SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5079 

6 more reviews
Viewed 1865 times 
Reviewed by:Melody
photo

 
 
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/07 5:05 PM
Last Updated:9/6/07 5:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carnelian said...
So well fitted and so flattering! Wow!
9/6/07 5:12 PM
michellep74 said...
Love your dress. Your waist looks so tiny!
9/6/07 5:51 PM
kathleen1304 said...
This dress is perfect for you in every way. Nice work on the FBA. And good ideas for shortcuts. A+!
9/6/07 6:02 PM
PegL said...
Melody, your dress looks great! Great review too!
9/6/07 6:31 PM
Sewliz said...
Beautiful! I love how the print looks in the twist.
9/6/07 6:57 PM
Kellie R. said...
You look GREAT! I love the fabric and the style! Great job!
9/6/07 7:15 PM
RobinE said...
Love it! It is so flattering on you :)
9/6/07 7:41 PM
ginaT said...
You look fantastic....i love it!
9/6/07 7:53 PM
coolobreeze said...
Lovely.... Is this fabric from your store?
9/6/07 8:22 PM
Linda G said...
YOur dress is very beautiful...nice review.
9/6/07 8:24 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful! I like the fabric you choose and I'm glad you figured out the FBA so I don't have too, LOL! It's a flattering dress on you, I hope you make yourself more.
9/6/07 8:27 PM
Erica B. said...
You did such a great job on the alterations... the fit is superb! Love it!
9/6/07 8:50 PM
Melody said...
Coolobreeze, yup it's a Fashionista Fabric in the flesh. I'm working on a SWAP with these colors for the fall/winter.
9/6/07 8:56 PM
MissCelie said...
I hate this phrase, but it really applies here. That dress it HOT.
9/6/07 9:14 PM
Melody said...
oops double post
9/6/07 9:16 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, what timing. I just bought this pattern today. Your version looks great. Be careful you don't cause any accidents.
9/6/07 10:16 PM
April K said...
Looks so great! I definitely want this pattern now.
9/6/07 10:33 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Completely off the hook. Great Job. LOVE this pattern. Thank you for forcing me to buy more fabric and a new pattern.
9/6/07 11:36 PM
3kids1036 said...
This is on my list! Your's looks FANTASTIC!!!
9/7/07 0:35 AM
Vonnevo said...
Wow, that is one gorgeous dress Melody! I have been drooling at some of the fabrics on your site.
9/7/07 2:57 AM
moss said...
So chic! It looks fantastic!!
9/7/07 8:28 AM
valerie sews said...
You look hot hot hot! I've got to get me this pattern.
9/7/07 9:04 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous looking dress!
9/7/07 11:11 AM
Grammy Gin said...
This dress looks stunning on you. Nicejob & detailed report. Thanks.
9/7/07 11:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Great dress and great review. I love your info on the fba on your blog. I need to do this and so I am happy that you figured out how to do it first! I was looking for a pattern for a little black dress and I think I found it!
9/7/07 3:36 PM
angie.a said...
Beautiful dress Melody!! I like the 3/4 sleeves too :D
9/8/07 11:45 AM
ChristineX said...
Wow, that is a hot dress!! =) I hope you make more!!
9/8/07 11:54 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I have been admiring this pattern. Your dress looks beautiful!
9/8/07 4:58 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Gorgeous and WOW!!
9/8/07 9:14 PM
Levone said...
Fabulous looking dress! It looks great on you....love your fabric also.
9/8/07 11:13 PM
michellep74 said...
I just picked up this pattern at the JoAnn's sale this weekend because I love your version so much. We have similar figures, and if my version looks even half as good on me as yours does on you, I'll be ecstatic!
9/10/07 5:57 PM
jillnjosh said...
Hi Melody. I don't suppose you could get your hubby to take more pictures of you in the dress, could you? Would love to see it from other angles. Bought the pattern tonight when I realized it was on sale. Jill
9/12/07 0:14 AM
ibbizy said...
The dress looks beautiful. I am picking up my hobby again of sewing. I saw this pattern and fell in love with the dress. Thank you so much for your helpful hints, particularly the fba. I can't wait to sew this one!
10/17/07 7:06 PM
Mimi_the_mad_sewer said...
Oooh, this looks gorgeous! I was considering making this dress in some red jersey for Christmas, and now I think I will make it for sure. It looks great, and I'm glad that the front-drape bit isn't too difficult. Thanks for a great review!
10/19/07 12:41 PM
AngelaD said...
Cute, cute, cute. Thanks for posting the fba photos on your blog. That's very helpful! It looks great on you.
10/26/07 9:10 PM
ibbizy said...
Thank you for the review. I am starting to sew again after not sewing for about 20 years!! You reviews have really gotten my motor started!!
10/26/07 9:47 PM
g mcgregor said...
That is fantastic!!! Wow, I'm looking for a really great pattern to make a red dress out of, and that fabulous number of yours just might be the ticket! Thanks for the tip on the zipper too.
12/13/07 5:45 PM
Cody7 said...
I love this dress on you. I have been looking for another knit dress to try. After seeing the lovely job you have done on this I am off to buy this pattern.
1/9/08 2:16 AM
kim*brown said...
I love this on you. It's good to know it works on full busts, I always have problems in the area. Great job!
2/20/08 10:28 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I just picked this pattern up. You are the second reviewer to say that they omitted the zipper, and any time I can avoid zippers, I do, so I really appreciate the heads-up! It's a beautiful dress. You did a marvelous job- it enhances your figure beautifully.
9/11/08 3:34 PM
anwen said...
Wow, the dress (and you) looks awesome!
10/2/08 5:32 PM
dingyadi said...
I'm thinking about this pattern and you have inspired me! This dress looks sensational on you. Beautiful job and fabric choice
10/10/08 9:17 AM
AliciaNoel said...
This dress looks great on you!!
10/22/08 3:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6481

photo
by: khurtdvm

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now