Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2007-105 (nautical skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 685 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/07 0:57 AM
Last Updated:8/5/07 0:57 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
This turned out really cute. I love how BWOF always has little surprise details. I would have never thought to make this skirt out of khaki, but it looks great!
8/5/07 1:10 AM
yorkshire lass said...
What a cute skirt. Love the hidden pocket idea
8/5/07 2:14 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Brilliant!!!! I love everything you sew and this is no exception. I'm moving to Hong Kong this month and travelling to Kuala Lumpur en route, I got to make this skirt as you suggested! Very very clever. Bravo!
8/5/07 6:13 AM
bluenines said...
great skirt, i like the hidden pocket ,it sounds great for your trip
8/5/07 6:14 AM
Bonnie O said...
What an adorable and distinctive skirt!
8/5/07 7:15 AM
Linda G said...
What an ingenious idea with the front zipper, I really dislike side zippers because it makes tweaking the fit impossible without taking out the zip. Very cute skirt!!! Great review....If I make the skirt I am going to refer back to your review!
8/5/07 9:33 AM
Frogstitcher said...
What a striking skirt. The front bib with button closure on each side allows for a very clean, slimming line giving you the illusion of length. Moving the side zip to the (hidden) front is ideal and makes sense. The flounce gives the skirt an essence of femininity well suited to your fabric choice. Lovely, well done.
8/5/07 10:56 AM
Heatherrique said...
Isn't that a clever and striking skirt! Bet it looks great on you! PLEASE share some pics of you wearing it in action! By the way, is there an over the counter or from the filing cabinet version of this BURDA? I don't have a magazine subsciption just yet!
8/5/07 11:00 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks, all, for your positive comments. HeathersMom, you should be able to pick up a current issue of this magazine at a newsstand that specializes in German or international publications. If it's this particular skirt you itch for, you can easily draft one from a well fitting straight skirt pattern. As a math major, you should be able to work out the proportions of the upper skirt and flounce, as well as the width of the front panel, from the line drawing. The flap is a single layer turned under 1/4" and then 3/8" (5/8" total) and topstitched. I highly recommend getting a subscription (US). Canadians, a subscription (CDN) is $100/year (12 issues)
8/5/07 1:22 PM
svenskaflicka said...
This is somethin'! I love it!
8/5/07 3:08 PM
lmg said...
Very striking skirt. Looks like lots of fun to wear and the hidden pocket, how practical!
8/5/07 3:42 PM
pamici said...
Clever!
8/6/07 7:58 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Oh - wonderful skirt.
8/7/07 5:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 9782 baby layette
photo
Review by mymehigan on 1/10/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2984 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 2984 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2685 Pattern( Size OneSize )
Simplicity 2685 Pattern( Size OneSize )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2659
photo
Review by josie e on 11/4/09
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us