Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5112 (Shawl Collar Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1255 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR
About PixieCatstar
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/07 12:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
grm said...
I really like the look of that jacket. I think I will get it, love her patterns and thank you for the collar instructions. grm
8/12/07 4:11 PM
librarylady said...
Many thanks for your collar tutorial... this is such a lovely jacket and now I'm going to take a deep breath and try it. Yours is lovely.
8/12/07 5:36 PM
Frozzy said...
Great review, thanks for the collar instructions. Pattern Review info at it's best! By the way, that color looks great on you!
8/12/07 6:53 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I think you followed the directions well. As you say once you figure out the instructions it works.
8/13/07 5:30 AM
Lalena said...
Nice job! I made this jacket and it turned out very well, but the collar instructions are worse than useless. You had the right approach. I would advise anyone making this to use the fold & tuck marks on the pattern, but ignore the instructions, and simply fold the tucks the way that you think is correct, pin them, and put the collar around your neck to see if it looks right. You will either be correct or exactly backwards, and you'll figure it out. Second piece of advice: this collar needs soft drapy fabric. One reviewer made it out of fleece & then complained about the bulk! Think of the collar as a scarf draped around your neck--that's the look, and if you do it right (like PixieCat did), it looks very nice.
8/13/07 9:16 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice looking jacket and thanks for explaining the collar - if I ever buy this pattern will certainly refer to your very helpful steps to get it right.
8/13/07 9:28 AM
Ody said...
Great review and tutorial.
8/13/07 11:14 AM
Lou05 said...
This looks great on you. I'm back to sewing again because of the wonderful help (your collar info) that I can now find on Patternreview. Thanks.
8/13/07 12:35 PM
Mary Cargill said...
I made one out of a very light ultrasuede-like fabric, that didn't drape extremely well, and it turned out very nicely. I could not possibly explain how I managed the collar, because by the time I finished, I had tried about 10 different ways, none of which seemd to be what the instructions meant, but it is still a very nice jacket.
8/13/07 4:45 PM
boppingbeth said...
Great instructions! You really did a nice job on your jacket.
3/2/08 0:07 AM
Love Lone Star State said...
Now I can tackle this pattern with confidence even though the instructions are lacking. Kudos to all PR reviewers!!
11/24/08 11:01 PM
Beth Jacobson said...
This solved my problem understanding the poor collar pattern instructions! Thank You!!
1/13/09 3:12 PM
JamieLiz said...
Beautiful jacket, and a very helpful review. Thank you!
1/20/09 10:20 AM
Vigdis sch-j said...
Thank you for the excellent instructions for making the collar, and I agree that the design is very nice. Eventually I managed to finish my wool crepe jacket, and now that I know how to make the collar it won`t be the last.
1/31/09 10:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Kwik Sew 3504 Men's Jeans
photo
Review by SarahSM on 11/1/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8185
photo
Review by FuzzyNavel... on 6/19/07
Read Review

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5020 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5020 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us