SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8379 (Misses Wrap Dress)

123 more reviews
Viewed 1435 times 
Reviewed by:snowflake girl
photo

 
 
About snowflake girlstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/23/07
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:8/3/07 9:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JeanM said...
Nice job! - but definitely I would put trim on, I think - it helps define the lines of the dress and provides a little "pop!" visually.
8/3/07 9:32 PM
mahalosu said...
I vote for trim.
8/3/07 9:36 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Love the dress with the trim. Defines the lines--diagonal and vertical--very slenderizing. Thanks for your review!
8/3/07 9:37 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Looks great! I'd leave it as is. This is one of those great "blank canvas" pieces that let you have complete freedom with accessories. I think it looks more sophisticated without the trim.
8/3/07 9:39 PM
JuliaS said...
I too think it looks more sophisticated without the trim. Nothing wrong with a simple, pared-down dress to wear with great shoes and accessories!
8/3/07 9:57 PM
michellep74 said...
Looks good both ways, but if it were my dress, I'd leave the trim off and dress up or down with accessories.
8/3/07 10:11 PM
cafelatte said...
Go without the trim, your dress is beautiful!.
8/3/07 10:16 PM
rosannec said...
Without, I think. At least without the peach as laid out in the photo. I find it a bit too reminiscent of some airline uniform trimmings, etc. However, maybe a tonal satin slinky in a darker color for the neck binding and the sash might be nice. Either that or maybe something similar but with metallic threads or sequins or something (tonal here). Or, just pair it with some really long beads and chunky bracelets. Simple and fun!
8/3/07 10:28 PM
sewbehind said...
I like your dress without the trim. That is my vote. Go nuts with accessories, or not.
8/3/07 11:54 PM
christinawo said...
I vote no trim, and great jewelery or accessories. Very sophisticated.
8/4/07 1:11 AM
SillyValley said...
I like the trim too
8/4/07 3:41 AM
Linda G said...
Cute dress, I would go without the trim and have it in my closet as a basic wardrobe piece. I would consider the color almost a basic that could be worn with anything...like blue jeans.
8/4/07 5:57 AM
Robbie Jo said...
No trim with amazing accessories and Kick a** shoes. Looked at your portfolio, good stuff there!
8/4/07 6:53 AM
CarolynGM said...
Another vote here for no trim, but nice accessories.
8/4/07 7:09 AM
morzel said...
I say the dress looks good, with or without. But YOU donīt seem to be content! Honestly, would you wear it without trim but assesories? Would this change your opinion of it being boring? Or would it rather be hanging in the closet, being labeled "too dull"? You put work and time into this baby, so if the chance of wearing it increases with the trim, do it! (Personally, I love the trim idea and will keep this in the back of my mind! Itīs an easy "wow"-effect)
8/4/07 8:15 AM
Lynnelle said...
No trim, nice accessories.
8/4/07 8:18 AM
Shellia said...
It looks good without the trim, use interesting accessories.
8/4/07 9:21 AM
bunz said...
Trim. And beautiful construction!
8/4/07 1:41 PM
snowflake girl said...
Wow, thank you all for your comments and help. I think I will go with no trim. I was leaning that way but just needed the push. Now to find a great pair of shoes and jewery. This is such a tough color, not sure what I was thinking when I ordered this fabric.
8/4/07 4:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
McCall's 6611

photo
by: janecharlo...

Review