SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Brown Paper Patterns> Top Package One (Top Package One)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2580 times 
Reviewed by:KarenP
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarenPstar
NV USA
Member since: 8/19/02
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/03 6:00 PM
Last Updated:3/12/03 6:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for the info, Karen, as I have been thinking about these Brown Paper patterns. When you get your picture posted, I'll bet someone can "read the wrinkles".
2/26/03 0:39 AM
Andi said...
I found that the full front was way too big for me. I usually do a full bust adjustment, since I am a c cup. I used the regular front and it fit perfectly! Go figure!!!
3/4/03 3:20 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Karen, your back looks just like mine! Yes, you need to make a sway back adjustment. Take a horizontal dart/tuck in your paper pattern tapering to nothing at the side seam. You will not be able to get the excess length out in the CB seam - but the CB seam is great for fine-tuning the fit and if you make a sway back alteration the CB seam will curve in where you curve in giving you a much better fit.
3/12/03 7:56 PM
Diane E said...
Karen, I've also finally concluded that I need to take the tuck Gigi mentions in my patterns. I never could figure out why my tops pool above my waist, but the "swayback" explains all. This is a good review and you are asking all the right questions. Can't wait to see your next top.
3/13/03 1:01 AM
KarenP said...
Thanks for the feedback, everyone! Gigi, I've been eyeing that alteration in FFRP so now I know I need to do it.
3/13/03 2:13 PM
SewTerri said...
Outstanding. Thank you for taking the time to document your work for all of us!
6/17/03 11:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Butterick 5563

photo
by: PattiinATL

Review