SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1101 (Free Blouse Fall 06/07)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1076 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 136 people
patterns reviewed: 143
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/07 11:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
aunt saidee said...
It's exciting to read about you all using Marfy patterns: I am screwing up my courage. Your blouse looks wonderful. Do you think maybe the pattern allows for a slight shoulder pad? That might bring the shoulder in line enough; if you don't like shoulder pads and you do make this again you could adjust the next blouse's shoulder length. I encourage you to make it again as it is very attractive: I can see it in a dressy fabric with body with some slim, straight-legged trousers and fancy flats. I guess I'm thinking vintage print top with solid dupionni trousers and matching shoes, though I really hate sewing with dupionni and wearing it because it seems to split if you look at it funny. I must be in a 60s or 70s mood... You can solve the poofiness at the back with a dart-tuck that starts at CB and tapers to nothing at the side seam. Look up sway back or erect back in a fitting book for details: the adjustment is the same. Thanks for a great review!
9/9/07 2:08 AM
Levone said...
Wow, what a pretty blouse! Congrats on your first Marfy. You should make many more of these.
9/5/07 2:13 PM
Annika said...
Beautiful job! I love the collar and the fabric you chose. Sumptuous!
9/4/07 5:34 PM
Re Becca said...
Nice blouse, the cuffs really make it. I like the look in the horizontal stripe, it definitely looks expensive.
9/2/07 5:49 PM
Marilyn N. said...
Your blouse is lovely - it doesn't look anything like a free pattern in cheap fabric!
9/2/07 1:27 AM
nimble said...
This is a fabulous, expensive-designer-looking blouse!! You've done a beautiful job and you look wonderful in it!!
9/2/07 0:13 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Very impressive-gorgeous!
9/1/07 7:22 PM
cecelia said...
I really admire anyone who tackes Marfy patterns without directions. It looks like you made out well with this pattern.
9/1/07 2:53 PM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous designer looking blouse!
9/1/07 12:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 1882

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now