SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 (Laura Ashley Sundress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2150 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/07 11:36 PM
Last Updated:6/11/09 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty dress. I can just see it in the taffeta. Go for it!
8/21/07 1:50 AM
zora said...
Lovely fabric and a real pretty dress!
8/21/07 4:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great garment! What a cute dress.
8/21/07 5:32 AM
MissCelie said...
You're making some cute, fun, flirty dresses. This one is no exception.
8/21/07 5:51 AM
Huldra said...
Very pretty! I like the fabric!
8/21/07 6:24 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice! I love that fabric too :P I think it'll look gorgeous in the taffeta as well. I have this pattern but I haven't gotten the nerve to make it yet, lol. (love the BF story, btw-LOL!)
8/21/07 7:33 AM
ButtonFaith said...
I've been looking at this pattern and it was so nice to see how it made up! Thanks! I also think it would be EXQUISITE in the brown taffeta! I'm not sure the straps would have to be narrowed for that, I think they would do ok as they are. My humble opinion. I hope you do make it as I would like to see a picture of that as well! :-)
8/21/07 8:08 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love that dress! It has such a flattering design and it's good to know that it works well on a real person! Great review.
8/21/07 8:57 AM
Celeste said...
Beautiful. Great sense of style and color. Looks like what you'd see in the window at an expensive botique!
8/21/07 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
Pretty dress and fabric! Congrats on finishing an UFO - am trying to do the same but sometimes it's just too much - sigh - and a real good excuse comes up like "how about starting that blouse"
8/21/07 9:19 AM
busy91 said...
That is pretty. I love the fabric.
8/21/07 9:33 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oy veh! Underlining a summer dress... Sometimes patternreview mass reactions leads to things that would best be left undone :-). Too much can just be too much. Don't get me wrong, this is a lovely dress and I wish I had that pattern myself. But next time, just make a big shirt out of a voile, that's what it's for, and make the dress in something that it calls for, like a nice uncomplicated cotton! The taffeta for instance will be great. And yes, if you have a 40s body, it'll absolutely look better in 40s fashions...
8/21/07 9:44 AM
GwenC said...
What a beautiful dress! I may have to put this pattern on my wishlist - thanks for the review! :)
8/21/07 11:21 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great dress - I love all the colors in the print. I vote for the brown taffeta also! It would be perfect to wear to a wedding.
8/21/07 11:21 AM
michellep74 said...
I love how your dress turned out! It's so pretty!
8/21/07 1:09 PM
Ronda Rae said...
another really cute dress!
8/21/07 1:26 PM
DorothyK said...
I absolutely love this dress. The fabric is gorgeous. I must buy this pattern. It's so versitile - anything from a little sun dress to formalwear. Thanks for a great review. I'm sure I will refer to it when I make the dress.
8/21/07 2:24 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
8/21/07 2:34 PM
ryan's mom said...
Gosh, this is so lovely! What a great summer style.
8/21/07 9:23 PM
EveS said...
What an incredibly fun dress, Karen! I love that bodice!!
8/26/07 0:28 AM
AngieC said...
Beautiful! Yes you need a jacket to wear it to work so off you go...enjoy your dress.
8/26/07 9:02 PM
Kitty Couture said...
That's a fabulous dress!! So feminine. It looks like a $$$ dress.
8/27/07 9:41 AM
Markie1 said...
I love this dress! You always make such beautiful and interesting clothes, and this is no exception. The fabric is brilliant.
8/27/07 2:57 PM
nicegirl said...
This is a great pattern! I made it several years ago (before joining PR so I never reviewed it) and always get compliments when I wear it.
8/29/07 12:32 PM
Terri Smith said...
What a great summer dress! I really like the trim, I have the same fabric from the same place :) and know what you mean by needing the exact color for contrast. Great use of a large print too.
5/23/09 11:08 PM
Lori V said...
Your new dress is beautiful, the colors are just gorgeous.
5/23/09 11:20 PM
Peggy said...
You've created a beautiful dress.
5/24/09 8:27 AM
CypGrl said...
Love your sundress! Thanks for the complete review here and on your blog.
5/24/09 8:36 AM
eugenia123 said...
I just LOVE your latest version of this dress. The colors you have put together are just gorgeous. I love its vintage vibe (I was around when Laura Ashley first hit the fashion scene!!!!) but you have made it look bang up-to-date as well.
5/24/09 10:33 AM
cindyann said...
Great version of this pattern. I love the fabric you chose. I've made this one too but failed to prshrink the fabric sufficiently and was only able to wear it once. {sigh}
5/24/09 11:33 AM
DorothyK said...
I love this version of the dress. Very charming.
5/24/09 11:42 AM
marec said...
Perfect! Fabric, color choice, hem band...everything.
5/24/09 12:02 PM
Jolet said...
Lovely fabric, and the contrast color you used. Fabulous, what a result!
5/24/09 4:47 PM
Kayseri said...
The aqua contrast makes this dress something special. Lovely effort.
5/24/09 11:33 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty dress and lovely fabric combination.
5/25/09 11:23 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
This pattern is definitely a winner. Both versions are perfect summer dresses.
5/26/09 0:05 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Go-go-gorgoeus! And I get to see the garden in the summer to boot!
6/11/09 9:14 PM
jnamcd said...
I've made up that pattern --years ago -and it is still one of my favorite summer dresses!! Yours looks great!!
6/11/09 10:55 PM
CMDarling said...
Hey I just wanted to say thanks for you indepth reviews. they are fantastic and the photos really help. I also love how you did a second one for turning it into a formal dress. I'm now convienced that I have to have this pattern for my new summer dersses
11/5/09 0:57 AM
melaniejade31 said...
incredible dress! The trim really looks fantastic!
2/27/10 0:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now