SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5471 (Princess Seam Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1690 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 414 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/07 1:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
very nice! (as usual) i keep looking at this pattern but i haven't bought it yet. after your review, i will probably buy it next time it is on sale. i have made M4922 twice already. btw, i prefer princess seams as opposed to darts for a nice fitted blouse or dress. it seems to me that they are so much easier.
9/4/07 1:32 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Beautiful blouse. I really want to do a blosue that's all about the sleeves, and this looks like a great pattern.
9/4/07 1:35 AM
Nancywin said...
beautiful blouse! Now why couldn't you have written this review while the McCalls patterns were still on sale this weekend?
9/4/07 1:44 AM
sewsewboy said...
Your shirt is impeccably made, as always. You do amazing work. Would love to see you make this same shirt in an iridescent silk taffeta, perhaps in a bronzey metallic, but with the long ruffled edge cuffs. That would make a very couture shirt. Pure drama. If anyone could do it, I place bets on you. Keep up the fabulous sewing.
9/4/07 1:48 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice shirt. Thanks for the cup size info. I didn't realise this pattern had the different cup sizes included.
9/4/07 1:53 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous shirt, great work Erica !
9/4/07 2:05 AM
Kitty Couture said...
It is absolutely gorgeous, Erica! You did a fantastic job of recreating the Max Azria blouse. That pattern is definitely making it to my want-it list now!
9/4/07 2:21 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful as usual!
9/4/07 3:54 AM
Lori V said...
Great blouse, Erica. I love the sleeves and collar.
9/4/07 7:05 AM
MissCelie said...
Erica, this blouse (like everything you touch) looks like it came from a high end boutique. The blouse is beautiful and I would get it just to have the sleeve detail. Wonderful.
9/4/07 7:20 AM
cindyann said...
Just lovely, Erica. Your collar looks amazing.
9/4/07 7:58 AM
2BSewing said...
Gorgeous shirt! Love the sleeves.
9/4/07 8:16 AM
mochalover said...
Erica this is a beautiful blouse. I hate I just saw your review this morining, I could have gotten this pattern at JoAnns for a $1.99 this weekend. Oh well I'll just have to wait until the next sale. Again, your blouse is perfect!
9/4/07 8:27 AM
Nancy K said...
This is terrific, thanks for the review and the combination ideas. I too find that the princess fits the best. I am a DD cup however, but one cup could be added just at the seam line. I am going out to purchase these patterns!
9/4/07 8:47 AM
Kellie R. said...
Everything you make is fantastic! Add this stylish blouse to the list!
9/4/07 9:16 AM
Levone said...
I love your shirt! The sleeves are not my normal style, but you're right, I'm seeing this in all of the magazines for Fall. Great job as usual.
9/4/07 9:36 AM
krawz said...
It looks fantastic - I especially like the fabric you used here. It looks like you did french seams. Beautiful!
9/4/07 1:00 PM
Linda G said...
Your shirt is beautiful... you are right it seems everyone needs a white blouse this fall.
9/4/07 1:08 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your shirt. Your work is beautiful.
9/4/07 3:25 PM
KathySews said...
So pretty. This pattern is now on my list as well.
9/4/07 8:39 PM
Bonnie O said...
Cute! You're so right that it's so much better than a basic blouse. I have this pattern AND fabric to make it - would make a perfect fall blouse.
9/4/07 9:43 PM
EveS said...
Yes, I considered this pattern too, dang it! Erica, could you please put these fantastic reviews BEFORE the sales are over? heehee! This is a gorgeous, yet highly functional shirt...great job as always!!
9/4/07 10:16 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Well done!
9/4/07 10:18 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can completely see why you'd want to reproduce that BCBG blouse, and you did a great job. Love the sleeves, and the fit is perfect for you.
9/4/07 11:27 PM
Tany said...
Wonderful, as everything that comes out of your sewing room!! Thanks for a very helpful review!
9/5/07 3:26 AM
Huldra said...
I didn't know that this pattern came with different cup sizes. Thank you for telling me, I've had my eyes on this pattern for a while. Beautiful blouse!
9/5/07 7:51 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Great blouse, looks just like the $$$ RTW one. Your work is so precise, wish I could get half that good at sewing. Thanks for the detailed review.
9/5/07 8:57 AM
cathy45 said...
I keep looking at this pattern, but after seeing yours it's now a must buy.
9/5/07 9:16 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous blouse Erica - those sleeves are totally HOT!
9/11/07 8:15 PM
RedGarnet said...
Erica, Thanks so much for your review of this pattern by McCall's. I recently got this one myself and I was wondering how it would turn out. Yours is very nice and I hope mine will thrill me as much as yours did you. Happy Sewing, RedGarnet
9/15/07 7:44 PM
christinawo said...
Thanks for your review. I just bought this pattern and I'm going to dive in and make it!
9/21/07 12:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now