SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2007-130 

Viewed 665 times 
Reviewed by:BillieJean
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BillieJeanstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/13/04
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/07 2:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
Your picture link only goes to a tiny thumbnail, so I can't see the details. Sounds intriguing, though!
8/21/07 3:04 PM
Ruth C said...
I've been eyeing this pattern. I'm glad you pioneered the way and provided such a helpful review. Thanks.
8/21/07 8:19 PM
Sea-my said...
Lovely jacket!
8/22/07 6:55 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Jacket. I am enjoying your reviews :)
8/22/07 8:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice jacket. Looks great on you
8/22/07 8:22 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I really like your jacket.
8/22/07 10:17 AM
Kay Y said...
This is really pretty and looks great with your skirt. Interesting zipper detail, and great photo work to show it to us all in one!
8/22/07 11:56 AM
BillieJean said...
Thanks all for your kind comments.
8/22/07 2:47 PM
barbara quinn said...
Great version of a jacket I totally overlooked in that issue! BillyJean, I wonder if your trouble with the sleeves wasn't at least in part because you, in effect, took out a half inch in the armhole circumferance when you made your sloping shoulder adjustment. Burda tends to draft high, narrow sleeves without much wiggle room for fudging more ease.
8/22/07 3:19 PM
BillieJean said...
Thanks for your comments, Barbara. I don't think my sleeve problem was because of my shoulder adjustment. I always make this adjustment and am able to get sleeves in, even Burda ones, without the problems I had this time. But who knows!
8/23/07 5:32 AM
tweedcurtain said...
This is gorgeous. I love the contrast ribbon and the fabric is divine. I never looked twice at this in the magazine, but now I am going to go back and have another look.
8/29/07 1:53 AM
LianneM said...
Lovely jacket and I love the fabric. I like the unusual back as well.
10/1/07 8:32 AM
annie11 said...
Great jacket! It fits you perfectly. I am just making this now, and am stunned to find out that the zipper is supposed to go in the back. Would you recommend it, after wearing it, or would you just skip that part?
3/31/10 9:27 PM
BillieJean said...
Hey, Annie11 - The zipper has brought more comments than any other part of the jacket I think. People are surprised to see it there. It is not uncomfortable at all. Go ahead and put it in.
4/1/10 6:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 7808

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Simplicity 9784

photo
by: cybperry

Review
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now