SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-111 (cape/jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1666 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 103 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/07 7:20 PM
Last Updated:10/20/09 9:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 34 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Love - love - love - it TT !! The flat button is for the inside, behind the lower button at the waist line. I sewed it right behind the large front button. It buttons into the buttonhole that is underneath and holds the front overlap sections together at the waist.
9/11/07 7:33 PM
Tiner W said...
Oh, wow! I love this! Your sewing is always so inspiring!
9/11/07 7:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Definitely a very charming jacket! You always do exquisite work!
9/11/07 8:05 PM
bunz said...
Really nice looking, tho. Glad you persevered:-)
9/11/07 8:07 PM
Leora said...
Thanks for detailing your welt pocket process. I'll be back. Love your cape jacket mucho lota.
9/11/07 8:39 PM
Membear said...
Very nice I love the fabric and those lovely big button.
9/11/07 8:47 PM
Vonnevo said...
oops..duplicate post
9/11/07 9:00 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, I love this. You did a great job and your review is very helpful for all the masewchists wanting a challenge.
9/11/07 9:03 PM
Linda G said...
Very beautiful...two finished cape jackets in one day yours and Vennevos. You did a great job. thanks for the detail on the welt pockets I will refer to that if I get this cape made for spring fall is too short in MN.
9/11/07 9:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Another amazing cape jacket - wonderful!
9/11/07 9:27 PM
xtreme1 said...
Very stylish.
9/11/07 9:28 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful cape jacket. I love this pattern too, thanks for the very helpful review.
9/11/07 10:25 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Absolutely wonderful! Thanks for sharing another inspirational review.
9/11/07 11:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very nice - the detailing is fantastic!
9/12/07 0:27 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
9/12/07 6:21 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is absolutely beautiful!
9/12/07 6:30 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a beautiful and interesting garment. Thanks for a truly outstanding review.
9/12/07 6:44 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, this is spectacular. Not sure I'm up to tackling this one, but I'm thrilled to see how lovely yours is.
9/12/07 7:09 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Very nice. I bet you can't wait for the weather to cool down so you can wear it.
9/12/07 7:43 AM
cindyann said...
Truly gorgeous! Excellent tutorial.
9/12/07 8:15 AM
BeckyC said...
Gorgeous jacket! Thanks for the great review!
9/12/07 8:33 AM
Marji said...
Fabulous results. Thanks for the informative review.
9/12/07 8:33 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm plugging away on this one now. Yours looks AMAZING. You're going to get a million compliments in it!
9/12/07 8:50 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - great job your top looks so professionally done would beat any RTW
9/12/07 9:11 AM
jemgirlca said...
Gorgeous!! (as always) I wish I had this issue. :-D
9/12/07 9:53 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Great looking jacket. Thanks for the very detailed review.
9/12/07 11:48 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL! What a great, detailed review you've give us. Thanks!
9/12/07 5:27 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Your version turned out FAB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9/12/07 7:25 PM
Markie1 said...
Angel-I am SO saving your tutorial to my desktop. Your jacket is (as usual) breathtaking, and sent me on a city-wide search for the Burda issue which i just found. I will follow your steps, but I must say, if an accomplished person such as yourself had issues, I may be in an asylum before I finish. Thank you for your generousity and time.
9/12/07 8:52 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful jacket! Enjoyed reading your detailed review.
9/12/07 9:09 PM
Erica B. said...
This cape is so awesome. I actually tried to track down the Aug. Burda WOF with no luck! But yours is great!
9/12/07 10:20 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful job. Thanks for the detailed review!
9/12/07 10:30 PM
SillyValley said...
Oh. My. God. That is so gorgeous!
9/13/07 1:27 AM
Levone said...
Fantastic job on this and excellent review. It looks great!
9/13/07 9:19 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
WOW ! Absoloutely beautiful, thanks so much for this very informative review.
9/13/07 11:29 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful!
9/13/07 12:44 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Gorgeous!
9/13/07 2:55 PM
Tany said...
I've just finish sewing this cape yesterday! You've done a wonderful job on the cape and on this review! I love your version (very similar to mine which is black with plaid front facings and undercollar) Very well done and thanks for this very helpful review!
9/13/07 3:29 PM
DoggyGirl said...
Oh my gosh, this is Fan-tab-u-lous!! Your version looks so much better than the Burda picture - they need to replace theirs with yours! I've got to go find this pattern...but I'll be sure to use your instructions instead of Burdas .
9/13/07 10:45 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh I love it!!! I have some grey gabardine on order from Denver Fabrics to make me one and I'm thinking of being a little wild and lining it with an animal print if I can find one that goes. I think it will be my most difficult project to date, but I know I can do it! Thank you for the helpful review and so good to have you back reviewing patterns - you're always such an inspiration to me.
9/14/07 3:43 PM
cathy45 said...
A real stunner! I love this cape, but I keep reading how its a doosy. It's wonderful to see it finished--and so beautifully.
9/17/07 11:20 PM
sew obsessed said...
Just beautiful! I love it.
10/20/09 11:05 PM
digs57 said...
Wow, I think you've created a following here... we ALL want to make it now that you've paved the way and opened our eyes to this pattern's possibilities. OF course you want another one: just think how fab it would be in a plaid (mwahahahahah!). On the bias.
10/21/09 8:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 3686

photo
by: Sunkissedj...

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now