SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5335 (coordinates)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1217 times 
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo

 
 
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/07 7:13 PM
Last Updated:1/6/08 10:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
Nice! great looking pants! i think I read in "Power Sewing", by Sandra betzina, that you cut the fusible interfacing the width of the seam (so 1 1/2, if they are 5/8 seams), and then fuse it to the nicely pressed seam. Can't swear to it, and I haven't tried it.
8/6/07 7:28 PM
krawz said...
You went through a lot to get there but the pants look great! It looks like it was worth the effort. They really look store bought. I tried the Betzina method of fusing fusi-knit interfacing to the seams. That's the type of interfacing she recommends, it's made by HTC. I cut the pieces 1 1/4" and fused it to the pressed open seams on the inside of my shorts. It didn't last past the first wash! I think it might have done better if I had fused a wider piece but that might show.
8/6/07 7:42 PM
OP Gal said...
I envy you the great fit of your pants. Great job.
8/6/07 7:49 PM
Heatherrique said...
Linda, those pants are sizzling on you! Super job!
8/6/07 8:03 PM
Birgitte said...
Fabulous and very flattering!
8/6/07 9:06 PM
CynthiaSue said...
these look totally professional. what a lovely drape!
8/6/07 11:23 PM
carolynw said...
Great looking pants but you made me laugh at your account that after reading the Palmer Pletch book you KNEW you could make perfect pants - hey - been there done that and so can share the laugh with you. But one of these days am gonna come busting out with perfec tpants - I KNOW THAT!
8/7/07 8:54 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I read about the seam interfacing in Power Sewing also. Haven't tried it though. Your pants look great!
8/7/07 12:30 PM
Mufffet said...
VERY nicely fit. Very impressive - these look so nice on you. As one who is just finishing Shannon's class here on PR in Pnats muslin and making a master pattern, I fully appreciate the ramifications of getting a good pants fit. All these years I have had so-so pants - and one hideous pair I reviewed here on PR. NOW I may go back to that Park Bench Pattern armed with more skill in pants. You certainly are adept at fitting. Those pants really...well, I cannot put it into words. I have been obsessed with pants fit since my class began, and yours are the best fit I have seen yet.
8/7/07 3:44 PM
RuthieSews said...
Linda great Job! Nothing to add technique wise but great for completing an item so nearly done.
8/8/07 6:34 PM
Birgitte said...
What a fit!!! Fantastic job!
12/9/07 7:49 PM
Mobycat said...
Very nice pants. I have used Sandra Betzina's method in Power Sewing to apply the interfacing to the seam allowance. As soon as I fused the interfacing to the seam, I knew it wouldn't last, so I whip stitched both sides of the interfacing strips to the seam and it hasn't come off. After all that, I realized the reason my seams were wrinkled ( your's looks ok) was because I had used the dual duty cotton wrapped polyester thread to sew the pants. When I wound the bobbin, I held the thread taunt to get the most thread on the bobbin. I now know this stretches the thread and is not a good thing. The interfacing made a big difference.
12/9/07 9:21 PM
marjenann said...
I am soooo jealous!! Your pants look great, front and back! I just ordered th PP book on fitting pants!! I hope my look half as good as yours!!!!
12/10/07 3:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Now that's a great-fitting pair of pants. You ought to make a pair in every color, they look so nice on you!
12/10/07 5:47 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
These look great with the cropped jacket. What a stylish ensemble.
1/6/08 11:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

StyleArc Robin Top

photo
by: Robin Denn...

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now