SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9865 (Sporty Shirt Jacket)

Viewed 1043 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/07 3:42 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the review on this pattern. Yours looks great. I will definitely have to try using templates.
9/3/07 4:19 PM
lmg said...
Love the pattern and love your rendition. Very chic.
9/3/07 4:46 PM
Grammy Gin said...
The topstitching is gorgeous. Your review is very detailed, thank you. Very nice jacket....very RTW looking.
9/3/07 5:15 PM
Chanel said...
How breathtaking!
9/3/07 9:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive jacket! Nice attention to details!
9/4/07 0:44 AM
nimble said...
This is a very stylish jacket! I just love it and it is one of those items that people won't believe you've sewn yourself!! It looks expensive and classy.
9/4/07 1:24 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your top looks perfect. I have used templates, but never with silk organza to pull up the fabric. Thanks for the tip!
9/4/07 1:51 AM
Morag said...
Awe inspiring!
9/4/07 3:54 AM
Karine said...
Simply beautiful. Your perfect topstitching really makes it. When you narrowed the shoulders by 1/2 inch, did you make any alterations to the sleeve?
9/4/07 7:16 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful work, Phyllis. Thank you for the tip on the templates. I must use that technique.
9/4/07 8:12 AM
Marji said...
Great Jacket Phyllis. Loved all the information on working successfully with pocket templates. Interesting about the stretch on the lengthwise grain. Do you think it was originally intended to be cut on the cross?
9/4/07 9:17 AM
Nancy K said...
I avidly read Marfy reviews because I am hesitant to spend all that money not have the right size. I am not so worried about the lack of instructions, but some people have complained about their drafting. I love your blouse/jacket and it it doesn't seem that there was anything wrong with the drafting, just normal fitting adjustments. Thanks for a great review, and your solution to the collar is a good one. However, I seem to remember David Page Coffen's book illustrating this attached type of collar stand. I could be wrong and I am too lazy to go over and take a look.
9/4/07 11:40 AM
Erica B. said...
I love this jacket. The epaulettes really make it. And the topstitching is impeccable.
9/4/07 11:43 AM
seamsitis said...
I'm surprised you're not familiar with one piece collars/stands. They're really quite common and not meant to be cut apart. But whatever, your way worked too. It looks like you had a little trouble with easing in the sleeves. Do you think this was the pattern or the fabric?
9/5/07 1:40 AM
cathy45 said...
Impeccable work, as always. Beautiful & looks comfortable to boot.
9/5/07 8:55 AM
Sewing Geek said...
Your jacket looks great! Thanks for the tips on the use of a template. I'll be adding this to my to make list.
9/5/07 8:59 AM
Georgene said...
Phyllis your top is so cleanly executed, and looks like the fit is wonderful. I recently completed a Marfy w/ topstitiching too. I didn't think of templates, thanks for the reminder. BTW that fabric is a warp stretch, and is woven that way to be used for pants normally. The fabric is wide enough that the pattern is turned on the cross-grain. The consumption is less that way, hardly any wastage, and you dont have to worry about fitting bigger sizes into the width of the goods.
9/5/07 10:56 AM
MissCelie said...
Until this, I never knew about using templates. No wonder everything looks so crisp and professional. It's a stunning work.
9/5/07 10:42 PM
LauraLo said...
It looks absolutely great, it's beautifully made (that topstitching is awesome) and I love what you did with the collar. I think that a separate band to the collar looks more professional, plus it gives you the opportunity for more beautiful topstitching :) That tip about the templates is something I must keep in mind for my next pocket project. Thank you!
9/6/07 4:13 PM
Tany said...
Thanks for a very helpful review and for sharing your flawless work, Phyllis!
9/6/07 6:01 PM
Donna H said...
Your jacket is stunning! Really beautiful. Someday, I'll sew just like yo....nevermind. Your work is great!
9/10/07 7:12 PM
babydoll said...
this is lovely - thank you for showing us your work. the template information on the blog is very useful.
9/13/07 6:13 AM
supermollio said...
Thank you for a very informative review--and for the additional info and advice on your blog. I love seeing your projects.
10/17/07 12:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Buy Now