SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8402 (8402)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1367 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/07 0:47 AM
Last Updated:9/3/07 0:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
What a shame. But better now than after good fabric is cut.
9/3/07 1:36 AM
motomoda said...
Thanks for the review - what a pity it does not work as the pattern looks so nice! Would it work in a lighter weight knit?
9/3/07 2:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
It's a very cute pattern, but I can see why the underbust seaming wouldn't work for someone with a bust. You are brave for trying though.
9/3/07 4:46 AM
Nancy K said...
Thanks for the review. You are such a good sewer, I know that the pattern is at fault here and not the sewer. Good to know about clunkers.
9/3/07 7:20 AM
lmg said...
I had thought about making this pattern. Thanks for the review...I will pass on this one.
9/3/07 9:11 AM
Karine said...
I had the same experience with this pattern as you've described, only mine didn't make it as far before it officially became a wadder. I would not ever need a FBA but it still wasn't a flattering look.
9/3/07 9:13 AM
carolynw said...
Too bad it didn't work out for you! Guess soemthings ar enot meant to be in our sewing world. Don't think I will try this one even though I am small busted - if you couldn't make it work well--
9/3/07 9:13 AM
Enid E said...
Ann, this pattern was a wadder for me too.. I came to the same conclusions you have.
9/3/07 9:28 AM
mary in FL said...
I'm sorry it didn't work out for you. It appears that it's not designed to fit feminine curves. Drat!
9/3/07 11:14 AM
cathy45 said...
I'm so sorry it didn't work for you but thanks for sharing so others (curvy gals) won't waste timeand effort. I agree after seeing it, it's obviously meant for more willowy figures.
9/3/07 11:51 AM
DorothyK said...
I agree that this pattern isn't worthy of your shapely figure and beautiful face. Lucky you didn't use good fabric.
9/3/07 1:11 PM
cecelia said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you--I guess we all have our share of "wadders." Luckily, this wasn't pricey fabric.
9/3/07 1:30 PM
Sadlesor said...
Like the look on the pattern and would never have guessed that the suggested fabric would be what it listed. I agree that something that is as drapey as this needs drapey fabrice. Sorry it did not work out. You mentioned an online store. Mind doing a review of what went wrong? I do a lot of online fabric shopping and have been successful so far but there is going to be a time I'm not; I'm sure.
9/3/07 3:56 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
I hate to say this, Ann, but it's almost encouraging to know that you, too, encounter "wadders". I'm working on something now that I really don't think is ever going to pass the " wear outside the house " test, and believe it or not, while wrestling with what I think is going to turn out to be a disaster, I wondered whether Ann Smith ever had any less than desireable outcomes to her projects. Thanks for review. It came at a very opportune moment for me!
9/4/07 12:39 PM
mewiththree said...
Now this is exactly the reason I visit this site! Thank You for saving other sewers lots of frustration. There is nothing more disappointing than working hard on a pattern only to find it has inherent flaws!
9/5/07 12:36 PM
sewfrequent said...
i just created a wadder with this pattern and decided after-the-fact to see if it was the pattern or ME and i'm glad to see it is NOT me! the "cross-over" portion rides right along the largest portion of the bust which I learned is not at all flattering. in my case i DID use great fabric and wound up taking the long tails off but still--no good.
2/25/08 10:21 AM
annelouise said...
I just bought this pattern & some recommended fabric, thank you if I still decide to make it I will use something drapey. Also I will make it sleeveless.
12/31/10 7:30 PM
Ellen E B said...
I just made this top using a cotton broadcloth in a size 8 (bust) to 10 (hips). I am small-busted and it worked fine. Its not a curvy style but that's fine. I did remove 4 inches off the entire FRONT hem from end to end at the angled hem on both sides because the front portion was so much longer than the back; it was a visual disconnect, looking at it from the side; the front was too long, compared to the back. Also, I'm 5'4", so the length in the front was too much. By doing so, the short side of the angled hem no longer met the hem on the backside. So, to get that better proportion I was seeking, I left the back length as it was and stitched the side seam just to the length of the angled front, creating a nice slit at the bottom of the side seams. I am happy with the result.
6/7/11 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 2899

photo
by: Sweetiebop

Review
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now