SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2977 (Sandra Betzina Today's Fit)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1383 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/07 1:34 AM
Last Updated:9/3/07 1:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Roxxygrl said...
It's a very interesting style and it works well on you. I have the pattern and have only considered the top, but I see the skirt has potential to work equally as well.
5/2/08 10:39 PM
moushka said...
Ann, this looks so fantastic on you, unbelievably flattering, as the pattern seems to me to have all the ingredients for an unflattering outfit: dolman sleeves, ruching (i.e., bulk) around the stomach, indeterminate length. I'm not sure if it's your nice figure and superior sewing skills, or if I'm just plain wrong about the style, but if I thought it would look as good on my nearly-sixty-ish, size G body, I'd run right out and purchase it! I do love all your reviews. Your wardrobe is one of the most stylish I've ever seen. You may have convinced me to try this pattern after all :-) Sue
3/17/08 4:50 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I agree that this dress looks fabulous on you! You really made that pattern work for you.
9/4/07 11:29 AM
pterion said...
Stunning outfit, so much more attractive than the pattern pictures!
9/4/07 10:13 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful, Ann. I thought that ruching would hide the tummy, glad it did as I got a dress pattern with that design. You always put the perfect outfit together!
9/4/07 8:38 AM
Kellie R. said...
You sure don't look like Robin Hood! That dress looks fantastic on you - everything from the color to the style to the fit! You will have a great time wearing such a fun dress - I agree, the waistline really flatters!
9/4/07 8:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This looks much nicer made up than the pattern would have you believe. Great job.
9/4/07 5:27 AM
MissCelie said...
Beauuuuutiful
9/3/07 9:34 PM
Sharon M said...
I hated this pattern when I saw it but this looks great on you. As usual, your fabric choice is wonderful. I just finished a dress with the midriff ruching and was also pleasantly surprised at how slenderizing it was
9/3/07 4:48 PM
Sadlesor said...
As always you have created another very cute garment.
9/3/07 3:36 PM
frame said...
This is just lovely. You saw in this pattern what others could not (including myself). Beautiful job.
9/3/07 2:33 PM
cecelia said...
Ann, this is beautiful on you--I never would've thought it was the "elf" pattern as some people have described it. The fabric you chose fits this outfit nicely.
9/3/07 1:34 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this. I have the pattern also and am inspired to make it. Your fabric was a great choice.
9/3/07 1:20 PM
Diane E said...
Ann, I love what you've done with this pattern. It looks great on and you look wonderful in it!
9/3/07 12:47 PM
cathy45 said...
Ann, this is beautiful. I would never have seen this in that pattern. Kudos to your creativity.
9/3/07 11:57 AM
lmg said...
MUCH better than the pattern photo. Bravo.
9/3/07 9:14 AM
carolynw said...
Looks really wonderful Ann - love the fabric and yoru shoes seem to match just so
9/3/07 9:06 AM
2BSewing said...
This looks wonderful on you. Nice fabric.
9/3/07 8:13 AM
ButtonFaith said...
Thanks so much for the review! The fabric is the perfect choice for the design! Great job!
9/3/07 7:31 AM
jlg said...
This is beautiful on you. I love the color.
9/3/07 5:55 AM
Annette H said...
Gorgeous.
9/3/07 5:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
The style is very flattering on you. You're right-- the shirred waist treatment is quite slenderizing.
9/3/07 4:43 AM
SillyValley said...
I love your fabric! I agree that the outfit is better on a person than in the line drawing. I know the pattern photo also has a model but the whole outfit is in black - can't make heads or tails of the design. Nice job!
9/3/07 4:38 AM
motomoda said...
I passed this pattern by as I thought it looked a bit weird but your treatment looks wonderful and not at all Sherwood forest garb (though you would make a good Maid Marian :)) Love the matching shoes and beads too!
9/3/07 2:46 AM
hongkongshopper said...
this outfit really is you! (i'm the tailored jacket kinda girl). It looks wonderful. Great marriage of style and fabric. Nice match with the shoes too ;)
9/3/07 1:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 9107

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 4878

photo
by: BeckyW

Review