SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Petite Plus Patterns> 601 (Flat Front Pant)

8 more reviews
Viewed 794 times 
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo

 
 
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/07 12:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $21.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $21.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mad4sewing said...
Love the fabric. Very nice.
8/22/07 1:04 PM
bell N said...
I have this pattern and didn't realize it had a back zipper. Do you think there is any way to get around using the zipper.
8/22/07 4:25 PM
cecelia said...
Bell, these can also be made as total elastic band pants without a zipper. You just need to add the desired width of elastic plus seam line allowance at the top of the pattern front/backs.
8/23/07 6:38 AM
bell N said...
Thank you. I like your pants. I thought I would try these in a solid knit without the zipper.
8/23/07 8:45 AM
moss said...
Those are really sharp looking pants! And I see you have a lot of cookbooks there.. what time should I be there for dinner?? ;)
8/23/07 8:48 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Thank you for the review. I have this pattern waiting for me to make up - need more time . . .
8/23/07 1:08 PM
cecelia said...
Moss, I love to cook too, spaghetti/meatballs tonight--come on over, teehee.
8/23/07 3:08 PM
nimble said...
Excellent fit! These look great and I have been looking into this pattern co., so thanks for the review!
8/25/07 6:28 PM
Slippers said...
Great review. I'm just starting this pattern and am going to make it elastic waisted except for the front between the center-most darts, which I'll do flat. I'm 50 inches which is right between size 20 and 22 so chose 22 (51 inch tummy measurement). When I measured the tummy area (my biggest area) I find there is only 1 3/4 inch ease. That doesn't sound like enough ease. Any thoughts for me? Thanks.
9/14/07 6:08 PM
cecelia said...
Slippers--I do have some ideas--I'll PM you!
9/16/07 9:11 AM
cecelia said...
Slippers--seems I can't PM you, so in short, here are some suggestions: 1) I'd strongly suggest to make this up in a cheap woven fabric first without the pockets to see how it fits you--remember that the SA's are 3/8"; 2) you could try this in a "stretch" woven, and I think it would probably fit you fine; 3) you could add to the seam allowances just for extra insurance; 4) I think I'd either go for her pattern with the side elastic or full elastic--not sure how adapting it will work out, but I'd use the size 22 as you plan. This is a very slimming pattern--I love it. Feel free to PM me and let me know how I can reach you if you need more help!
9/16/07 9:25 AM
o3b said...
I have been hesitant to try the pants patterns as I could not get a clear view from the ones on the PPP site. Despite needing a bit of tweaking, these look very flattering on you. I'll have to rethink this and might purchase the pattern after seeing your review. I have the same back wrinkle problem.
11/15/07 3:58 AM
spratley said...
I'm a 12 - 14, but on the short side and with a bit of a tummy, and I just love this pattern. I do the zip back, side elastic, and have had to do some alterations to offset a flat rear, slim the legs a bit, and grade down to a 12. I love Kathleen's patterns! Have done these in a number of fabrics, but as cecelia says, denim is made for jeans!!
1/15/08 11:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 220738-1008

photo
by: Sew Whatev...

Review