Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2000 (Men's Shirts) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 1144 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Tessa
photo
About Tessastar
MB CANADA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/03 3:29 PM
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Thanks for the review. What neck size would you say size M is in RTW?
3/6/03 5:47 PM
Tessa said...
Kwik Sew M is closest to 15 1/2 neck, or size 40 chest. But note that this collar is longer, as it's designed to fit over a turtleneck etc. DH never buttons his collar anyway. Other KS men's shirt patterns have shorter collars.
3/6/03 7:05 PM
KathleenS said...
Can you tell me what it is you don't like about the sleeve placket? I don't have the pattern - I was just wondering.
3/6/03 7:36 PM
pamela thickens said...
I've looked @ this pattern b-4, but haven't bought it. Thanks for the review. Especially appreciated comparison to other Kwik-Sew pattern. Thanks for a good review!
3/6/03 11:04 PM
Tessa said...
Kathleen: The sleeve placket only has the overlap piece, for the underlap side the pattern instructions say to just make a very narrow hem. I prefer a "real" placket on both sides, and I found the placket folded oddly.
3/7/03 12:00 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks Tessa, that makes sense, although I infinitely prefer that sort to the kind that don't have a placket at all and just have both edges hemmed.
3/7/03 2:47 PM
Tessa said...
I agree Kathleen, but you can always change the hemmed slit to a placket if you like the rest of the pattern. I worried about changing the length of the sleeve edge by doing that, and having the cuff not fit, but the advice in Shirtmaking (by D. P. Coffin) is to wait till you're ready to sew the cuff on, then adjust the pleats or gathers to fit.
3/7/03 3:44 PM
KathleenS said...
Yes, that's exactly what I did in the last shirt I made (including adjusting the pleats) and it worked nicely and looks great. I also did a survey of my RTW shirts at the time and was surprised to find how many didn't have plackets whereas my fiancÚ's shirts all had plackets - either proper or the one-sided sort - an interesting difference between men's RTW and women's (although I'll certainly be looking before I buy another shirt).
3/9/03 6:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-01
photo
Review by Deepika on 7/14/11
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2445 loungepants
photo
Review by JuliaS on 1/11/07
Read Review

Butterick 5814 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5814 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5416 Pattern( Size 1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 5416 Pattern( Size 1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us