Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1132 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
About ryan's momstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 128
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/07 8:16 AM
Last Updated:8/22/07 8:24 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Love this dress and the addition of the crystals is so clever. It looks great on you.
8/22/07 8:23 AM
Robbie Jo said...
Very Elegant--that long front line is very slimming.
8/22/07 8:37 AM
AuntieShel said...
Stunning dress, looks great on you!!! The crystals are fabulous.
8/22/07 8:39 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty dress. The crytals add a nice touch!
8/22/07 8:46 AM
mastdenman said...
Gorgeous dress. You look great in it.
8/22/07 9:01 AM
cindyann said...
What a lovely solution to your pressing problem. The crystals make the dress. I admire your patience in applying all those crystals.
8/22/07 9:21 AM
Levone said...
Such a pretty dress!
8/22/07 9:21 AM
Nancywin said...
What a beautiful job you did on those crystals. Well worth the effort. I've made this dress and wish I would have done something like the fisheye dart because it wrinkles above my rear.
8/22/07 9:25 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress - looks wonderful on you and congrats on such a wonderful fix for the little problem with the CF seam - well done girl
8/22/07 9:26 AM
Lynngray said...
Wonder dress and looks great on you. Great job with the crystals. Thanks for the review.
8/22/07 9:38 AM
Vonnevo said...
Totally fabulous dress Kathy ! The crystal embellishment adds that special elegance to a beautiful dress. Thanks for sharing with us - the wait was worth it :)
8/22/07 10:01 AM
moss said...
ooooooooh wow that is so beautiful and it looks fantastic with your coloring.
8/22/07 10:11 AM
Tiner W said...
Perfectly elegant! Aren't you glad for that ironing mishap?
8/22/07 11:02 AM
cindy-lou said...
Kathy, what an awesome dress! I love how it turned out-- love the marriage of the tie-dye velvet look with the crystals. Very 21st century fashion! I have this pattern and need to get to work on it. Thanks for the great 2 reviews to read up beforehand!
8/22/07 11:10 AM
CSM--Carla said...
AMAZING! Really love the save you did here! Did you use a design pattern for applying the crystals? You look great in this dress!! Carla
8/22/07 11:26 AM
bunz said...
What a great "error becomes an opportunity" dress! good for you for finishing. It was on the form for only 18 mos? I have multiple layers of UFO's on my form!! LOL!!
8/22/07 11:29 AM
CarolynGM said...
Gosh -- that is gorgeous embellishment. It was well-worth the 16 months it took to complete it.
8/22/07 12:21 PM
moushka said...
Very elegant with the beautiful crystal design. Hope you get some place to wear it soon. Have you written a tip about how you did the design? I'd love more info. Thanks for a great review. Sue
8/22/07 1:25 PM
RobinE said...
OMG-- the sparkle! Beautiful dress! I've had this pattern for awhile now-- I think I might actually be motivated now. :) Thank you for the helpful tips.
8/22/07 5:02 PM
GwenC said...
Very elegant and what beautiful trim with the crystals! It's so cool! :)
8/22/07 5:52 PM
cecelia said...
Don't you love how mistakes become design opportunities? Very pretty--I hope you get a chance to wear it someplace elegant!
8/22/07 6:12 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress. The crystals really make it, and obviously meant to be. Great save, even if it took you over a year. :-)
8/22/07 7:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look ready for a nice evening out! Wonderful save on the dress! Great idea! I always admire your impeccable fit and creating something that looks so much better than the original pattern design. Enjoy your stunning one of a kind dress!
8/22/07 10:19 PM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful! Excellent save using the crystals and I love the pattern you used.
8/23/07 4:56 AM
BillieJean said...
Simply gorgeous! And to think that you owe this lovely embellished look to a mistake! Beautiful recovery.
8/23/07 5:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
great idea to use crystals to save this lovely dress. Looks great on you.
8/23/07 6:43 AM
2BSewing said...
Stunning and gorgeous on you! At first, I thought what a pretty necklace you're wearing with the dress. I am in awe of your talent and creativity. Enjoyed reading your review. Your persistence in finishing...paid off. Congratulations on your 50th review. :)
8/23/07 3:39 PM
SarahWeb said...
Don't you feel great about getting this one done? Especially since it is gorgeous! Love that trim in the front.
8/23/07 11:26 PM
mudcat said...
Fantastic dress... your perseverance served you well.
8/24/07 12:23 PM
bananaoil said...
Be glad pressed that seam. Those crystals absolutely make this dress. I first thought you had some never seen before necklace that went to the hem. This is perfect!
8/24/07 6:01 PM
mochalover said...
Very cute dress.
8/24/07 6:59 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very elegant dress - plan a hot date so you can wear it! :-)
8/25/07 1:21 AM
sewslow67 said...
Thanks for a very helpful review. And ...your dress is beautiful. I love the way you did your crystals. Great job, and you look lovely. ;-)
7/15/10 11:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

StyleArc Ivy knit top Ivy knit top
photo
Review by thequirkyp... on 8/28/13
Read Review

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6366 Apron
photo
Review by abbijane on 12/19/13
Read Review

McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us