SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 47323-1001 (1951 Vogue Couturier suit 1951)

Viewed 3198 times 
Reviewed by:cakehole
photo

 
 
About cakeholestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/22/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/07 1:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
eibhlin said...
Wow! Absolutely beautiful!!!!
4/7/09 2:31 PM
Athene said...
Wow - congratulations on this outfit. You look great.
10/7/07 3:52 AM
FloraNature said...
Stunning! Beautiful fabric, just right for this suit. I've just purchased a length of suiting fabric from this seller, and am eagerly waiting for it to arrive. His fabric seems very good quality and the blends are very well priced but be prepared to pay an arm and a leg for cashmere! [UPDATE: The fabric arrived today and it is first class and *gorgeous*. He also included a woven satin label of authenticity that can be sewn into garments. The label is navy blue with a golden crest and the British flag and reads "woven in the British Isles"]
10/4/07 8:04 AM
Larkin said...
Wow! What a fabulous project! And, it looks wonderful on you!
10/3/07 9:58 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous! You did such a great job with the drafting. I'm currently drafting/ sewing a jacket so I understand about being bored with it by the end. :) Great job and lovely suit.
10/2/07 3:51 AM
LianneM said...
Great suit, I'm really impressed. Absolutely 50's glam!
10/1/07 7:11 PM
Bonnie O said...
Absolutely fabulous! Can't believe you drafted this yourself.
10/1/07 12:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an amazing job of drafting! It looks so authentic too!
10/1/07 11:56 AM
Em's Summer said...
Your suit is soo cute and so are your shoes! Great job!
10/1/07 10:54 AM
Hilary said...
That is *gorgeous*!!! What beautiful work-the fabric is lovely and the suit looks perfectly fitted. Well done!
9/5/07 3:57 PM
moggy said...
Beautiful, and twice as impressive since you drafted it.
9/5/07 6:15 AM
Nancywin said...
Wow! I am totally impressed. I have not done any pattern drafting and it intimidates me. Your dress is absolutely beautiful - and where did you get those too cool shoes?
9/3/07 0:38 AM
cindyann said...
That suit is wonderful! You look smashing in it.
9/2/07 1:07 PM
DorothyK said...
Wow. This is amazing. Great fit, great look. I'm so impressed that you drafted this yourself. Congratulations on a job well-done.
9/2/07 12:28 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
I don't have enough superlatives to praise your triumph! This is a museum worthy piece, you look smashing!
9/2/07 9:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Absolutely, positively a great fitting and looing suit. You did a fabulous job drafting this. Lovely!
9/2/07 7:54 AM
Tany said...
What an outstanding suit! I congratulate you for achieving perfect results and for drafting your own pattern!
9/2/07 4:20 AM
morzel said...
What a wonderful, stylish suit! You really look very elegant in it. And you did a great job realising this design.
9/2/07 2:10 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I love your suit, the style, fabric & fit are all perfect!
9/2/07 1:32 AM
U. Chicago said...
Wow. WOW! I think you can upgrade from "intermediate" sewing skills now, after finding a way to make your own pattern from a photo and getting such a fantastic fit!
9/1/07 8:39 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL suit! you did and amazing job and I too, am impressed that you drafted this yourself. Great work!
9/1/07 7:37 PM
KathleenS said...
As everyone else has said, it's amazing that you drafted this yourself. It looks great. I particularly like the use of stripes, and the buttons.
9/1/07 7:32 PM
Tiner W said...
That's gorgeous, and I am so very impressed that you've drafted it yourself!
9/1/07 6:14 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Fantastic suit! You look wonderful in it, very 50's! Congratulations on a marvellous sewing project.
9/1/07 5:31 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! I'm impressed! And a self-drafted project, too, eh! You look marvy, very UK. Can be very proud of yourself!! Can't wait to see what you do when you're "Advanced"!!
9/1/07 5:22 PM
Sigrid. said...
Very impressing you drafted this yourself, with this perfect result. FABULOUS.
9/1/07 5:06 PM
washer_woman said...
Your suit is gorgeous! Excellent job! Very well done!
9/1/07 4:28 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Fabulous suit!! Thank you for showing us the process you went through, it is really inspiring.
9/1/07 3:36 PM
Kay Y said...
This is great - you did an especially nice job on the collar and lapels!
9/1/07 3:19 PM
Kay Y said...
This is great - you did an especially nice job on the collar and lapels!
9/1/07 3:18 PM
Kellie R. said...
That suit looks FAB on you!! I too am impressed that you drafted your pattern based on a photo. I'm also thrilled at how wonderful you look in that style - I too am a pear and shy away from straight skirts. Yay on the fabric! I used to live in England (for eight years) and know how pricey good fabric can cost!
9/1/07 3:10 PM
cecelia said...
This is so unique and looks wonderful on you--nice job and thanks for the review!
9/1/07 2:59 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Really nice suit. I'm super-impressed that you drafted it yourself. Very ambitous with great results!
9/1/07 2:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great draft of a classic! You look wonderful!
9/1/07 2:40 PM
Huldra said...
I'm really impressed that you drafted this yourself. It really is a beautiful suit! And thank you for giving hope to other pears (I'm going to attempt straight skirts too...)!
9/1/07 2:37 PM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous suit. You look great.
9/1/07 1:52 PM
Braemar said...
This is a stunning suit and it looks very good on you! I am in Scotland and have also bought fabrics from this seller. They are very good quality and reasonably priced! You have done an excellent job! Best wishes, Mary Anne.
9/1/07 1:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 5711

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
Burda 0006A

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now