SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4080 (Geisha Kimono)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1531 times 
Reviewed by:cammyland
photo

 
 
About cammylandstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/18/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/07 10:06 PM
Last Updated:8/24/07 8:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lunar_C said...
Your review made me laugh, I feel your pain. Luckily you ended up with something worth the struggle. Couldn't see your pictures though : (
8/24/07 1:57 AM
busy91 said...
Isn't it always the frustrating patterns that turn out the best? Your links don't work. I got to see the small thumbnail in the gallery. I'd like to see it bigger.
8/24/07 8:31 AM
colormefun said...
the pics work now! looks nice! i look forward to seeing the one made up of nice fabric! are u located in japan? if you're concerned about the authenticity maybe they have kimono patterns there... ask a cute o-bachan for one?
8/24/07 9:02 AM
busy91 said...
O K got to see the photos. Still looks great!
8/24/07 9:45 AM
cammyland said...
Yay! I'm really excited to make the kimono out of good fabric now form all the positives comments! Happy Cammy! Wovenwaters, I'm acutally located in California, tho I've always wanted to go to Japan! Since my cousin is yelling at me to hurry up and make her kimono, so the next one might not be 100% authentic, but she doesn't care. =]
8/24/07 1:31 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I am so glad that you will make anotherone. You seem to knw so much about them and all the names of the parts. I look forward to your next post of this pattern. Persevere!
8/24/07 3:06 PM
Markie1 said...
I can not wait to see the kimono make again out of the fabric you choose. You wrestled this one to the ground and you WON! I think it is very prettiy in your cheap fabric, i hope you will wear it around the house. Thanks for the neat review.
8/24/07 5:48 PM
Elle D said...
Wow, this is so elegant. I am actually motivated to make one of these, in the type of fabric that you used.
8/24/07 7:49 PM
poplin said...
funny, funny review! I keep pattern instructions a safe distance from me.
8/24/07 8:59 PM
Nancywin said...
very informative review. Now that you know all the quirks of the pattern you can make it in something really lovely.
8/24/07 10:10 PM
colormefun said...
haha, i guess you'd better get started on your cousin's kimono!
8/25/07 1:16 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Loved your funny review! Lovely garment! Thank you for the education about kimonos.
8/25/07 11:15 PM
venetus said...
I love vintage kimonos, so I love yours!
8/30/07 3:10 PM
Cristina_TC said...
Lovely, what a pity for pictures ;( It' s wonderfull :)
10/4/07 8:27 PM
Yosho said...
I love this design, I've been working on this costume for a total of 9 hours. I'll just confirm that these instructions are the worst I've ever seen; yet beautiful rusult. Yes all that time is trial an error (mostly error). Now I can probably do what I've done so far in about 2-3 hours. I'm currently stuck on figuring out the complicated instructions on the neck peice. onlyinjapan, can you help? I'm new to this site and I can't find the way to mail you directly.
12/11/07 1:06 PM
Costume Queen said...
Sounds like a hard project, but definitely worth it! Your result is beautiful. I've been researching kimono design, and like you said, this is as close to authentic as you get!
5/12/08 5:29 PM
rosesews said...
i am thinking about buying this pattern, it will be on sale for $1. since the price is so low, i may still attempt it.
8/12/08 2:52 PM
kyartslave said...
Your picture links are not working for me but I managed to find your site with other work posted. Love your sewing! Thanks for the warning on the instructions! Think I'll wait for my skills to improve. ~ Smiles
8/17/08 9:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-116

photo
by: liliv

Review
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now