Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4092 (Elizabeth's) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 998 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo
About Kellie R.starstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/07 9:35 PM
Last Updated:9/9/07 9:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
This is absolutely beautiful! I love your fabric, first of all: It's perfect! And secondly, you put so much time and effort into this, and it really shows. GIVE YOURSELF A PROMOTION! You're past "advanced beginner" stage, I'd say. :o)
9/9/07 11:19 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for a great review, & yours is a very elegant rendition of this gown! An apparition at the top of the stairs on Halloween sounds perfect! I certainly endorse Annette's suggestion that you upgrade your skills -- these two costumes are certainly above the usual stage quality! Beautiful results!
9/10/07 0:51 AM
2BSewing said...
Another Wow! I love the jacquard fabric...the gown is beautiful. A wondeful job! BTW...are you using your new 850 to sew these beautiful gowns? :)
9/10/07 8:07 AM
moss said...
Beatiful! Wish I could see a picture of it under blacklight!!
9/10/07 9:01 AM
Markie1 said...
This is just gorgeous. Thanks for the heads up on the grosgrain placement and the boning channels. I never thought of making this pattern, now I am looking for a reason...maybe my dd will want to be Queen Elizabeth for Halloween!
9/10/07 10:28 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I agree that you need a promotion also! Your work is stunning! Your reviews are always so interesting.
9/10/07 11:28 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks so much for your comments! I guess I still consider myself Advanced Beginner because I have so much to learn in the way of finishing and other basics. I can construct garments OK, but some of the basics have been the last things I've learned and am still learning. I think once I have zippers mastered, I'll feel I qualify as more of an intermediate!
9/10/07 1:26 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - beautiful - you have a lot more patience than I do. Great job.
9/10/07 2:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
Oh, 2B - These gowns were made before I had my WONDERFUL 850! I'll write a review on that after I use some of the fancy stitches. ;)
9/10/07 5:02 PM
DorothyK said...
Amazing!
9/11/07 11:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
How could I missed this gown! Wow! I can picture Michelle Pfeiffer/Glenn Close from Dangerous Liaisons wearing this gown! Your work is commendable!
9/27/07 1:12 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Gorgeous, but way past my skills.
12/14/07 6:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
Sara, I'm so glad that you like my stuff! I have lots of fun! I still consider myself an advanced beginner as I have lots of gaps. Once I can get a few more skills under my belt such as welt pockets, invisible zippers, alterations and better hand stitching, then I'll feel worthy of a promotion!!!
12/14/07 11:24 AM
TishE said...
Kellie, you didn't say what kind of boning you used for this project. If it was Ridgeline, I read in Kenneth King's Threads article from 1993 that you can burn the ends of it with a lighter, similar to what you can do with certain types of rope and cord. I tried that on my daughter's corsets and found if I used a Bar-B-Q lighter, and just passed it lightly over the ends of the boning to heat it up, then pressed it down with my fingertips it slightly melts and dulls the edges really well. You have to be careful not to over melt it, or hold it for too long or it burns the fingers a bit. Much easier than buying those bulky bone ends.
4/29/08 4:03 PM
AidenDelanko said...
First off, beautiful gown! :) The fabric choice is lovely and, yes, quite dramatic! Second, I made this dress a few months ago and noticed problems with the sleeves and the neck band. The top of the bodice piece was far too tight, the neckline was too baggy, and the sleeves looked about 6 sizes too big, despite being the "right" size. Did you have any problems with this? Btw, The lace looks lovely. :)
10/12/09 0:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 4014 Dress and Coat
photo
Review by usbeckers on 12/30/12
Read Review

McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8529
photo
Review by Blooms on 9/6/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us