SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5111 (Vintage 1940's Sailor Outfit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1162 times 
Reviewed by:CA Eisenhour
photo

 
 
About CA Eisenhourstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/22/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/07 11:57 PM
Last Updated:8/29/07 1:11 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mrsanniep said...
That is adorable and precious!
8/29/07 0:22 AM
Patzee said...
This is so beautiful! I remember sailer girl blouses -- I even had one. But a whole outfit? Too cute.
8/29/07 1:17 AM
morzel said...
Now this is HOT! Great outfit! And it is so completley vintage, as there are no (scratchy) sailorsuits out there anymore... Good job!
8/29/07 2:49 AM
khrome said...
That is adorable!!! They don't make kids clothes like they used to. I wish they did!
8/29/07 3:11 AM
Braemar said...
This is just wonderful! Oh, how I would love to make it for my 2 yr old DGD but not sure that mummy would appreciate it! It saddens me that she is always in jeans and trousers!! Thank you for sharing this! Mary Anne
8/29/07 3:42 AM
mary said...
oh wow ! that is so adorable !
8/29/07 5:26 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ah! I am in awe! Such a beautiful outfit! I definitely would like a copy, please!
8/29/07 5:29 AM
cindy-lou said...
So cute! It saddens me that your own DGD grew too fast for this one... but you'll make a mint on it! :)
8/29/07 6:47 AM
MissCelie said...
That is just about the best little outfit I have ever seen.
8/29/07 8:04 AM
busy91 said...
That is so cute. Even the color is like the envelope!!
8/29/07 8:20 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very Cute dress! It turned out just perfect!
8/29/07 8:38 AM
cathy45 said...
This is just too, too cute!
8/29/07 9:49 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I've always loved sailor outfits for little boys and girls, yours is just too cute for words Connie! Bravo to you!!! :-)
8/29/07 10:10 AM
mendospot said...
I love sailor outfits. Very sweet.
8/29/07 1:27 PM
Englebert said...
I *love* this!!
8/29/07 2:43 PM
Tiner W said...
How absolutely darling!
8/29/07 4:00 PM
Frosty772 said...
This outfit makes me wish I had a little girl. All boys and none forthcoming. This is a beautiful outfit and some lucky little girl is going to look absolutely darling in this!! I bet your going to have people fighting over this one !!
8/29/07 4:24 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Mouthwateringly gorgeous outfit! Is there a little girl alive who wouldn't love to wear this????!!! Fantastic job well done!
8/29/07 7:00 PM
pterion said...
What a darling little outfit! Absolutely perfect.
8/30/07 0:17 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous outfit!
8/30/07 11:04 AM
loridiane said...
Beautiful job, I love the red and white!
8/30/07 5:27 PM
cmarie12 said...
This outfit is so freakin' adorable! What a beautiful, beautiful skirt and top!
8/31/07 11:54 AM
janella said...
cute cute cute... so gorgeous...
8/31/07 6:06 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Thank you so very much ladies for the lovely compliments! This outfit was a wonderful nostalgic project. And for those who asked for a copy I will get it to you ASAP!
9/1/07 11:41 PM
Jerry P said...
very nice - you are very talented. Thank you for sharing your work with us.
9/3/07 0:36 AM
Elle D said...
Just perfect. Not many things make me want to have another child, but this would be close. Maybe I could make one for when my daughter, now 14, has her own daughter. Just went to your website, it is beyond words. I particularly love your Plush Snow Leopard Faux Fur Coat, Hat and Leggings. That would look incredible on any little girl, instant diva. Kudos to you.
10/2/07 12:49 PM
Elle D said...
Just perfect. Not many things make me want to have another child, but this would be close. Maybe I could make one for when my daughter, now 14, has her own daughter.
10/2/07 12:55 PM
BrightFeather said...
Absolutely gorgeous! And I'd like a copy of the pattern, too. I've been searching for a good pattern for this type of outfit and haven't found any I like so well as this. :) Make two tops, the skirt, and a little pair of white shorts with cuffs, and you have matching outfits for fraternal twins! (And I've found a pattern for a pair of little boy's shorts with suspenders from the same era! If I lengthen them a bit and make cuffs on the bottom...) Is the offer to trace the pattern still open? I'd love to make one for my niece and one for my nephew!
3/7/08 6:35 PM
CharityAK said...
Well isn't this the cutest thing ever? I LOVE sailor looks for children. Too precious.
3/7/08 6:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

PR Member's Pattern Cation Designs Dolman Sle

photo
by: craftsanct...

Review
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
Butterick 5536 (OOP)

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review