Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3238 (Misses Swimsuit) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1164 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/07 3:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squilts said...
Melissa - I was curious to see how the bottoms fit on you...I narrowed the front crotch quite a bit on mine, must just be my fuller thighs =). Congrats, you pulled together a great suit with options!
8/6/07 4:34 PM
brrmm said...
Great togs at a great price. I too make togs for my daughters and me, soooo easy. Welcome to the swimwear club, look out it's addictive.
8/6/07 6:39 PM
Lunar_C said...
You look fab. I guess the beauty of making your own bathers is you can fit your bits the way you actually are and not the way retailers think you look. I'm inspired.
8/6/07 7:59 PM
Sewingmi said...
Very cute swimsuit! I especially like the top with the long length. Good review!
8/7/07 7:06 PM
slanden99 said...
great review. I don't think I could wear darts in a swimming suit either.
8/11/07 2:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
OMG, you are a baywatch mom! I envy you! Darling suit!
9/16/07 12:25 PM
caleigha said...
That suit is so darling!! Great job and you look fantastic in it. I have a question about the breast enhancers that you linked to - if you were to use them, would you create a pocket of some kind, or sew them inside the lining of the suit? I know that if I just tucked them into my suit before leaving the house, they would pop out and end up floating on the top of the pool. That's just how things happen with me. lol.
7/1/08 11:28 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
The enhancers I bought were the sew in kind. I made another top KS 3063 that worked much better for my figure (the one that is shown in the review picture). For that top, I removed some cups from another suit (RTW) and just cut a little slit in the lining and insert them in when I'm going to wear the suit. That way I can interchange the cups between suits. Ideally I'd like to buy another set of the cups, but I haven't looked around and my Joann's doesn't sell the style of the RTW ones I have. I think the ones I have could be tacked to the lining if you're worried about them floating out in the pool. It probably depends on the style of cups you buy as to whether you have to sew them in or not. The slit I made is small tho so I have to fold the cups to put them in between the lining and the swimsuit fabric so I don't think they are going any where. Clear as mud? Let me know if you have any other questions. The ones I got from Joann's definitely didn't work for me - they were too padded and looked like I was trying to enhance my chest - definitely not the look I was after!
7/2/08 11:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by Jackie02 on 11/19/08
Read Review

Burda 8376 Pattern
Burda 8376 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9826 Skirt
photo
Review by KathleenS on 9/10/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us