SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2000 (Men's Shirts)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1152 times 
Reviewed by:Tessa
photo

 
 
About Tessastar
MB CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 66 (patterns: 53)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/03 3:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said... (3/9/03 6:31 AM) Reply
Yes, that's exactly what I did in the last shirt I made (including adjusting the pleats) and it worked nicely and looks great. I also did a survey of my RTW shirts at the time and was surprised to find how many didn't have plackets whereas my fianc's shirts all had plackets - either proper or the one-sided sort - an interesting difference between men's RTW and women's (although I'll certainly be looking before I buy another shirt).
Tessa said... (3/7/03 3:44 PM) Reply
I agree Kathleen, but you can always change the hemmed slit to a placket if you like the rest of the pattern. I worried about changing the length of the sleeve edge by doing that, and having the cuff not fit, but the advice in Shirtmaking (by D. P. Coffin) is to wait till you're ready to sew the cuff on, then adjust the pleats or gathers to fit.
KathleenS said... (3/7/03 2:47 PM) Reply
Thanks Tessa, that makes sense, although I infinitely prefer that sort to the kind that don't have a placket at all and just have both edges hemmed.
Tessa said... (3/7/03 12:00 PM) Reply
Kathleen: The sleeve placket only has the overlap piece, for the underlap side the pattern instructions say to just make a very narrow hem. I prefer a "real" placket on both sides, and I found the placket folded oddly.
pamela thickens said... (3/6/03 11:04 PM) Reply
I've looked @ this pattern b-4, but haven't bought it. Thanks for the review. Especially appreciated comparison to other Kwik-Sew pattern. Thanks for a good review!
KathleenS said... (3/6/03 7:36 PM) Reply
Can you tell me what it is you don't like about the sleeve placket? I don't have the pattern - I was just wondering.
Tessa said... (3/6/03 7:05 PM) Reply
Kwik Sew M is closest to 15 1/2 neck, or size 40 chest. But note that this collar is longer, as it's designed to fit over a turtleneck etc. DH never buttons his collar anyway. Other KS men's shirt patterns have shorter collars.
Pam Z said... (3/6/03 5:47 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. What neck size would you say size M is in RTW?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Sis Boom Meghan Peasant Dress

photo
by: ShanniLove...

Review
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Apron Chic Express

Islander Sewing Systems Apron Chic Express

Pattern Details