SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2787 (Vogue Vintage Original 1948)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2418 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/07 12:24 PM
Last Updated:8/19/07 1:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
I think this is a stunning pattern and you did a fantastic job. Thank you for the good review. Now I'm tempted to try it myself.
8/19/07 1:06 PM
morzel said...
Beautiful dress! Makes one want to have one as well.
8/19/07 1:20 PM
Em's Summer said...
It looks like you just stepped out of a 40s movie! Wonderful dress and great accessories!
8/19/07 3:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful dress and review. I have been wanting to make this dress for a long time so I'm very excited to see how lovely it looks on you. Love the hat.
8/19/07 3:09 PM
LauraTS said...
Looks beautiful; what a great job.
8/19/07 4:06 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The dress turned out beautiful! I love the curved waistline.
8/19/07 4:45 PM
ladybegood said...
So flattering! Its good to see that this pattern turned out so well even in a heavier fabric. Thanks for the review!
8/19/07 5:56 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Ooo, very pretty! And I just got this pattern in the last Vogue sale...
8/19/07 7:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a stunning dress! Wonderful work and you look spectacular! Super review!
8/19/07 7:58 PM
Kellie R. said...
OMG - thanks SO MUCH everybody! This was such a fun project to make, then accessorize and dress up! A little factoid: the gloves are the ones I wore on my wedding day - I love having the opportunity to use them again! I picked up the hat in an antique mall for $10. :)
8/19/07 8:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
OMG - thanks SO MUCH everybody! This was such a fun project to make, then accessorize and dress up! A little factoid: the gloves are the ones I wore on my wedding day - I love having the opportunity to use them again!
8/19/07 8:06 PM
Nancywin said...
This dress is so beautiful - and flattering on you too. Very nice.
8/19/07 8:54 PM
pterion said...
Lovely! And very chic!
8/19/07 10:57 PM
Lalena said...
Beautiful dress! Was the shoulderpad that you used from another vintage dress thick? I'm wondering how hard it would be to make this dress with a less vintage (big shouldered) look? I love the S curve, but don't want a costume look.
8/20/07 7:36 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful dress. Fantastic job.
8/20/07 8:02 AM
Marji said...
Kellie, it's beautiful and I disagree, I think you look very slim in it. Very flattering. Seam Binding is just an old fashioned word for hem tape. The solid rayon or poly stuff that has lines through it. Hem lace has pretty much replaced hem tape, but either would be acceptable. Congratulations on your first Vogue. I think you'll find as you continue that most that are marked 'Advanced' just require more time and a little bit more care in marking/pinning/stitching, but there isn't anything mysteriously different about them. Beautiful dress - you make me want to move my version of this up in my queue.
8/20/07 8:26 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely stunning. You look so good in this dress you should be on a Haute Couture runway. Great job and terrific review.
8/20/07 9:05 AM
Nancy K said...
A beautiful dress! I am impressed that you call yourself an advanced beginner and tackled this project. Kudos to you for guts and a great job. I have been tempted to make this dress, and wondered what it looked like on a real person. It looks fabulous on you.
8/20/07 1:58 PM
busyozmum said...
You look stunning. What a beautiful dress you've created. :o)
8/20/07 6:55 PM
Heathar said...
At this point, can only say "ditto"! Beautiful!
8/20/07 8:36 PM
solosmocker said...
Stunning and very flattering!
8/21/07 4:09 PM
Sew Kitty said...
I love this pattern and would love to make this dress! Congratz!
8/23/07 3:07 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful!! Now THAT's a dress!! Enjoy your (future) dinner out with DH!! He's going to be proud to have you on his arm!! Do you REALLY still consider yourself an "Advanced Beginner"?
8/25/07 9:58 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
What a lovely, gorgeous dress that looks absolutely fabulous on you! I think you need to bump your ranking up from "Advanced Beginner!" Great work!
9/2/07 9:01 AM
Angelia74 said...
This ia a beautiful dress! Great job!!!
9/10/07 12:41 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful and flattering. I have always loved this pattern.
10/1/07 12:24 PM
moushka said...
Stunning dress. You did a fabulous job. The style is very flattering. I think it would look lovely on almost every figure type, especially triangles with that lovely shoulder line. Wish I had a waist, I'd make it for sure! Thanks for a great review. Sue
3/8/08 11:13 AM
sewlucky said...
I have a silk crepe-de-chine that I think would look great in this dress. After reading your review, and the previous one, I'm heading straight to my sewing machine and making it. Your dress turned out great!
3/11/08 3:43 PM
MrsBaldwin said...
This particular pattern has a really slimming effect while still accenting the curves, I think. Looks beautiful on you!
6/2/08 9:24 PM
Rosebudsboon said...
I can't wait to start this dress
3/9/10 4:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
No Pattern Used 10-2013

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now