SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5471 (Princess Seam Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1690 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 415 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/07 1:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
very nice! (as usual) i keep looking at this pattern but i haven't bought it yet. after your review, i will probably buy it next time it is on sale. i have made M4922 twice already. btw, i prefer princess seams as opposed to darts for a nice fitted blouse or dress. it seems to me that they are so much easier.
9/4/07 1:32 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Beautiful blouse. I really want to do a blosue that's all about the sleeves, and this looks like a great pattern.
9/4/07 1:35 AM
Nancywin said...
beautiful blouse! Now why couldn't you have written this review while the McCalls patterns were still on sale this weekend?
9/4/07 1:44 AM
sewsewboy said...
Your shirt is impeccably made, as always. You do amazing work. Would love to see you make this same shirt in an iridescent silk taffeta, perhaps in a bronzey metallic, but with the long ruffled edge cuffs. That would make a very couture shirt. Pure drama. If anyone could do it, I place bets on you. Keep up the fabulous sewing.
9/4/07 1:48 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice shirt. Thanks for the cup size info. I didn't realise this pattern had the different cup sizes included.
9/4/07 1:53 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous shirt, great work Erica !
9/4/07 2:05 AM
Kitty Couture said...
It is absolutely gorgeous, Erica! You did a fantastic job of recreating the Max Azria blouse. That pattern is definitely making it to my want-it list now!
9/4/07 2:21 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful as usual!
9/4/07 3:54 AM
Lori V said...
Great blouse, Erica. I love the sleeves and collar.
9/4/07 7:05 AM
MissCelie said...
Erica, this blouse (like everything you touch) looks like it came from a high end boutique. The blouse is beautiful and I would get it just to have the sleeve detail. Wonderful.
9/4/07 7:20 AM
cindyann said...
Just lovely, Erica. Your collar looks amazing.
9/4/07 7:58 AM
2BSewing said...
Gorgeous shirt! Love the sleeves.
9/4/07 8:16 AM
mochalover said...
Erica this is a beautiful blouse. I hate I just saw your review this morining, I could have gotten this pattern at JoAnns for a $1.99 this weekend. Oh well I'll just have to wait until the next sale. Again, your blouse is perfect!
9/4/07 8:27 AM
Nancy K said...
This is terrific, thanks for the review and the combination ideas. I too find that the princess fits the best. I am a DD cup however, but one cup could be added just at the seam line. I am going out to purchase these patterns!
9/4/07 8:47 AM
Kellie R. said...
Everything you make is fantastic! Add this stylish blouse to the list!
9/4/07 9:16 AM
Levone said...
I love your shirt! The sleeves are not my normal style, but you're right, I'm seeing this in all of the magazines for Fall. Great job as usual.
9/4/07 9:36 AM
krawz said...
It looks fantastic - I especially like the fabric you used here. It looks like you did french seams. Beautiful!
9/4/07 1:00 PM
Linda G said...
Your shirt is beautiful... you are right it seems everyone needs a white blouse this fall.
9/4/07 1:08 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your shirt. Your work is beautiful.
9/4/07 3:25 PM
KathySews said...
So pretty. This pattern is now on my list as well.
9/4/07 8:39 PM
Bonnie O said...
Cute! You're so right that it's so much better than a basic blouse. I have this pattern AND fabric to make it - would make a perfect fall blouse.
9/4/07 9:43 PM
EveS said...
Yes, I considered this pattern too, dang it! Erica, could you please put these fantastic reviews BEFORE the sales are over? heehee! This is a gorgeous, yet highly functional shirt...great job as always!!
9/4/07 10:16 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Well done!
9/4/07 10:18 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can completely see why you'd want to reproduce that BCBG blouse, and you did a great job. Love the sleeves, and the fit is perfect for you.
9/4/07 11:27 PM
Tany said...
Wonderful, as everything that comes out of your sewing room!! Thanks for a very helpful review!
9/5/07 3:26 AM
Huldra said...
I didn't know that this pattern came with different cup sizes. Thank you for telling me, I've had my eyes on this pattern for a while. Beautiful blouse!
9/5/07 7:51 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Great blouse, looks just like the $$$ RTW one. Your work is so precise, wish I could get half that good at sewing. Thanks for the detailed review.
9/5/07 8:57 AM
cathy45 said...
I keep looking at this pattern, but after seeing yours it's now a must buy.
9/5/07 9:16 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous blouse Erica - those sleeves are totally HOT!
9/11/07 8:15 PM
RedGarnet said...
Erica, Thanks so much for your review of this pattern by McCall's. I recently got this one myself and I was wondering how it would turn out. Yours is very nice and I hope mine will thrill me as much as yours did you. Happy Sewing, RedGarnet
9/15/07 7:44 PM
christinawo said...
Thanks for your review. I just bought this pattern and I'm going to dive in and make it!
9/21/07 12:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

New Look 6822

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-137

photo
by: sewingform...

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now