SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8379 (Misses Wrap Dress)

125 more reviews
Viewed 1442 times 
Reviewed by:snowflake girl
photo

 
 
About snowflake girlstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/23/07
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:8/3/07 9:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
snowflake girl said...
Wow, thank you all for your comments and help. I think I will go with no trim. I was leaning that way but just needed the push. Now to find a great pair of shoes and jewery. This is such a tough color, not sure what I was thinking when I ordered this fabric.
8/4/07 4:28 PM
bunz said...
Trim. And beautiful construction!
8/4/07 1:41 PM
Shellia said...
It looks good without the trim, use interesting accessories.
8/4/07 9:21 AM
Lynnelle said...
No trim, nice accessories.
8/4/07 8:18 AM
morzel said...
I say the dress looks good, with or without. But YOU donīt seem to be content! Honestly, would you wear it without trim but assesories? Would this change your opinion of it being boring? Or would it rather be hanging in the closet, being labeled "too dull"? You put work and time into this baby, so if the chance of wearing it increases with the trim, do it! (Personally, I love the trim idea and will keep this in the back of my mind! Itīs an easy "wow"-effect)
8/4/07 8:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
Another vote here for no trim, but nice accessories.
8/4/07 7:09 AM
Robbie Jo said...
No trim with amazing accessories and Kick a** shoes. Looked at your portfolio, good stuff there!
8/4/07 6:53 AM
Linda G said...
Cute dress, I would go without the trim and have it in my closet as a basic wardrobe piece. I would consider the color almost a basic that could be worn with anything...like blue jeans.
8/4/07 5:57 AM
SillyValley said...
I like the trim too
8/4/07 3:41 AM
christinawo said...
I vote no trim, and great jewelery or accessories. Very sophisticated.
8/4/07 1:11 AM
sewbehind said...
I like your dress without the trim. That is my vote. Go nuts with accessories, or not.
8/3/07 11:54 PM
rosannec said...
Without, I think. At least without the peach as laid out in the photo. I find it a bit too reminiscent of some airline uniform trimmings, etc. However, maybe a tonal satin slinky in a darker color for the neck binding and the sash might be nice. Either that or maybe something similar but with metallic threads or sequins or something (tonal here). Or, just pair it with some really long beads and chunky bracelets. Simple and fun!
8/3/07 10:28 PM
cafelatte said...
Go without the trim, your dress is beautiful!.
8/3/07 10:16 PM
michellep74 said...
Looks good both ways, but if it were my dress, I'd leave the trim off and dress up or down with accessories.
8/3/07 10:11 PM
JuliaS said...
I too think it looks more sophisticated without the trim. Nothing wrong with a simple, pared-down dress to wear with great shoes and accessories!
8/3/07 9:57 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Looks great! I'd leave it as is. This is one of those great "blank canvas" pieces that let you have complete freedom with accessories. I think it looks more sophisticated without the trim.
8/3/07 9:39 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Love the dress with the trim. Defines the lines--diagonal and vertical--very slenderizing. Thanks for your review!
8/3/07 9:37 PM
mahalosu said...
I vote for trim.
8/3/07 9:36 PM
JeanM said...
Nice job! - but definitely I would put trim on, I think - it helps define the lines of the dress and provides a little "pop!" visually.
8/3/07 9:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 2907

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Candice

Candice

More Info
Simplicity 2562

photo
by: mitaliK

Review