SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5079 

6 more reviews
Viewed 1865 times 
Reviewed by:Melody
photo

 
 
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/07 5:05 PM
Last Updated:9/6/07 5:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carnelian said...
So well fitted and so flattering! Wow!
9/6/07 5:12 PM
michellep74 said...
Love your dress. Your waist looks so tiny!
9/6/07 5:51 PM
kathleen1304 said...
This dress is perfect for you in every way. Nice work on the FBA. And good ideas for shortcuts. A+!
9/6/07 6:02 PM
PegL said...
Melody, your dress looks great! Great review too!
9/6/07 6:31 PM
Sewliz said...
Beautiful! I love how the print looks in the twist.
9/6/07 6:57 PM
Kellie R. said...
You look GREAT! I love the fabric and the style! Great job!
9/6/07 7:15 PM
RobinE said...
Love it! It is so flattering on you :)
9/6/07 7:41 PM
ginaT said...
You look fantastic....i love it!
9/6/07 7:53 PM
coolobreeze said...
Lovely.... Is this fabric from your store?
9/6/07 8:22 PM
Linda G said...
YOur dress is very beautiful...nice review.
9/6/07 8:24 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful! I like the fabric you choose and I'm glad you figured out the FBA so I don't have too, LOL! It's a flattering dress on you, I hope you make yourself more.
9/6/07 8:27 PM
Erica B. said...
You did such a great job on the alterations... the fit is superb! Love it!
9/6/07 8:50 PM
Melody said...
Coolobreeze, yup it's a Fashionista Fabric in the flesh. I'm working on a SWAP with these colors for the fall/winter.
9/6/07 8:56 PM
MissCelie said...
I hate this phrase, but it really applies here. That dress it HOT.
9/6/07 9:14 PM
Melody said...
oops double post
9/6/07 9:16 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, what timing. I just bought this pattern today. Your version looks great. Be careful you don't cause any accidents.
9/6/07 10:16 PM
April K said...
Looks so great! I definitely want this pattern now.
9/6/07 10:33 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Completely off the hook. Great Job. LOVE this pattern. Thank you for forcing me to buy more fabric and a new pattern.
9/6/07 11:36 PM
3kids1036 said...
This is on my list! Your's looks FANTASTIC!!!
9/7/07 0:35 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wow, that is one gorgeous dress Melody! I have been drooling at some of the fabrics on your site.
9/7/07 2:57 AM
moss said...
So chic! It looks fantastic!!
9/7/07 8:28 AM
valerie sews said...
You look hot hot hot! I've got to get me this pattern.
9/7/07 9:04 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous looking dress!
9/7/07 11:11 AM
Grammy Gin said...
This dress looks stunning on you. Nicejob & detailed report. Thanks.
9/7/07 11:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Great dress and great review. I love your info on the fba on your blog. I need to do this and so I am happy that you figured out how to do it first! I was looking for a pattern for a little black dress and I think I found it!
9/7/07 3:36 PM
angie.a said...
Beautiful dress Melody!! I like the 3/4 sleeves too :D
9/8/07 11:45 AM
ChristineX said...
Wow, that is a hot dress!! =) I hope you make more!!
9/8/07 11:54 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I have been admiring this pattern. Your dress looks beautiful!
9/8/07 4:58 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Gorgeous and WOW!!
9/8/07 9:14 PM
Levone said...
Fabulous looking dress! It looks great on you....love your fabric also.
9/8/07 11:13 PM
michellep74 said...
I just picked up this pattern at the JoAnn's sale this weekend because I love your version so much. We have similar figures, and if my version looks even half as good on me as yours does on you, I'll be ecstatic!
9/10/07 5:57 PM
jillnjosh said...
Hi Melody. I don't suppose you could get your hubby to take more pictures of you in the dress, could you? Would love to see it from other angles. Bought the pattern tonight when I realized it was on sale. Jill
9/12/07 0:14 AM
ibbizy said...
The dress looks beautiful. I am picking up my hobby again of sewing. I saw this pattern and fell in love with the dress. Thank you so much for your helpful hints, particularly the fba. I can't wait to sew this one!
10/17/07 7:06 PM
Mimi_the_mad_sewer said...
Oooh, this looks gorgeous! I was considering making this dress in some red jersey for Christmas, and now I think I will make it for sure. It looks great, and I'm glad that the front-drape bit isn't too difficult. Thanks for a great review!
10/19/07 12:41 PM
AngelaD said...
Cute, cute, cute. Thanks for posting the fba photos on your blog. That's very helpful! It looks great on you.
10/26/07 9:10 PM
ibbizy said...
Thank you for the review. I am starting to sew again after not sewing for about 20 years!! You reviews have really gotten my motor started!!
10/26/07 9:47 PM
g mcgregor said...
That is fantastic!!! Wow, I'm looking for a really great pattern to make a red dress out of, and that fabulous number of yours just might be the ticket! Thanks for the tip on the zipper too.
12/13/07 5:45 PM
Cody7 said...
I love this dress on you. I have been looking for another knit dress to try. After seeing the lovely job you have done on this I am off to buy this pattern.
1/9/08 2:16 AM
kim*brown said...
I love this on you. It's good to know it works on full busts, I always have problems in the area. Great job!
2/20/08 10:28 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I just picked this pattern up. You are the second reviewer to say that they omitted the zipper, and any time I can avoid zippers, I do, so I really appreciate the heads-up! It's a beautiful dress. You did a marvelous job- it enhances your figure beautifully.
9/11/08 3:34 PM
anwen said...
Wow, the dress (and you) looks awesome!
10/2/08 5:32 PM
dingyadi said...
I'm thinking about this pattern and you have inspired me! This dress looks sensational on you. Beautiful job and fabric choice
10/10/08 9:17 AM
AliciaNoel said...
This dress looks great on you!!
10/22/08 3:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8835

photo
by: Graca

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now