Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2007-130 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 664 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:BillieJean
photo
Friend of PR
About BillieJeanstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/13/04
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/07 2:34 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
Your picture link only goes to a tiny thumbnail, so I can't see the details. Sounds intriguing, though!
8/21/07 3:04 PM
Ruth C said...
I've been eyeing this pattern. I'm glad you pioneered the way and provided such a helpful review. Thanks.
8/21/07 8:19 PM
Sea-my said...
Lovely jacket!
8/22/07 6:55 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Jacket. I am enjoying your reviews :)
8/22/07 8:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice jacket. Looks great on you
8/22/07 8:22 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I really like your jacket.
8/22/07 10:17 AM
Kay Y said...
This is really pretty and looks great with your skirt. Interesting zipper detail, and great photo work to show it to us all in one!
8/22/07 11:56 AM
BillieJean said...
Thanks all for your kind comments.
8/22/07 2:47 PM
barbara quinn said...
Great version of a jacket I totally overlooked in that issue! BillyJean, I wonder if your trouble with the sleeves wasn't at least in part because you, in effect, took out a half inch in the armhole circumferance when you made your sloping shoulder adjustment. Burda tends to draft high, narrow sleeves without much wiggle room for fudging more ease.
8/22/07 3:19 PM
BillieJean said...
Thanks for your comments, Barbara. I don't think my sleeve problem was because of my shoulder adjustment. I always make this adjustment and am able to get sleeves in, even Burda ones, without the problems I had this time. But who knows!
8/23/07 5:32 AM
tweedcurtain said...
This is gorgeous. I love the contrast ribbon and the fabric is divine. I never looked twice at this in the magazine, but now I am going to go back and have another look.
8/29/07 1:53 AM
LianneM said...
Lovely jacket and I love the fabric. I like the unusual back as well.
10/1/07 8:32 AM
annie11 said...
Great jacket! It fits you perfectly. I am just making this now, and am stunned to find out that the zipper is supposed to go in the back. Would you recommend it, after wearing it, or would you just skip that part?
3/31/10 9:27 PM
BillieJean said...
Hey, Annie11 - The zipper has brought more comments than any other part of the jacket I think. People are surprised to see it there. It is not uncomfortable at all. Go ahead and put it in.
4/1/10 6:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 3660
photo
Review by Joy Joy on 1/3/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Meghan Peasant Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Meghan Peasant Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6559
photo
Review by Ms. McCall on 8/19/12
Read Review

McCalls 2233 Pattern ( Size 46-48 )
McCalls 2233 Pattern ( Size 46-48 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6953 Pattern
Burda 6953 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us