Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 9865 (Sporty Shirt Jacket) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1042 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/07 3:42 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the review on this pattern. Yours looks great. I will definitely have to try using templates.
9/3/07 4:19 PM
lmg said...
Love the pattern and love your rendition. Very chic.
9/3/07 4:46 PM
Grammy Gin said...
The topstitching is gorgeous. Your review is very detailed, thank you. Very nice jacket....very RTW looking.
9/3/07 5:15 PM
Chanel said...
How breathtaking!
9/3/07 9:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive jacket! Nice attention to details!
9/4/07 0:44 AM
nimble said...
This is a very stylish jacket! I just love it and it is one of those items that people won't believe you've sewn yourself!! It looks expensive and classy.
9/4/07 1:24 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your top looks perfect. I have used templates, but never with silk organza to pull up the fabric. Thanks for the tip!
9/4/07 1:51 AM
Morag said...
Awe inspiring!
9/4/07 3:54 AM
Karine said...
Simply beautiful. Your perfect topstitching really makes it. When you narrowed the shoulders by 1/2 inch, did you make any alterations to the sleeve?
9/4/07 7:16 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful work, Phyllis. Thank you for the tip on the templates. I must use that technique.
9/4/07 8:12 AM
Marji said...
Great Jacket Phyllis. Loved all the information on working successfully with pocket templates. Interesting about the stretch on the lengthwise grain. Do you think it was originally intended to be cut on the cross?
9/4/07 9:17 AM
Nancy K said...
I avidly read Marfy reviews because I am hesitant to spend all that money not have the right size. I am not so worried about the lack of instructions, but some people have complained about their drafting. I love your blouse/jacket and it it doesn't seem that there was anything wrong with the drafting, just normal fitting adjustments. Thanks for a great review, and your solution to the collar is a good one. However, I seem to remember David Page Coffen's book illustrating this attached type of collar stand. I could be wrong and I am too lazy to go over and take a look.
9/4/07 11:40 AM
Erica B. said...
I love this jacket. The epaulettes really make it. And the topstitching is impeccable.
9/4/07 11:43 AM
seamsitis said...
I'm surprised you're not familiar with one piece collars/stands. They're really quite common and not meant to be cut apart. But whatever, your way worked too. It looks like you had a little trouble with easing in the sleeves. Do you think this was the pattern or the fabric?
9/5/07 1:40 AM
cathy45 said...
Impeccable work, as always. Beautiful & looks comfortable to boot.
9/5/07 8:55 AM
Sewing Geek said...
Your jacket looks great! Thanks for the tips on the use of a template. I'll be adding this to my to make list.
9/5/07 8:59 AM
Georgene said...
Phyllis your top is so cleanly executed, and looks like the fit is wonderful. I recently completed a Marfy w/ topstitiching too. I didn't think of templates, thanks for the reminder. BTW that fabric is a warp stretch, and is woven that way to be used for pants normally. The fabric is wide enough that the pattern is turned on the cross-grain. The consumption is less that way, hardly any wastage, and you dont have to worry about fitting bigger sizes into the width of the goods.
9/5/07 10:56 AM
MissCelie said...
Until this, I never knew about using templates. No wonder everything looks so crisp and professional. It's a stunning work.
9/5/07 10:42 PM
LauraLo said...
It looks absolutely great, it's beautifully made (that topstitching is awesome) and I love what you did with the collar. I think that a separate band to the collar looks more professional, plus it gives you the opportunity for more beautiful topstitching :) That tip about the templates is something I must keep in mind for my next pocket project. Thank you!
9/6/07 4:13 PM
Tany said...
Thanks for a very helpful review and for sharing your flawless work, Phyllis!
9/6/07 6:01 PM
Donna H said...
Your jacket is stunning! Really beautiful. Someday, I'll sew just like yo....nevermind. Your work is great!
9/10/07 7:12 PM
babydoll said...
this is lovely - thank you for showing us your work. the template information on the blog is very useful.
9/13/07 6:13 AM
supermollio said...
Thank you for a very informative review--and for the additional info and advice on your blog. I love seeing your projects.
10/17/07 12:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5520
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 9/29/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2346 Men's Vests
photo
Review by HeidiBacca... on 5/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7008 Pattern
Burda 7008 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us