SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5335 (coordinates)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1217 times 
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo

 
 
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/07 7:13 PM
Last Updated:1/6/08 10:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seamingly Simple said...
These look great with the cropped jacket. What a stylish ensemble.
1/6/08 11:00 AM
Annette1 said...
Now that's a great-fitting pair of pants. You ought to make a pair in every color, they look so nice on you!
12/10/07 5:47 PM
marjenann said...
I am soooo jealous!! Your pants look great, front and back! I just ordered th PP book on fitting pants!! I hope my look half as good as yours!!!!
12/10/07 3:57 PM
Mobycat said...
Very nice pants. I have used Sandra Betzina's method in Power Sewing to apply the interfacing to the seam allowance. As soon as I fused the interfacing to the seam, I knew it wouldn't last, so I whip stitched both sides of the interfacing strips to the seam and it hasn't come off. After all that, I realized the reason my seams were wrinkled ( your's looks ok) was because I had used the dual duty cotton wrapped polyester thread to sew the pants. When I wound the bobbin, I held the thread taunt to get the most thread on the bobbin. I now know this stretches the thread and is not a good thing. The interfacing made a big difference.
12/9/07 9:21 PM
Birgitte said...
What a fit!!! Fantastic job!
12/9/07 7:49 PM
RuthieSews said...
Linda great Job! Nothing to add technique wise but great for completing an item so nearly done.
8/8/07 6:34 PM
Mufffet said...
VERY nicely fit. Very impressive - these look so nice on you. As one who is just finishing Shannon's class here on PR in Pnats muslin and making a master pattern, I fully appreciate the ramifications of getting a good pants fit. All these years I have had so-so pants - and one hideous pair I reviewed here on PR. NOW I may go back to that Park Bench Pattern armed with more skill in pants. You certainly are adept at fitting. Those pants really...well, I cannot put it into words. I have been obsessed with pants fit since my class began, and yours are the best fit I have seen yet.
8/7/07 3:44 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I read about the seam interfacing in Power Sewing also. Haven't tried it though. Your pants look great!
8/7/07 12:30 PM
carolynw said...
Great looking pants but you made me laugh at your account that after reading the Palmer Pletch book you KNEW you could make perfect pants - hey - been there done that and so can share the laugh with you. But one of these days am gonna come busting out with perfec tpants - I KNOW THAT!
8/7/07 8:54 AM
CynthiaSue said...
these look totally professional. what a lovely drape!
8/6/07 11:23 PM
Birgitte said...
Fabulous and very flattering!
8/6/07 9:06 PM
Heatherrique said...
Linda, those pants are sizzling on you! Super job!
8/6/07 8:03 PM
OP Gal said...
I envy you the great fit of your pants. Great job.
8/6/07 7:49 PM
krawz said...
You went through a lot to get there but the pants look great! It looks like it was worth the effort. They really look store bought. I tried the Betzina method of fusing fusi-knit interfacing to the seams. That's the type of interfacing she recommends, it's made by HTC. I cut the pieces 1 1/4" and fused it to the pressed open seams on the inside of my shorts. It didn't last past the first wash! I think it might have done better if I had fused a wider piece but that might show.
8/6/07 7:42 PM
kkkkaty said...
Nice! great looking pants! i think I read in "Power Sewing", by Sandra betzina, that you cut the fusible interfacing the width of the seam (so 1 1/2, if they are 5/8 seams), and then fuse it to the nicely pressed seam. Can't swear to it, and I haven't tried it.
8/6/07 7:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: margy.64

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now