SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4092 (Elizabeth's)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1006 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/07 9:35 PM
Last Updated:9/9/07 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
This is absolutely beautiful! I love your fabric, first of all: It's perfect! And secondly, you put so much time and effort into this, and it really shows. GIVE YOURSELF A PROMOTION! You're past "advanced beginner" stage, I'd say. :o)
9/9/07 11:19 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for a great review, & yours is a very elegant rendition of this gown! An apparition at the top of the stairs on Halloween sounds perfect! I certainly endorse Annette's suggestion that you upgrade your skills -- these two costumes are certainly above the usual stage quality! Beautiful results!
9/10/07 0:51 AM
2BSewing said...
Another Wow! I love the jacquard fabric...the gown is beautiful. A wondeful job! BTW...are you using your new 850 to sew these beautiful gowns? :)
9/10/07 8:07 AM
moss said...
Beatiful! Wish I could see a picture of it under blacklight!!
9/10/07 9:01 AM
Markie1 said...
This is just gorgeous. Thanks for the heads up on the grosgrain placement and the boning channels. I never thought of making this pattern, now I am looking for a reason...maybe my dd will want to be Queen Elizabeth for Halloween!
9/10/07 10:28 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I agree that you need a promotion also! Your work is stunning! Your reviews are always so interesting.
9/10/07 11:28 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks so much for your comments! I guess I still consider myself Advanced Beginner because I have so much to learn in the way of finishing and other basics. I can construct garments OK, but some of the basics have been the last things I've learned and am still learning. I think once I have zippers mastered, I'll feel I qualify as more of an intermediate!
9/10/07 1:26 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - beautiful - you have a lot more patience than I do. Great job.
9/10/07 2:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
Oh, 2B - These gowns were made before I had my WONDERFUL 850! I'll write a review on that after I use some of the fancy stitches. ;)
9/10/07 5:02 PM
DorothyK said...
Amazing!
9/11/07 11:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
How could I missed this gown! Wow! I can picture Michelle Pfeiffer/Glenn Close from Dangerous Liaisons wearing this gown! Your work is commendable!
9/27/07 1:12 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Gorgeous, but way past my skills.
12/14/07 6:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
Sara, I'm so glad that you like my stuff! I have lots of fun! I still consider myself an advanced beginner as I have lots of gaps. Once I can get a few more skills under my belt such as welt pockets, invisible zippers, alterations and better hand stitching, then I'll feel worthy of a promotion!!!
12/14/07 11:24 AM
TishE said...
Kellie, you didn't say what kind of boning you used for this project. If it was Ridgeline, I read in Kenneth King's Threads article from 1993 that you can burn the ends of it with a lighter, similar to what you can do with certain types of rope and cord. I tried that on my daughter's corsets and found if I used a Bar-B-Q lighter, and just passed it lightly over the ends of the boning to heat it up, then pressed it down with my fingertips it slightly melts and dulls the edges really well. You have to be careful not to over melt it, or hold it for too long or it burns the fingers a bit. Much easier than buying those bulky bone ends.
4/29/08 4:03 PM
AidenDelanko said...
First off, beautiful gown! :) The fabric choice is lovely and, yes, quite dramatic! Second, I made this dress a few months ago and noticed problems with the sleeves and the neck band. The top of the bodice piece was far too tight, the neckline was too baggy, and the sleeves looked about 6 sizes too big, despite being the "right" size. Did you have any problems with this? Btw, The lace looks lovely. :)
10/12/09 0:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: annie11

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now