Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2977 (Sandra Betzina Today's Fit) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1375 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/07 1:34 AM
Last Updated:9/3/07 1:49 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
this outfit really is you! (i'm the tailored jacket kinda girl). It looks wonderful. Great marriage of style and fabric. Nice match with the shoes too ;)
9/3/07 1:41 AM
motomoda said...
I passed this pattern by as I thought it looked a bit weird but your treatment looks wonderful and not at all Sherwood forest garb (though you would make a good Maid Marian :)) Love the matching shoes and beads too!
9/3/07 2:46 AM
SillyValley said...
I love your fabric! I agree that the outfit is better on a person than in the line drawing. I know the pattern photo also has a model but the whole outfit is in black - can't make heads or tails of the design. Nice job!
9/3/07 4:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
The style is very flattering on you. You're right-- the shirred waist treatment is quite slenderizing.
9/3/07 4:43 AM
Annette H said...
Gorgeous.
9/3/07 5:54 AM
jlg said...
This is beautiful on you. I love the color.
9/3/07 5:55 AM
ButtonFaith said...
Thanks so much for the review! The fabric is the perfect choice for the design! Great job!
9/3/07 7:31 AM
2BSewing said...
This looks wonderful on you. Nice fabric.
9/3/07 8:13 AM
carolynw said...
Looks really wonderful Ann - love the fabric and yoru shoes seem to match just so
9/3/07 9:06 AM
lmg said...
MUCH better than the pattern photo. Bravo.
9/3/07 9:14 AM
cathy45 said...
Ann, this is beautiful. I would never have seen this in that pattern. Kudos to your creativity.
9/3/07 11:57 AM
Diane E said...
Ann, I love what you've done with this pattern. It looks great on and you look wonderful in it!
9/3/07 12:47 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this. I have the pattern also and am inspired to make it. Your fabric was a great choice.
9/3/07 1:20 PM
cecelia said...
Ann, this is beautiful on you--I never would've thought it was the "elf" pattern as some people have described it. The fabric you chose fits this outfit nicely.
9/3/07 1:34 PM
frame said...
This is just lovely. You saw in this pattern what others could not (including myself). Beautiful job.
9/3/07 2:33 PM
Sadlesor said...
As always you have created another very cute garment.
9/3/07 3:36 PM
Sharon M said...
I hated this pattern when I saw it but this looks great on you. As usual, your fabric choice is wonderful. I just finished a dress with the midriff ruching and was also pleasantly surprised at how slenderizing it was
9/3/07 4:48 PM
MissCelie said...
Beauuuuutiful
9/3/07 9:34 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This looks much nicer made up than the pattern would have you believe. Great job.
9/4/07 5:27 AM
Kellie R. said...
You sure don't look like Robin Hood! That dress looks fantastic on you - everything from the color to the style to the fit! You will have a great time wearing such a fun dress - I agree, the waistline really flatters!
9/4/07 8:07 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful, Ann. I thought that ruching would hide the tummy, glad it did as I got a dress pattern with that design. You always put the perfect outfit together!
9/4/07 8:38 AM
pterion said...
Stunning outfit, so much more attractive than the pattern pictures!
9/4/07 10:13 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I agree that this dress looks fabulous on you! You really made that pattern work for you.
9/4/07 11:29 AM
moushka said...
Ann, this looks so fantastic on you, unbelievably flattering, as the pattern seems to me to have all the ingredients for an unflattering outfit: dolman sleeves, ruching (i.e., bulk) around the stomach, indeterminate length. I'm not sure if it's your nice figure and superior sewing skills, or if I'm just plain wrong about the style, but if I thought it would look as good on my nearly-sixty-ish, size G body, I'd run right out and purchase it! I do love all your reviews. Your wardrobe is one of the most stylish I've ever seen. You may have convinced me to try this pattern after all :-) Sue
3/17/08 4:50 PM
Roxxygrl said...
It's a very interesting style and it works well on you. I have the pattern and have only considered the top, but I see the skirt has potential to work equally as well.
5/2/08 10:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Larisa on 6/26/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7364 COORDINATES
photo
Review by nickelc624 on 6/22/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us