SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2000 (Men's Shirts)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1145 times 
Reviewed by:Tessa
photo

 
 
About Tessastar
MB CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/03 3:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Thanks for the review. What neck size would you say size M is in RTW?
3/6/03 5:47 PM
Tessa said...
Kwik Sew M is closest to 15 1/2 neck, or size 40 chest. But note that this collar is longer, as it's designed to fit over a turtleneck etc. DH never buttons his collar anyway. Other KS men's shirt patterns have shorter collars.
3/6/03 7:05 PM
KathleenS said...
Can you tell me what it is you don't like about the sleeve placket? I don't have the pattern - I was just wondering.
3/6/03 7:36 PM
pamela thickens said...
I've looked @ this pattern b-4, but haven't bought it. Thanks for the review. Especially appreciated comparison to other Kwik-Sew pattern. Thanks for a good review!
3/6/03 11:04 PM
Tessa said...
Kathleen: The sleeve placket only has the overlap piece, for the underlap side the pattern instructions say to just make a very narrow hem. I prefer a "real" placket on both sides, and I found the placket folded oddly.
3/7/03 12:00 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks Tessa, that makes sense, although I infinitely prefer that sort to the kind that don't have a placket at all and just have both edges hemmed.
3/7/03 2:47 PM
Tessa said...
I agree Kathleen, but you can always change the hemmed slit to a placket if you like the rest of the pattern. I worried about changing the length of the sleeve edge by doing that, and having the cuff not fit, but the advice in Shirtmaking (by D. P. Coffin) is to wait till you're ready to sew the cuff on, then adjust the pleats or gathers to fit.
3/7/03 3:44 PM
KathleenS said...
Yes, that's exactly what I did in the last shirt I made (including adjusting the pleats) and it worked nicely and looks great. I also did a survey of my RTW shirts at the time and was surprised to find how many didn't have plackets whereas my fiancÚ's shirts all had plackets - either proper or the one-sided sort - an interesting difference between men's RTW and women's (although I'll certainly be looking before I buy another shirt).
3/9/03 6:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now