SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2007-105 (nautical skirt)

Viewed 685 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/07 0:57 AM
Last Updated:8/5/07 0:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
This turned out really cute. I love how BWOF always has little surprise details. I would have never thought to make this skirt out of khaki, but it looks great!
8/5/07 1:10 AM
yorkshire lass said...
What a cute skirt. Love the hidden pocket idea
8/5/07 2:14 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Brilliant!!!! I love everything you sew and this is no exception. I'm moving to Hong Kong this month and travelling to Kuala Lumpur en route, I got to make this skirt as you suggested! Very very clever. Bravo!
8/5/07 6:13 AM
bluenines said...
great skirt, i like the hidden pocket ,it sounds great for your trip
8/5/07 6:14 AM
Bonnie O said...
What an adorable and distinctive skirt!
8/5/07 7:15 AM
Linda G said...
What an ingenious idea with the front zipper, I really dislike side zippers because it makes tweaking the fit impossible without taking out the zip. Very cute skirt!!! Great review....If I make the skirt I am going to refer back to your review!
8/5/07 9:33 AM
Frogstitcher said...
What a striking skirt. The front bib with button closure on each side allows for a very clean, slimming line giving you the illusion of length. Moving the side zip to the (hidden) front is ideal and makes sense. The flounce gives the skirt an essence of femininity well suited to your fabric choice. Lovely, well done.
8/5/07 10:56 AM
Heatherrique said...
Isn't that a clever and striking skirt! Bet it looks great on you! PLEASE share some pics of you wearing it in action! By the way, is there an over the counter or from the filing cabinet version of this BURDA? I don't have a magazine subsciption just yet!
8/5/07 11:00 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks, all, for your positive comments. HeathersMom, you should be able to pick up a current issue of this magazine at a newsstand that specializes in German or international publications. If it's this particular skirt you itch for, you can easily draft one from a well fitting straight skirt pattern. As a math major, you should be able to work out the proportions of the upper skirt and flounce, as well as the width of the front panel, from the line drawing. The flap is a single layer turned under 1/4" and then 3/8" (5/8" total) and topstitched. I highly recommend getting a subscription (US). Canadians, a subscription (CDN) is $100/year (12 issues)
8/5/07 1:22 PM
svenskaflicka said...
This is somethin'! I love it!
8/5/07 3:08 PM
lmg said...
Very striking skirt. Looks like lots of fun to wear and the hidden pocket, how practical!
8/5/07 3:42 PM
pamici said...
Clever!
8/6/07 7:58 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Oh - wonderful skirt.
8/7/07 5:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

New Look 6025

photo
by: trumbelina

Review
Marfy 2245

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now