Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8402 (8402) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1365 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/07 0:47 AM
Last Updated:9/3/07 0:49 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
What a shame. But better now than after good fabric is cut.
9/3/07 1:36 AM
motomoda said...
Thanks for the review - what a pity it does not work as the pattern looks so nice! Would it work in a lighter weight knit?
9/3/07 2:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
It's a very cute pattern, but I can see why the underbust seaming wouldn't work for someone with a bust. You are brave for trying though.
9/3/07 4:46 AM
Nancy K said...
Thanks for the review. You are such a good sewer, I know that the pattern is at fault here and not the sewer. Good to know about clunkers.
9/3/07 7:20 AM
lmg said...
I had thought about making this pattern. Thanks for the review...I will pass on this one.
9/3/07 9:11 AM
Karine said...
I had the same experience with this pattern as you've described, only mine didn't make it as far before it officially became a wadder. I would not ever need a FBA but it still wasn't a flattering look.
9/3/07 9:13 AM
carolynw said...
Too bad it didn't work out for you! Guess soemthings ar enot meant to be in our sewing world. Don't think I will try this one even though I am small busted - if you couldn't make it work well--
9/3/07 9:13 AM
Enid E said...
Ann, this pattern was a wadder for me too.. I came to the same conclusions you have.
9/3/07 9:28 AM
mary in FL said...
I'm sorry it didn't work out for you. It appears that it's not designed to fit feminine curves. Drat!
9/3/07 11:14 AM
cathy45 said...
I'm so sorry it didn't work for you but thanks for sharing so others (curvy gals) won't waste timeand effort. I agree after seeing it, it's obviously meant for more willowy figures.
9/3/07 11:51 AM
DorothyK said...
I agree that this pattern isn't worthy of your shapely figure and beautiful face. Lucky you didn't use good fabric.
9/3/07 1:11 PM
cecelia said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you--I guess we all have our share of "wadders." Luckily, this wasn't pricey fabric.
9/3/07 1:30 PM
Sadlesor said...
Like the look on the pattern and would never have guessed that the suggested fabric would be what it listed. I agree that something that is as drapey as this needs drapey fabrice. Sorry it did not work out. You mentioned an online store. Mind doing a review of what went wrong? I do a lot of online fabric shopping and have been successful so far but there is going to be a time I'm not; I'm sure.
9/3/07 3:56 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
I hate to say this, Ann, but it's almost encouraging to know that you, too, encounter "wadders". I'm working on something now that I really don't think is ever going to pass the " wear outside the house " test, and believe it or not, while wrestling with what I think is going to turn out to be a disaster, I wondered whether Ann Smith ever had any less than desireable outcomes to her projects. Thanks for review. It came at a very opportune moment for me!
9/4/07 12:39 PM
mewiththree said...
Now this is exactly the reason I visit this site! Thank You for saving other sewers lots of frustration. There is nothing more disappointing than working hard on a pattern only to find it has inherent flaws!
9/5/07 12:36 PM
sewfrequent said...
i just created a wadder with this pattern and decided after-the-fact to see if it was the pattern or ME and i'm glad to see it is NOT me! the "cross-over" portion rides right along the largest portion of the bust which I learned is not at all flattering. in my case i DID use great fabric and wound up taking the long tails off but still--no good.
2/25/08 10:21 AM
annelouise said...
I just bought this pattern & some recommended fabric, thank you if I still decide to make it I will use something drapey. Also I will make it sleeveless.
12/31/10 7:30 PM
Ellen E B said...
I just made this top using a cotton broadcloth in a size 8 (bust) to 10 (hips). I am small-busted and it worked fine. Its not a curvy style but that's fine. I did remove 4 inches off the entire FRONT hem from end to end at the angled hem on both sides because the front portion was so much longer than the back; it was a visual disconnect, looking at it from the side; the front was too long, compared to the back. Also, I'm 5'4", so the length in the front was too much. By doing so, the short side of the angled hem no longer met the hem on the backside. So, to get that better proportion I was seeking, I left the back length as it was and stitched the side seam just to the length of the angled front, creating a nice slit at the bottom of the side seams. I am happy with the result.
6/7/11 5:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-131 Knit Coat
photo
Review by ElsaD on 2/2/09
Read Review

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2750 Lauren Sara
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 3/24/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5899 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5899 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us