SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1133 times 
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ryan's momstarstarstar
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/07 8:16 AM
Last Updated:8/22/07 8:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewslow67 said...
Thanks for a very helpful review. And ...your dress is beautiful. I love the way you did your crystals. Great job, and you look lovely. ;-)
7/15/10 11:21 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very elegant dress - plan a hot date so you can wear it! :-)
8/25/07 1:21 AM
mochalover said...
Very cute dress.
8/24/07 6:59 PM
bananaoil said...
Be glad pressed that seam. Those crystals absolutely make this dress. I first thought you had some never seen before necklace that went to the hem. This is perfect!
8/24/07 6:01 PM
mudcat said...
Fantastic dress... your perseverance served you well.
8/24/07 12:23 PM
SarahWeb said...
Don't you feel great about getting this one done? Especially since it is gorgeous! Love that trim in the front.
8/23/07 11:26 PM
2BSewing said...
Stunning and gorgeous on you! At first, I thought what a pretty necklace you're wearing with the dress. I am in awe of your talent and creativity. Enjoyed reading your review. Your persistence in finishing...paid off. Congratulations on your 50th review. :)
8/23/07 3:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
great idea to use crystals to save this lovely dress. Looks great on you.
8/23/07 6:43 AM
BillieJean said...
Simply gorgeous! And to think that you owe this lovely embellished look to a mistake! Beautiful recovery.
8/23/07 5:58 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful! Excellent save using the crystals and I love the pattern you used.
8/23/07 4:56 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look ready for a nice evening out! Wonderful save on the dress! Great idea! I always admire your impeccable fit and creating something that looks so much better than the original pattern design. Enjoy your stunning one of a kind dress!
8/22/07 10:19 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress. The crystals really make it, and obviously meant to be. Great save, even if it took you over a year. :-)
8/22/07 7:46 PM
cecelia said...
Don't you love how mistakes become design opportunities? Very pretty--I hope you get a chance to wear it someplace elegant!
8/22/07 6:12 PM
GwenC said...
Very elegant and what beautiful trim with the crystals! It's so cool! :)
8/22/07 5:52 PM
RobinE said...
OMG-- the sparkle! Beautiful dress! I've had this pattern for awhile now-- I think I might actually be motivated now. :) Thank you for the helpful tips.
8/22/07 5:02 PM
moushka said...
Very elegant with the beautiful crystal design. Hope you get some place to wear it soon. Have you written a tip about how you did the design? I'd love more info. Thanks for a great review. Sue
8/22/07 1:25 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gosh -- that is gorgeous embellishment. It was well-worth the 16 months it took to complete it.
8/22/07 12:21 PM
bunz said...
What a great "error becomes an opportunity" dress! good for you for finishing. It was on the form for only 18 mos? I have multiple layers of UFO's on my form!! LOL!!
8/22/07 11:29 AM
CSM--Carla said...
AMAZING! Really love the save you did here! Did you use a design pattern for applying the crystals? You look great in this dress!! Carla
8/22/07 11:26 AM
cindy-lou said...
Kathy, what an awesome dress! I love how it turned out-- love the marriage of the tie-dye velvet look with the crystals. Very 21st century fashion! I have this pattern and need to get to work on it. Thanks for the great 2 reviews to read up beforehand!
8/22/07 11:10 AM
Tiner W said...
Perfectly elegant! Aren't you glad for that ironing mishap?
8/22/07 11:02 AM
moss said...
ooooooooh wow that is so beautiful and it looks fantastic with your coloring.
8/22/07 10:11 AM
Vonnevo said...
Totally fabulous dress Kathy ! The crystal embellishment adds that special elegance to a beautiful dress. Thanks for sharing with us - the wait was worth it :)
8/22/07 10:01 AM
Lynngray said...
Wonder dress and looks great on you. Great job with the crystals. Thanks for the review.
8/22/07 9:38 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - looks wonderful on you and congrats on such a wonderful fix for the little problem with the CF seam - well done girl
8/22/07 9:26 AM
Nancywin said...
What a beautiful job you did on those crystals. Well worth the effort. I've made this dress and wish I would have done something like the fisheye dart because it wrinkles above my rear.
8/22/07 9:25 AM
Levone said...
Such a pretty dress!
8/22/07 9:21 AM
cindyann said...
What a lovely solution to your pressing problem. The crystals make the dress. I admire your patience in applying all those crystals.
8/22/07 9:21 AM
mastdenman said...
Gorgeous dress. You look great in it.
8/22/07 9:01 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty dress. The crytals add a nice touch!
8/22/07 8:46 AM
AuntieShel said...
Stunning dress, looks great on you!!! The crystals are fabulous.
8/22/07 8:39 AM
Robbie Jo said...
Very Elegant--that long front line is very slimming.
8/22/07 8:37 AM
dbsewer said...
Love this dress and the addition of the crystals is so clever. It looks great on you.
8/22/07 8:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Butterick 6955

photo
by: morzel

Review
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: Graca

Review