Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4080 (Geisha Kimono) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 1526 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:cammyland
photo
About cammylandstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/18/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/07 10:06 PM
Last Updated:8/24/07 8:59 AM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lunar_C said...
Your review made me laugh, I feel your pain. Luckily you ended up with something worth the struggle. Couldn't see your pictures though : (
8/24/07 1:57 AM
busy91 said...
Isn't it always the frustrating patterns that turn out the best? Your links don't work. I got to see the small thumbnail in the gallery. I'd like to see it bigger.
8/24/07 8:31 AM
colormefun said...
the pics work now! looks nice! i look forward to seeing the one made up of nice fabric! are u located in japan? if you're concerned about the authenticity maybe they have kimono patterns there... ask a cute o-bachan for one?
8/24/07 9:02 AM
busy91 said...
O K got to see the photos. Still looks great!
8/24/07 9:45 AM
cammyland said...
Yay! I'm really excited to make the kimono out of good fabric now form all the positives comments! Happy Cammy! Wovenwaters, I'm acutally located in California, tho I've always wanted to go to Japan! Since my cousin is yelling at me to hurry up and make her kimono, so the next one might not be 100% authentic, but she doesn't care. =]
8/24/07 1:31 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I am so glad that you will make anotherone. You seem to knw so much about them and all the names of the parts. I look forward to your next post of this pattern. Persevere!
8/24/07 3:06 PM
Markie1 said...
I can not wait to see the kimono make again out of the fabric you choose. You wrestled this one to the ground and you WON! I think it is very prettiy in your cheap fabric, i hope you will wear it around the house. Thanks for the neat review.
8/24/07 5:48 PM
Elle D said...
Wow, this is so elegant. I am actually motivated to make one of these, in the type of fabric that you used.
8/24/07 7:49 PM
poplin said...
funny, funny review! I keep pattern instructions a safe distance from me.
8/24/07 8:59 PM
Nancywin said...
very informative review. Now that you know all the quirks of the pattern you can make it in something really lovely.
8/24/07 10:10 PM
colormefun said...
haha, i guess you'd better get started on your cousin's kimono!
8/25/07 1:16 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Loved your funny review! Lovely garment! Thank you for the education about kimonos.
8/25/07 11:15 PM
venetus said...
I love vintage kimonos, so I love yours!
8/30/07 3:10 PM
Cristina_TC said...
Lovely, what a pity for pictures ;( It' s wonderfull :)
10/4/07 8:27 PM
Yosho said...
I love this design, I've been working on this costume for a total of 9 hours. I'll just confirm that these instructions are the worst I've ever seen; yet beautiful rusult. Yes all that time is trial an error (mostly error). Now I can probably do what I've done so far in about 2-3 hours. I'm currently stuck on figuring out the complicated instructions on the neck peice. onlyinjapan, can you help? I'm new to this site and I can't find the way to mail you directly.
12/11/07 1:06 PM
Costume Queen said...
Sounds like a hard project, but definitely worth it! Your result is beautiful. I've been researching kimono design, and like you said, this is as close to authentic as you get!
5/12/08 5:29 PM
rosesews said...
i am thinking about buying this pattern, it will be on sale for $1. since the price is so low, i may still attempt it.
8/12/08 2:52 PM
kyartslave said...
Your picture links are not working for me but I managed to find your site with other work posted. Love your sewing! Thanks for the warning on the instructions! Think I'll wait for my skills to improve. ~ Smiles
8/17/08 9:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5314
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 9/7/09
Read Review

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3299
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 2/13/05
Read Review

McCalls 6051 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6051 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us