SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4079 (easy-to-sew)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1224 times 
Reviewed by:loohoo44
photo

 
 
About loohoo44star
CA USA
Member since: 2/25/07
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/07 7:16 PM
Last Updated:9/16/07 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Congratulations! Great to see the finished product. It's very cute, and definitely someone that you can dress up or down.
9/16/07 7:38 PM
Sic said...
Nice work! Very professional looking! This pattern is on my to do list for the fall, so I really appreciate your detailed review and photos!
9/16/07 7:43 PM
bunz said...
Turned out beautifully:-)
9/16/07 10:47 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Congrats on your first review! Well done and cute vest!
9/16/07 11:24 PM
KathleenS said...
It looks great! You got a really good fit. Did you understitch the lining? That would help keep it inside.
9/17/07 6:44 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Looks perfect to me. And thanks for the review. I have been looking for a vest pattern for fall. Great job on your project!
9/17/07 7:20 AM
Sewliz said...
Cute! It fits beautifully. I like the way you are wearing it with the tank underneath. Makes me want one.
9/17/07 8:13 AM
Irene Q said...
Very nice vest - great job!
9/17/07 10:43 AM
MissCelie said...
Thank you for an excellent review. The vest looks really good too.
9/17/07 2:22 PM
loohoo44 said...
Hmm, I will have to think about the understitching, didn't even cross my mind since it wasn't in the instructions. Thank you everyone for your nice comments and suggestions!
9/17/07 2:30 PM
Tom P said...
Looks great. You can understitch by hand now, if the lining rolling is bothering you. Using a hand needle with single thread, stitch the lining to the seam allowances, making sure not to catch the outer fabric. It's a pain, but doable. Also, pressing with a lot of steam and using a clapper would help.
9/17/07 6:02 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks for the added info on turning inside out. I still can not figurer out that puzzler. Now I have added info on the trick.
9/18/07 11:11 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow!! You're the very best example of a TEACHABLE spirit!! Got "out front", asked for advice, learned, tried, succeeded!! Great!! Enjoy your cute vest & the compliments you receive!
10/8/07 3:28 PM
Mis-Stitch said...
I really like this vest, I had this pattern for a while and I saw a similar vest at Torrid and I was not about to pay $44.00 thanks for the review!!!
10/9/07 6:38 PM
LizzM26 said...
It sounds like hard work but the final result is very good! I have this pattern and your review was very good and with all the details. I really like your vest!
9/16/08 7:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 4222

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Simplicity 2174

photo
by: sunflower2...

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now