SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8210 (Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1352 times 
Reviewed by:moss
photo

 
 
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/07 9:13 AM
Last Updated:9/7/07 9:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
I just have to comment again because I really love this jacket. Also, you are so right about FS linen. I made a series of garments from some linen blend I bought at JoAnns some time ago, and I hate them because they wrinkle so terribly and look bad. On the other hand, the dress I made from FS linen I love. It wrinkles too, but it looks different and does not beg to be ironed. I wear it as is and love it.
9/8/07 8:21 PM
cecelia said...
Very nice and comfortable looking. Love the fabric, the pockets and buttons. You'll get a lot of use out of this I bet.
8/31/07 7:10 AM
Linda G said...
Good Job...I really like your jacket. The various buttons are such a nice touch. Thanks for the good source for linen
8/29/07 1:09 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your jacket turned out nice. The pockets turned out very well. In fact, the extra details really make the jacket. Your version looks much better than the line drawings.
8/29/07 8:28 AM
Karine said...
What a terrific jacket. The stripe you chose and your use of the different angles really makes it! I love the pockets and the bias-bound edges - you're right that yours looks far better than the pattern illustration. Thanks for the review.
8/29/07 8:27 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, gorgeous work with those stripes! Yes, do make the sleeves a tad shorter, but this is great.
8/29/07 8:15 AM
moss said...
Clin, yes, linen does wrinkle, but in my mind (since I am something of a snob, haha), I see this more as a status symbol, like "look at my natural linen jacket". On the other hand, the nice thing about FS linen, in my experience, is that it gets softer and softer with every wash, and it also wrinkles less and less. I don't think linen wrinkles all that much more than, say, a silk dupioni. But, that is my opinion, take it for what it's worth! :)
8/29/07 8:14 AM
BillieJean said...
I have some charcoal striped linen that you've inspired me to sew. Beautiful jacket!
8/29/07 6:29 AM
rivergum said...
This looks faabulous! I love the back view especially, it looks so elegant.
8/29/07 2:41 AM
Patzee said...
Vogue should hire you!
8/29/07 1:10 AM
carolynw said...
Love the jacket and it looks waaaay better than the drawing on the envelope! Vogue should sponsor you too. Moss how is the linen for crushing? I love linen but hate the crushed look that I know is enevitable with it - however, some do crush more than others so how woudl you rate this one - I am on akick to sew mostly natural fibers if at all possible.
8/28/07 5:51 PM
Puppy said...
A very appealing jacket...I love that it has so many interesting details. I love that in a garment. It intrigues me that you do your sewing by hand. My mother was a prolific sewer but I was not at all interested in sewing.....until I was out from under the family roof. I made by hand a couple of nightgowns and then I made a 2-pc lined bathings suit, after which my mom decided I was serious and bought me a very inexpensive sewing machine. But I do enjoy sitting and doing the handsewing aspects of garment making.
8/28/07 12:16 PM
SewLil said...
Wow! Did you all see that she sewed this by hand! That makes this jacket even more amazing to me.
8/28/07 12:08 PM
Markie1 said...
I love this! You took a very basic pattern and turned it into a unique and expensive looking jacket. I love the spray of buttons and the pockets are perfect!
8/28/07 11:22 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I agree, this looks way better than the pattern drawing. I love the way you manipulated the stripes in the yoke, sleeves and binding - it makes for a very distinctive jacket. It also looks really, really comfy. Great job.
8/28/07 11:09 AM
moss said...
Nancy, thanks! Thanks especially for the sleeve advice, I was going to ask if they were the right length. I am pretty short and I am not sure where the sleeve is supposed to fall. :)
8/28/07 10:19 AM
Nancywin said...
Moss, this turned out so nicely! I love the way you contrasted the stripes. It looks like the sleeves are a little long - maybe shorten them about 1/2" - or maybe it's just the picture. I love FS linen too. It's the best.
8/28/07 9:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 3786

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
New Look 6110

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now