SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3238 (Misses Swimsuit)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1165 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/07 3:32 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
The enhancers I bought were the sew in kind. I made another top KS 3063 that worked much better for my figure (the one that is shown in the review picture). For that top, I removed some cups from another suit (RTW) and just cut a little slit in the lining and insert them in when I'm going to wear the suit. That way I can interchange the cups between suits. Ideally I'd like to buy another set of the cups, but I haven't looked around and my Joann's doesn't sell the style of the RTW ones I have. I think the ones I have could be tacked to the lining if you're worried about them floating out in the pool. It probably depends on the style of cups you buy as to whether you have to sew them in or not. The slit I made is small tho so I have to fold the cups to put them in between the lining and the swimsuit fabric so I don't think they are going any where. Clear as mud? Let me know if you have any other questions. The ones I got from Joann's definitely didn't work for me - they were too padded and looked like I was trying to enhance my chest - definitely not the look I was after!
7/2/08 11:56 AM
caleigha said...
That suit is so darling!! Great job and you look fantastic in it. I have a question about the breast enhancers that you linked to - if you were to use them, would you create a pocket of some kind, or sew them inside the lining of the suit? I know that if I just tucked them into my suit before leaving the house, they would pop out and end up floating on the top of the pool. That's just how things happen with me. lol.
7/1/08 11:28 AM
Heatherrique said...
OMG, you are a baywatch mom! I envy you! Darling suit!
9/16/07 12:25 PM
slanden99 said...
great review. I don't think I could wear darts in a swimming suit either.
8/11/07 2:33 PM
Sewingmi said...
Very cute swimsuit! I especially like the top with the long length. Good review!
8/7/07 7:06 PM
Lunar_C said...
You look fab. I guess the beauty of making your own bathers is you can fit your bits the way you actually are and not the way retailers think you look. I'm inspired.
8/6/07 7:59 PM
brrmm said...
Great togs at a great price. I too make togs for my daughters and me, soooo easy. Welcome to the swimwear club, look out it's addictive.
8/6/07 6:39 PM
squilts said...
Melissa - I was curious to see how the bottoms fit on you...I narrowed the front crotch quite a bit on mine, must just be my fuller thighs =). Congrats, you pulled together a great suit with options!
8/6/07 4:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104B

photo
by: birdmcfarl...

Review
Butterick 5857

photo
by: grays08

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now