SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 (Laura Ashley Sundress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2150 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/07 11:36 PM
Last Updated:6/11/09 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
melaniejade31 said...
incredible dress! The trim really looks fantastic!
2/27/10 0:18 AM
CMDarling said...
Hey I just wanted to say thanks for you indepth reviews. they are fantastic and the photos really help. I also love how you did a second one for turning it into a formal dress. I'm now convienced that I have to have this pattern for my new summer dersses
11/5/09 0:57 AM
jnamcd said...
I've made up that pattern --years ago -and it is still one of my favorite summer dresses!! Yours looks great!!
6/11/09 10:55 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Go-go-gorgoeus! And I get to see the garden in the summer to boot!
6/11/09 9:14 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
This pattern is definitely a winner. Both versions are perfect summer dresses.
5/26/09 0:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Pretty dress and lovely fabric combination.
5/25/09 11:23 AM
Kayseri said...
The aqua contrast makes this dress something special. Lovely effort.
5/24/09 11:33 PM
Jolet said...
Lovely fabric, and the contrast color you used. Fabulous, what a result!
5/24/09 4:47 PM
marec said...
Perfect! Fabric, color choice, hem band...everything.
5/24/09 12:02 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this version of the dress. Very charming.
5/24/09 11:42 AM
cindyann said...
Great version of this pattern. I love the fabric you chose. I've made this one too but failed to prshrink the fabric sufficiently and was only able to wear it once. {sigh}
5/24/09 11:33 AM
eugenia123 said...
I just LOVE your latest version of this dress. The colors you have put together are just gorgeous. I love its vintage vibe (I was around when Laura Ashley first hit the fashion scene!!!!) but you have made it look bang up-to-date as well.
5/24/09 10:33 AM
CypGrl said...
Love your sundress! Thanks for the complete review here and on your blog.
5/24/09 8:36 AM
Peggy said...
You've created a beautiful dress.
5/24/09 8:27 AM
Lori V said...
Your new dress is beautiful, the colors are just gorgeous.
5/23/09 11:20 PM
Terri Smith said...
What a great summer dress! I really like the trim, I have the same fabric from the same place :) and know what you mean by needing the exact color for contrast. Great use of a large print too.
5/23/09 11:08 PM
nicegirl said...
This is a great pattern! I made it several years ago (before joining PR so I never reviewed it) and always get compliments when I wear it.
8/29/07 12:32 PM
Markie1 said...
I love this dress! You always make such beautiful and interesting clothes, and this is no exception. The fabric is brilliant.
8/27/07 2:57 PM
Kitty Couture said...
That's a fabulous dress!! So feminine. It looks like a $$$ dress.
8/27/07 9:41 AM
AngieC said...
Beautiful! Yes you need a jacket to wear it to work so off you go...enjoy your dress.
8/26/07 9:02 PM
EveS said...
What an incredibly fun dress, Karen! I love that bodice!!
8/26/07 0:28 AM
ryan's mom said...
Gosh, this is so lovely! What a great summer style.
8/21/07 9:23 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
8/21/07 2:34 PM
DorothyK said...
I absolutely love this dress. The fabric is gorgeous. I must buy this pattern. It's so versitile - anything from a little sun dress to formalwear. Thanks for a great review. I'm sure I will refer to it when I make the dress.
8/21/07 2:24 PM
Ronda Rae said...
another really cute dress!
8/21/07 1:26 PM
michellep74 said...
I love how your dress turned out! It's so pretty!
8/21/07 1:09 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great dress - I love all the colors in the print. I vote for the brown taffeta also! It would be perfect to wear to a wedding.
8/21/07 11:21 AM
GwenC said...
What a beautiful dress! I may have to put this pattern on my wishlist - thanks for the review! :)
8/21/07 11:21 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oy veh! Underlining a summer dress... Sometimes patternreview mass reactions leads to things that would best be left undone :-). Too much can just be too much. Don't get me wrong, this is a lovely dress and I wish I had that pattern myself. But next time, just make a big shirt out of a voile, that's what it's for, and make the dress in something that it calls for, like a nice uncomplicated cotton! The taffeta for instance will be great. And yes, if you have a 40s body, it'll absolutely look better in 40s fashions...
8/21/07 9:44 AM
busy91 said...
That is pretty. I love the fabric.
8/21/07 9:33 AM
carolynw said...
Pretty dress and fabric! Congrats on finishing an UFO - am trying to do the same but sometimes it's just too much - sigh - and a real good excuse comes up like "how about starting that blouse"
8/21/07 9:19 AM
Celeste said...
Beautiful. Great sense of style and color. Looks like what you'd see in the window at an expensive botique!
8/21/07 9:04 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love that dress! It has such a flattering design and it's good to know that it works well on a real person! Great review.
8/21/07 8:57 AM
ButtonFaith said...
I've been looking at this pattern and it was so nice to see how it made up! Thanks! I also think it would be EXQUISITE in the brown taffeta! I'm not sure the straps would have to be narrowed for that, I think they would do ok as they are. My humble opinion. I hope you do make it as I would like to see a picture of that as well! :-)
8/21/07 8:08 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice! I love that fabric too :P I think it'll look gorgeous in the taffeta as well. I have this pattern but I haven't gotten the nerve to make it yet, lol. (love the BF story, btw-LOL!)
8/21/07 7:33 AM
Huldra said...
Very pretty! I like the fabric!
8/21/07 6:24 AM
MissCelie said...
You're making some cute, fun, flirty dresses. This one is no exception.
8/21/07 5:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great garment! What a cute dress.
8/21/07 5:32 AM
zora said...
Lovely fabric and a real pretty dress!
8/21/07 4:39 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty dress. I can just see it in the taffeta. Go for it!
8/21/07 1:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6779

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Vogue Patterns 7607

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

More Info