Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7397 (Today's Fit by Sandra Betzina) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1955 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/03 10:54 PM
Last Updated:3/4/03 3:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ginger said...
I am very impressed with that top. I've gotten into the madrin style collar lately. I would really like to see a discussion about matching that toile.
3/3/03 11:27 PM
MaryBeth said...
Ann: your closet must be one of the most intriguing places in CA! I love the added piping and the frogs are out of this world! What makes the pockets so different?
3/4/03 1:39 AM
Ann Smith said...
MaryBeth: The pockets have a pleat at the bottom so they "bellow" out in an attractive way. You can't see it on my photo, but you can sort of see it on the pattern picture. Really just a simple thing but a nice design.
3/4/03 3:13 AM
xxx xxx xxx xxx said...
Ann Hi I am a fairly new participate to PR however, been lurking for a long time and I ALWAYS get so excited to see what you come up with The Toile fabric is so nice I want to make some toile shortalls (not to short I am over 30 tee hee) I have a cream and blue toile w/ small motifs I think it would be so cute for summer with a t-shirt and maybe some espadrill slip ons I see this so clearly in my mind now if I just saw it under my sewing machine ;0) I think toile makes great clothing options and I am so HAPPY to see someone else feels the same way Great Job so pretty and looks great on you P.S. The shop I worked at hosted Sandra Betzina and she did a fitting on all of us using her TODAYS FIT sizing it was so fun to see every one in their plaid pants (used for fitting because you can see the crooked parts on our bods with the plaid) She has asked the pattern drafters she works with to use a more realistic sizing slopper for todays figures we don't look like Lucy Ricrodo in our flowing dress with lace apron any more she did mention that there will still need to be adjustments made but not nearly as many yeah !!!!!!!!!!seems to me you got the idea already. ok I am inspired to go get my toile out PSS Toile washes beautifully if you wash it before you make the garment then you have a washable item If after washing it feels limp startch it to put back the cripness but, we would still end up with a washable garment yipppppp peeeeeeeee again so pretty and I am inspired
3/4/03 5:18 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Ann, that is so unique looking! I like toile but never know what to make with it. You look 'high end boutique' with your creation. The piping is the standout touch as it sets off the lines of the jacket so well. Great job as usual! Thanks for the inspiration.
3/4/03 6:31 AM
Tonya said...
Ok, I'm thoroughly confused. What is toile? My fabric dictionary says it's a printed design on a fabric; various internet dictionaries say anything from simple plain or twill weave fabric to sheer fabric to toile being the french word for canvas, which is anything but sheer or printed. I'm guessing you're calling it toile because it's printed?
3/4/03 10:17 AM
NancyDaQ said...
I was curious about the origins of the term "toile" myself, so I just did a Google search and found this interesting article: http://www.azcentral.com/style/articles/1213trendtracker.html Here's a little exerpt: the French perfected toile du Jouy back in the 1700s. The name was soon shortened to toile, pronounced "twall." The finely woven cotton fabric was originally only on a white or ivory background with a blue, black or red pattern, and it was carried throughout a room, from bedding to drapes and curtains.
3/4/03 12:30 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Beautiful, Just Beautiful !!
3/4/03 12:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I love pattern reviews. This is one of just a couple of her patterns I wouldn't have considered. Now, I'm having a change of heart. Your top is fabulous.
3/4/03 2:45 PM
SouthernStitch said...
The perfect design for toile. I don't like most clothing I see made from this, but this I LOVE!!
3/4/03 3:32 PM
Kitty said...
This really is beautiful !! I was thinking about getting this pattern, and now I will !! I always look forward to your reviews, Ann !!
3/4/03 10:13 PM
Mariko said...
Ann, I love the fabric and black piping effect! It is so perfect! I may want to try that!
3/5/03 2:19 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is really very stunning. I have a question about the piping of pockets. I just piped the top of two pockets, but I was dissatisfied with the ends: do you just turn the excess piping under (then it looks bulky)? I ended up cutting the ends very closely and then slip stitching them, but I'm still not satisfied. Could you share with me how you piped the pocket. Thank you. By the way, I think the clothes you make are quite beautiful.
3/5/03 6:53 PM
Ann Smith said...
Harriet: The piping on the pockets was just applied to the backside and topstitched, folding the ends under. One little trick to help eliminate the bulk: push back the covering and cut away the excess cording in the folded back part, then fold under and stitch. That way you still have fabric to fold and stitch but less bulk. The piping at the sleeve edge was enclosed with a narrow facing I improvised. I did the same thing there to trim out the extra cording.
3/5/03 7:18 PM
Ann Smith said...
Harriet: The piping on the pockets was just applied to the backside and topstitched, folding the ends under. One little trick to help eliminate the bulk: push back the covering and cut away the excess cording in the folded back part, then fold under and stitch. That way you still have fabric to fold and stitch but less bulk. The piping at the sleeve edge was enclosed with a narrow facing I improvised. I did the same thing there to trim out the extra cording. Hope this helps. Thanks for the compliments everyone!
3/5/03 7:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8696
photo
Review by mimi g. on 11/8/12
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8932
photo
Review by sensorydeb on 1/16/14
Read Review

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6913 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 6913 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8670 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8670 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us