Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2787 (Vogue Vintage Original 1948) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2410 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo
About Kellie R.starstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/07 12:24 PM
Last Updated:8/19/07 1:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
I think this is a stunning pattern and you did a fantastic job. Thank you for the good review. Now I'm tempted to try it myself.
8/19/07 1:06 PM
morzel said...
Beautiful dress! Makes one want to have one as well.
8/19/07 1:20 PM
Em's Summer said...
It looks like you just stepped out of a 40s movie! Wonderful dress and great accessories!
8/19/07 3:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful dress and review. I have been wanting to make this dress for a long time so I'm very excited to see how lovely it looks on you. Love the hat.
8/19/07 3:09 PM
LauraTS said...
Looks beautiful; what a great job.
8/19/07 4:06 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The dress turned out beautiful! I love the curved waistline.
8/19/07 4:45 PM
ladybegood said...
So flattering! Its good to see that this pattern turned out so well even in a heavier fabric. Thanks for the review!
8/19/07 5:56 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Ooo, very pretty! And I just got this pattern in the last Vogue sale...
8/19/07 7:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a stunning dress! Wonderful work and you look spectacular! Super review!
8/19/07 7:58 PM
Kellie R. said...
OMG - thanks SO MUCH everybody! This was such a fun project to make, then accessorize and dress up! A little factoid: the gloves are the ones I wore on my wedding day - I love having the opportunity to use them again! I picked up the hat in an antique mall for $10. :)
8/19/07 8:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
OMG - thanks SO MUCH everybody! This was such a fun project to make, then accessorize and dress up! A little factoid: the gloves are the ones I wore on my wedding day - I love having the opportunity to use them again!
8/19/07 8:06 PM
Nancywin said...
This dress is so beautiful - and flattering on you too. Very nice.
8/19/07 8:54 PM
pterion said...
Lovely! And very chic!
8/19/07 10:57 PM
Lalena said...
Beautiful dress! Was the shoulderpad that you used from another vintage dress thick? I'm wondering how hard it would be to make this dress with a less vintage (big shouldered) look? I love the S curve, but don't want a costume look.
8/20/07 7:36 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful dress. Fantastic job.
8/20/07 8:02 AM
Marji said...
Kellie, it's beautiful and I disagree, I think you look very slim in it. Very flattering. Seam Binding is just an old fashioned word for hem tape. The solid rayon or poly stuff that has lines through it. Hem lace has pretty much replaced hem tape, but either would be acceptable. Congratulations on your first Vogue. I think you'll find as you continue that most that are marked 'Advanced' just require more time and a little bit more care in marking/pinning/stitching, but there isn't anything mysteriously different about them. Beautiful dress - you make me want to move my version of this up in my queue.
8/20/07 8:26 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely stunning. You look so good in this dress you should be on a Haute Couture runway. Great job and terrific review.
8/20/07 9:05 AM
Nancy K said...
A beautiful dress! I am impressed that you call yourself an advanced beginner and tackled this project. Kudos to you for guts and a great job. I have been tempted to make this dress, and wondered what it looked like on a real person. It looks fabulous on you.
8/20/07 1:58 PM
busyozmum said...
You look stunning. What a beautiful dress you've created. :o)
8/20/07 6:55 PM
Heathar said...
At this point, can only say "ditto"! Beautiful!
8/20/07 8:36 PM
solosmocker said...
Stunning and very flattering!
8/21/07 4:09 PM
Sew Kitty said...
I love this pattern and would love to make this dress! Congratz!
8/23/07 3:07 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful!! Now THAT's a dress!! Enjoy your (future) dinner out with DH!! He's going to be proud to have you on his arm!! Do you REALLY still consider yourself an "Advanced Beginner"?
8/25/07 9:58 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
What a lovely, gorgeous dress that looks absolutely fabulous on you! I think you need to bump your ranking up from "Advanced Beginner!" Great work!
9/2/07 9:01 AM
Angelia74 said...
This ia a beautiful dress! Great job!!!
9/10/07 12:41 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful and flattering. I have always loved this pattern.
10/1/07 12:24 PM
moushka said...
Stunning dress. You did a fabulous job. The style is very flattering. I think it would look lovely on almost every figure type, especially triangles with that lovely shoulder line. Wish I had a waist, I'd make it for sure! Thanks for a great review. Sue
3/8/08 11:13 AM
sewlucky said...
I have a silk crepe-de-chine that I think would look great in this dress. After reading your review, and the previous one, I'm heading straight to my sewing machine and making it. Your dress turned out great!
3/11/08 3:43 PM
MrsBaldwin said...
This particular pattern has a really slimming effect while still accenting the curves, I think. Looks beautiful on you!
6/2/08 9:24 PM
Rosebudsboon said...
I can't wait to start this dress
3/9/10 4:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 3686
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 2/8/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3943 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 3943 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1433 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1433 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Nancy Zieman Santa Fe Dress and Top
photo
Review by donnagirl on 8/18/13
Read Review

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Essential Tote
The Essential Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us