Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5111 (Vintage 1940's Sailor Outfit) - Type:Toddlers    printable version
Viewed 1161 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:CA Eisenhour
photo
About CA Eisenhourstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/22/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/07 11:57 PM
Last Updated:8/29/07 1:11 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mrsanniep said...
That is adorable and precious!
8/29/07 0:22 AM
Patzee said...
This is so beautiful! I remember sailer girl blouses -- I even had one. But a whole outfit? Too cute.
8/29/07 1:17 AM
morzel said...
Now this is HOT! Great outfit! And it is so completley vintage, as there are no (scratchy) sailorsuits out there anymore... Good job!
8/29/07 2:49 AM
khrome said...
That is adorable!!! They don't make kids clothes like they used to. I wish they did!
8/29/07 3:11 AM
Braemar said...
This is just wonderful! Oh, how I would love to make it for my 2 yr old DGD but not sure that mummy would appreciate it! It saddens me that she is always in jeans and trousers!! Thank you for sharing this! Mary Anne
8/29/07 3:42 AM
mary said...
oh wow ! that is so adorable !
8/29/07 5:26 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ah! I am in awe! Such a beautiful outfit! I definitely would like a copy, please!
8/29/07 5:29 AM
cindy-lou said...
So cute! It saddens me that your own DGD grew too fast for this one... but you'll make a mint on it! :)
8/29/07 6:47 AM
MissCelie said...
That is just about the best little outfit I have ever seen.
8/29/07 8:04 AM
busy91 said...
That is so cute. Even the color is like the envelope!!
8/29/07 8:20 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very Cute dress! It turned out just perfect!
8/29/07 8:38 AM
cathy45 said...
This is just too, too cute!
8/29/07 9:49 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I've always loved sailor outfits for little boys and girls, yours is just too cute for words Connie! Bravo to you!!! :-)
8/29/07 10:10 AM
mendospot said...
I love sailor outfits. Very sweet.
8/29/07 1:27 PM
Englebert said...
I *love* this!!
8/29/07 2:43 PM
Tiner W said...
How absolutely darling!
8/29/07 4:00 PM
Frosty772 said...
This outfit makes me wish I had a little girl. All boys and none forthcoming. This is a beautiful outfit and some lucky little girl is going to look absolutely darling in this!! I bet your going to have people fighting over this one !!
8/29/07 4:24 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Mouthwateringly gorgeous outfit! Is there a little girl alive who wouldn't love to wear this????!!! Fantastic job well done!
8/29/07 7:00 PM
pterion said...
What a darling little outfit! Absolutely perfect.
8/30/07 0:17 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous outfit!
8/30/07 11:04 AM
loridiane said...
Beautiful job, I love the red and white!
8/30/07 5:27 PM
cmarie12 said...
This outfit is so freakin' adorable! What a beautiful, beautiful skirt and top!
8/31/07 11:54 AM
janella said...
cute cute cute... so gorgeous...
8/31/07 6:06 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Thank you so very much ladies for the lovely compliments! This outfit was a wonderful nostalgic project. And for those who asked for a copy I will get it to you ASAP!
9/1/07 11:41 PM
Jerry P said...
very nice - you are very talented. Thank you for sharing your work with us.
9/3/07 0:36 AM
Elle D said...
Just perfect. Not many things make me want to have another child, but this would be close. Maybe I could make one for when my daughter, now 14, has her own daughter. Just went to your website, it is beyond words. I particularly love your Plush Snow Leopard Faux Fur Coat, Hat and Leggings. That would look incredible on any little girl, instant diva. Kudos to you.
10/2/07 12:49 PM
Elle D said...
Just perfect. Not many things make me want to have another child, but this would be close. Maybe I could make one for when my daughter, now 14, has her own daughter.
10/2/07 12:55 PM
BrightFeather said...
Absolutely gorgeous! And I'd like a copy of the pattern, too. I've been searching for a good pattern for this type of outfit and haven't found any I like so well as this. :) Make two tops, the skirt, and a little pair of white shorts with cuffs, and you have matching outfits for fraternal twins! (And I've found a pattern for a pair of little boy's shorts with suspenders from the same era! If I lengthen them a bit and make cuffs on the bottom...) Is the offer to trace the pattern still open? I'd love to make one for my niece and one for my nephew!
3/7/08 6:35 PM
CharityAK said...
Well isn't this the cutest thing ever? I LOVE sailor looks for children. Too precious.
3/7/08 6:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Self Drafted Pattern 226262-1006
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 1/17/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6607
photo
Review by JGillentin... on 11/9/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us