Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 47323-1001 (1951 Vogue Couturier suit 1951) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 3198 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:cakehole
photo
About cakeholestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/22/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/07 1:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Braemar said...
This is a stunning suit and it looks very good on you! I am in Scotland and have also bought fabrics from this seller. They are very good quality and reasonably priced! You have done an excellent job! Best wishes, Mary Anne.
9/1/07 1:43 PM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous suit. You look great.
9/1/07 1:52 PM
Huldra said...
I'm really impressed that you drafted this yourself. It really is a beautiful suit! And thank you for giving hope to other pears (I'm going to attempt straight skirts too...)!
9/1/07 2:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great draft of a classic! You look wonderful!
9/1/07 2:40 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Really nice suit. I'm super-impressed that you drafted it yourself. Very ambitous with great results!
9/1/07 2:50 PM
cecelia said...
This is so unique and looks wonderful on you--nice job and thanks for the review!
9/1/07 2:59 PM
Kellie R. said...
That suit looks FAB on you!! I too am impressed that you drafted your pattern based on a photo. I'm also thrilled at how wonderful you look in that style - I too am a pear and shy away from straight skirts. Yay on the fabric! I used to live in England (for eight years) and know how pricey good fabric can cost!
9/1/07 3:10 PM
Kay Y said...
This is great - you did an especially nice job on the collar and lapels!
9/1/07 3:18 PM
Kay Y said...
This is great - you did an especially nice job on the collar and lapels!
9/1/07 3:19 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Fabulous suit!! Thank you for showing us the process you went through, it is really inspiring.
9/1/07 3:36 PM
washer_woman said...
Your suit is gorgeous! Excellent job! Very well done!
9/1/07 4:28 PM
Sigrid. said...
Very impressing you drafted this yourself, with this perfect result. FABULOUS.
9/1/07 5:06 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! I'm impressed! And a self-drafted project, too, eh! You look marvy, very UK. Can be very proud of yourself!! Can't wait to see what you do when you're "Advanced"!!
9/1/07 5:22 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Fantastic suit! You look wonderful in it, very 50's! Congratulations on a marvellous sewing project.
9/1/07 5:31 PM
Tiner W said...
That's gorgeous, and I am so very impressed that you've drafted it yourself!
9/1/07 6:14 PM
KathleenS said...
As everyone else has said, it's amazing that you drafted this yourself. It looks great. I particularly like the use of stripes, and the buttons.
9/1/07 7:32 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL suit! you did and amazing job and I too, am impressed that you drafted this yourself. Great work!
9/1/07 7:37 PM
U. Chicago said...
Wow. WOW! I think you can upgrade from "intermediate" sewing skills now, after finding a way to make your own pattern from a photo and getting such a fantastic fit!
9/1/07 8:39 PM
Marilyn N. said...
I love your suit, the style, fabric & fit are all perfect!
9/2/07 1:32 AM
morzel said...
What a wonderful, stylish suit! You really look very elegant in it. And you did a great job realising this design.
9/2/07 2:10 AM
Tany said...
What an outstanding suit! I congratulate you for achieving perfect results and for drafting your own pattern!
9/2/07 4:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Absolutely, positively a great fitting and looing suit. You did a fabulous job drafting this. Lovely!
9/2/07 7:54 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
I don't have enough superlatives to praise your triumph! This is a museum worthy piece, you look smashing!
9/2/07 9:35 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. This is amazing. Great fit, great look. I'm so impressed that you drafted this yourself. Congratulations on a job well-done.
9/2/07 12:28 PM
cindyann said...
That suit is wonderful! You look smashing in it.
9/2/07 1:07 PM
Nancywin said...
Wow! I am totally impressed. I have not done any pattern drafting and it intimidates me. Your dress is absolutely beautiful - and where did you get those too cool shoes?
9/3/07 0:38 AM
moggy said...
Beautiful, and twice as impressive since you drafted it.
9/5/07 6:15 AM
Hilary said...
That is *gorgeous*!!! What beautiful work-the fabric is lovely and the suit looks perfectly fitted. Well done!
9/5/07 3:57 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your suit is soo cute and so are your shoes! Great job!
10/1/07 10:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
What an amazing job of drafting! It looks so authentic too!
10/1/07 11:56 AM
Bonnie O said...
Absolutely fabulous! Can't believe you drafted this yourself.
10/1/07 12:16 PM
LianneM said...
Great suit, I'm really impressed. Absolutely 50's glam!
10/1/07 7:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous! You did such a great job with the drafting. I'm currently drafting/ sewing a jacket so I understand about being bored with it by the end. :) Great job and lovely suit.
10/2/07 3:51 AM
Larkin said...
Wow! What a fabulous project! And, it looks wonderful on you!
10/3/07 9:58 AM
FloraNature said...
Stunning! Beautiful fabric, just right for this suit. I've just purchased a length of suiting fabric from this seller, and am eagerly waiting for it to arrive. His fabric seems very good quality and the blends are very well priced but be prepared to pay an arm and a leg for cashmere! [UPDATE: The fabric arrived today and it is first class and *gorgeous*. He also included a woven satin label of authenticity that can be sewn into garments. The label is navy blue with a golden crest and the British flag and reads "woven in the British Isles"]
10/4/07 8:04 AM
Athene said...
Wow - congratulations on this outfit. You look great.
10/7/07 3:52 AM
eibhlin said...
Wow! Absolutely beautiful!!!!
4/7/09 2:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 200747-1000
photo
Review by CatSari on 5/25/10
Read Review

McCalls 6547 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6547 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 59811-1008
photo
Review by Blooms on 1/27/09
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us