SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5471 (Princess Seam Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1691 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 416 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/07 1:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christinawo said...
Thanks for your review. I just bought this pattern and I'm going to dive in and make it!
9/21/07 12:57 PM
RedGarnet said...
Erica, Thanks so much for your review of this pattern by McCall's. I recently got this one myself and I was wondering how it would turn out. Yours is very nice and I hope mine will thrill me as much as yours did you. Happy Sewing, RedGarnet
9/15/07 7:44 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous blouse Erica - those sleeves are totally HOT!
9/11/07 8:15 PM
cathy45 said...
I keep looking at this pattern, but after seeing yours it's now a must buy.
9/5/07 9:16 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Great blouse, looks just like the $$$ RTW one. Your work is so precise, wish I could get half that good at sewing. Thanks for the detailed review.
9/5/07 8:57 AM
Huldra said...
I didn't know that this pattern came with different cup sizes. Thank you for telling me, I've had my eyes on this pattern for a while. Beautiful blouse!
9/5/07 7:51 AM
Tany said...
Wonderful, as everything that comes out of your sewing room!! Thanks for a very helpful review!
9/5/07 3:26 AM
Karen6790 said...
I can completely see why you'd want to reproduce that BCBG blouse, and you did a great job. Love the sleeves, and the fit is perfect for you.
9/4/07 11:27 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Well done!
9/4/07 10:18 PM
EveS said...
Yes, I considered this pattern too, dang it! Erica, could you please put these fantastic reviews BEFORE the sales are over? heehee! This is a gorgeous, yet highly functional shirt...great job as always!!
9/4/07 10:16 PM
Bonnie O said...
Cute! You're so right that it's so much better than a basic blouse. I have this pattern AND fabric to make it - would make a perfect fall blouse.
9/4/07 9:43 PM
KathySews said...
So pretty. This pattern is now on my list as well.
9/4/07 8:39 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your shirt. Your work is beautiful.
9/4/07 3:25 PM
Linda G said...
Your shirt is beautiful... you are right it seems everyone needs a white blouse this fall.
9/4/07 1:08 PM
krawz said...
It looks fantastic - I especially like the fabric you used here. It looks like you did french seams. Beautiful!
9/4/07 1:00 PM
Levone said...
I love your shirt! The sleeves are not my normal style, but you're right, I'm seeing this in all of the magazines for Fall. Great job as usual.
9/4/07 9:36 AM
Kellie R. said...
Everything you make is fantastic! Add this stylish blouse to the list!
9/4/07 9:16 AM
Nancy K said...
This is terrific, thanks for the review and the combination ideas. I too find that the princess fits the best. I am a DD cup however, but one cup could be added just at the seam line. I am going out to purchase these patterns!
9/4/07 8:47 AM
mochalover said...
Erica this is a beautiful blouse. I hate I just saw your review this morining, I could have gotten this pattern at JoAnns for a $1.99 this weekend. Oh well I'll just have to wait until the next sale. Again, your blouse is perfect!
9/4/07 8:27 AM
2BSewing said...
Gorgeous shirt! Love the sleeves.
9/4/07 8:16 AM
cindyann said...
Just lovely, Erica. Your collar looks amazing.
9/4/07 7:58 AM
MissCelie said...
Erica, this blouse (like everything you touch) looks like it came from a high end boutique. The blouse is beautiful and I would get it just to have the sleeve detail. Wonderful.
9/4/07 7:20 AM
Lori V said...
Great blouse, Erica. I love the sleeves and collar.
9/4/07 7:05 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful as usual!
9/4/07 3:54 AM
Kitty Couture said...
It is absolutely gorgeous, Erica! You did a fantastic job of recreating the Max Azria blouse. That pattern is definitely making it to my want-it list now!
9/4/07 2:21 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous shirt, great work Erica !
9/4/07 2:05 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice shirt. Thanks for the cup size info. I didn't realise this pattern had the different cup sizes included.
9/4/07 1:53 AM
sewsewboy said...
Your shirt is impeccably made, as always. You do amazing work. Would love to see you make this same shirt in an iridescent silk taffeta, perhaps in a bronzey metallic, but with the long ruffled edge cuffs. That would make a very couture shirt. Pure drama. If anyone could do it, I place bets on you. Keep up the fabulous sewing.
9/4/07 1:48 AM
Nancywin said...
beautiful blouse! Now why couldn't you have written this review while the McCalls patterns were still on sale this weekend?
9/4/07 1:44 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Beautiful blouse. I really want to do a blosue that's all about the sleeves, and this looks like a great pattern.
9/4/07 1:35 AM
didda said...
very nice! (as usual) i keep looking at this pattern but i haven't bought it yet. after your review, i will probably buy it next time it is on sale. i have made M4922 twice already. btw, i prefer princess seams as opposed to darts for a nice fitted blouse or dress. it seems to me that they are so much easier.
9/4/07 1:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

More Info