SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7397 (Today's Fit by Sandra Betzina)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1959 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/03 10:54 PM
Last Updated:3/4/03 3:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Harriet: The piping on the pockets was just applied to the backside and topstitched, folding the ends under. One little trick to help eliminate the bulk: push back the covering and cut away the excess cording in the folded back part, then fold under and stitch. That way you still have fabric to fold and stitch but less bulk. The piping at the sleeve edge was enclosed with a narrow facing I improvised. I did the same thing there to trim out the extra cording. Hope this helps. Thanks for the compliments everyone!
3/5/03 7:19 PM
Ann Smith said...
Harriet: The piping on the pockets was just applied to the backside and topstitched, folding the ends under. One little trick to help eliminate the bulk: push back the covering and cut away the excess cording in the folded back part, then fold under and stitch. That way you still have fabric to fold and stitch but less bulk. The piping at the sleeve edge was enclosed with a narrow facing I improvised. I did the same thing there to trim out the extra cording.
3/5/03 7:18 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is really very stunning. I have a question about the piping of pockets. I just piped the top of two pockets, but I was dissatisfied with the ends: do you just turn the excess piping under (then it looks bulky)? I ended up cutting the ends very closely and then slip stitching them, but I'm still not satisfied. Could you share with me how you piped the pocket. Thank you. By the way, I think the clothes you make are quite beautiful.
3/5/03 6:53 PM
Mariko said...
Ann, I love the fabric and black piping effect! It is so perfect! I may want to try that!
3/5/03 2:19 AM
Kitty said...
This really is beautiful !! I was thinking about getting this pattern, and now I will !! I always look forward to your reviews, Ann !!
3/4/03 10:13 PM
SouthernStitch said...
The perfect design for toile. I don't like most clothing I see made from this, but this I LOVE!!
3/4/03 3:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I love pattern reviews. This is one of just a couple of her patterns I wouldn't have considered. Now, I'm having a change of heart. Your top is fabulous.
3/4/03 2:45 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Beautiful, Just Beautiful !!
3/4/03 12:32 PM
NancyDaQ said...
I was curious about the origins of the term "toile" myself, so I just did a Google search and found this interesting article: http://www.azcentral.com/style/articles/1213trendtracker.html Here's a little exerpt: the French perfected toile du Jouy back in the 1700s. The name was soon shortened to toile, pronounced "twall." The finely woven cotton fabric was originally only on a white or ivory background with a blue, black or red pattern, and it was carried throughout a room, from bedding to drapes and curtains.
3/4/03 12:30 PM
Tonya said...
Ok, I'm thoroughly confused. What is toile? My fabric dictionary says it's a printed design on a fabric; various internet dictionaries say anything from simple plain or twill weave fabric to sheer fabric to toile being the french word for canvas, which is anything but sheer or printed. I'm guessing you're calling it toile because it's printed?
3/4/03 10:17 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Ann, that is so unique looking! I like toile but never know what to make with it. You look 'high end boutique' with your creation. The piping is the standout touch as it sets off the lines of the jacket so well. Great job as usual! Thanks for the inspiration.
3/4/03 6:31 AM
xxx xxx xxx xxx said...
Ann Hi I am a fairly new participate to PR however, been lurking for a long time and I ALWAYS get so excited to see what you come up with The Toile fabric is so nice I want to make some toile shortalls (not to short I am over 30 tee hee) I have a cream and blue toile w/ small motifs I think it would be so cute for summer with a t-shirt and maybe some espadrill slip ons I see this so clearly in my mind now if I just saw it under my sewing machine ;0) I think toile makes great clothing options and I am so HAPPY to see someone else feels the same way Great Job so pretty and looks great on you P.S. The shop I worked at hosted Sandra Betzina and she did a fitting on all of us using her TODAYS FIT sizing it was so fun to see every one in their plaid pants (used for fitting because you can see the crooked parts on our bods with the plaid) She has asked the pattern drafters she works with to use a more realistic sizing slopper for todays figures we don't look like Lucy Ricrodo in our flowing dress with lace apron any more she did mention that there will still need to be adjustments made but not nearly as many yeah !!!!!!!!!!seems to me you got the idea already. ok I am inspired to go get my toile out PSS Toile washes beautifully if you wash it before you make the garment then you have a washable item If after washing it feels limp startch it to put back the cripness but, we would still end up with a washable garment yipppppp peeeeeeeee again so pretty and I am inspired
3/4/03 5:18 AM
Ann Smith said...
MaryBeth: The pockets have a pleat at the bottom so they "bellow" out in an attractive way. You can't see it on my photo, but you can sort of see it on the pattern picture. Really just a simple thing but a nice design.
3/4/03 3:13 AM
MaryBeth said...
Ann: your closet must be one of the most intriguing places in CA! I love the added piping and the frogs are out of this world! What makes the pockets so different?
3/4/03 1:39 AM
Ginger said...
I am very impressed with that top. I've gotten into the madrin style collar lately. I would really like to see a discussion about matching that toile.
3/3/03 11:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 3607

photo
by: KamiSue2

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now