SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5112 (Shawl Collar Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1261 times 
Reviewed by:PixieCat
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PixieCatstar
OH USA
Member since: 5/5/04
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/07 12:05 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vigdis sch-j said...
Thank you for the excellent instructions for making the collar, and I agree that the design is very nice. Eventually I managed to finish my wool crepe jacket, and now that I know how to make the collar it won`t be the last.
1/31/09 10:26 AM
JamieLiz said...
Beautiful jacket, and a very helpful review. Thank you!
1/20/09 10:20 AM
Beth Jacobson said...
This solved my problem understanding the poor collar pattern instructions! Thank You!!
1/13/09 3:12 PM
Love Lone Star State said...
Now I can tackle this pattern with confidence even though the instructions are lacking. Kudos to all PR reviewers!!
11/24/08 11:01 PM
boppingbeth said...
Great instructions! You really did a nice job on your jacket.
3/2/08 0:07 AM
Mary Cargill said...
I made one out of a very light ultrasuede-like fabric, that didn't drape extremely well, and it turned out very nicely. I could not possibly explain how I managed the collar, because by the time I finished, I had tried about 10 different ways, none of which seemd to be what the instructions meant, but it is still a very nice jacket.
8/13/07 4:45 PM
Lou05 said...
This looks great on you. I'm back to sewing again because of the wonderful help (your collar info) that I can now find on Patternreview. Thanks.
8/13/07 12:35 PM
Ody said...
Great review and tutorial.
8/13/07 11:14 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice looking jacket and thanks for explaining the collar - if I ever buy this pattern will certainly refer to your very helpful steps to get it right.
8/13/07 9:28 AM
Lalena said...
Nice job! I made this jacket and it turned out very well, but the collar instructions are worse than useless. You had the right approach. I would advise anyone making this to use the fold & tuck marks on the pattern, but ignore the instructions, and simply fold the tucks the way that you think is correct, pin them, and put the collar around your neck to see if it looks right. You will either be correct or exactly backwards, and you'll figure it out. Second piece of advice: this collar needs soft drapy fabric. One reviewer made it out of fleece & then complained about the bulk! Think of the collar as a scarf draped around your neck--that's the look, and if you do it right (like PixieCat did), it looks very nice.
8/13/07 9:16 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think you followed the directions well. As you say once you figure out the instructions it works.
8/13/07 5:30 AM
Frozzy said...
Great review, thanks for the collar instructions. Pattern Review info at it's best! By the way, that color looks great on you!
8/12/07 6:53 PM
librarylady said...
Many thanks for your collar tutorial... this is such a lovely jacket and now I'm going to take a deep breath and try it. Yours is lovely.
8/12/07 5:36 PM
grm said...
I really like the look of that jacket. I think I will get it, love her patterns and thank you for the collar instructions. grm
8/12/07 4:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

More Info
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

More Info