SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-107 (Top with gathers and bow)

3 more reviews
Viewed 871 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple

About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews: 136 (patterns: 103)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/07 0:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Winifred said... (10/9/07 12:20 PM) Reply
I am making this at the moment. Its my first BWOF and my first knit. I too had to lift the front a lot and I used clear elastic to stabilise the whole neck. Its gapping a bit at the sides so will see if i can sort it out when i put the bow on. Lovely style & will make again probably.
SewTwin said... (8/13/07 4:09 AM) Reply
Love the top, haven't sewn the BWOF's yet.Will be trying this soon?
fuzzygalore said... (8/8/07 3:03 AM) Reply
I've been looking at this top myself, and been puzzled by the contradictory thing of center front seam or not. Looks from the drawing that there -is- one, which would make the gathering much more straightforward. But you should be putting clear elastic in all your necklines, they'd be better even if you didn't obviously -need- it :-).
martinanne said... (8/7/07 10:28 AM) Reply
This is one of the few things i'm interested in this issue. Glad to see it reviewed. Thanks! Your top looks very nice!
Heatherrique said... (8/6/07 5:53 PM) Reply
Always, wonderful fit and fabulous style! As always, I look forward to your reviews!
lmg said... (8/6/07 1:55 PM) Reply
Wonderful. This is a must sew for me from this issue. Glad to see it went together well.
zetor said... (8/6/07 1:00 PM) Reply
That looks good. I've just seen the magazine, I like the solid colour rather than stripes.
Levone said... (8/6/07 11:43 AM) Reply
Nice top, yours looks much better than the one in the magazine. I can't wait to see your dress.
SarahSM said... (8/6/07 1:16 AM) Reply
Looks lovely... Thanks for the review! Great tip about this elastic.
Vonnevo said... (8/6/07 1:07 AM) Reply
Fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Marita Kinnula said... (8/6/07 0:59 AM) Reply
Avery nice top, not to mention the rest of them, I liked all of them.
Annette1 said... (8/6/07 0:30 AM) Reply
I really like the lines of this top, and it looks great on you!
Frogstitcher said... (8/6/07 0:19 AM) Reply
Looks like a good fit although a little difficult to see due to the black color. The neckline looks perfect and I like that you used ribbon for the bow. Can't wait to see your red power dress once it's done.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6796

by: treefrog

Simplicity 5500

by: Jemajyng

Maggie Paper Pattern

Maggie Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details