53 AM
CarolynGM said...
Another vote here for no trim, but nice accessories.
8/4/07 7:09 AM
morzel said...
I say the dress looks good, with or without. But YOU donīt seem to be content! Honestly, would you wear it without trim but assesories? Would this change your opinion of it being boring? Or would it rather be hanging in the closet, being labeled "too dull"? You put work and time into this baby, so if the chance of wearing it increases with the trim, do it! (Personally, I love the trim idea and will keep this in the back of my mind! Itīs an easy "wow"-effect)
8/4/07 8:15 AM
Lynnelle said...
No trim, nice accessories.
8/4/07 8:18 AM
Shellia said...
It looks good without the trim, use interesting accessories.
8/4/07 9:21 AM
bunz said...
Trim. And beautiful construction!
8/4/07 1:41 PM
snowflake girl said...
Wow, thank you all for your comments and help. I think I will go with no trim. I was leaning that way but just needed the push. Now to find a great pair of shoes and jewery. This is such a tough color, not sure what I was thinking when I ordered this fabric.
8/4/07 4:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7837
photo
Review by jetgirl707 on 11/21/10
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3576 1 hour top
photo
Review by arianamani... on 3/10/10
Read Review

Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us