Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4923 (Men's Pirate Costume) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 881 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/07 6:52 AM
Last Updated:9/19/07 6:52 AM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
I think your bfriend is very lucky to have you sewing for him. I hope he was duly appreciative. Despite all the headaches this came out beautifully and you have reason to be proud. Velvet has a mind of its own, but it's luscious and I think worth the hassels. As noted on your blog, you can buy a velvet board and press velvet face down to save the pile. I would just steam with a press cloth and then press by hand. Would love to see the pictures of you both in costume. I'll bet you were adorable.
9/19/07 8:23 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks, Bernie. Press boards in the Uk are very expensive and difficult to find, and I'd only be using it for this project since I'm never sewing velvet again! And if you follow the first link to fehrtrade.com you can see photos of both of us in costume!
9/19/07 8:40 AM
mastdenman said...
Your boyfriend is spoiled. The costume looks great.
9/19/07 9:23 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow. That is no costume. That is an EPIC! It's beautiful, and congratulations on its completion!
9/19/07 9:58 AM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations !!! Lucky boyfriend, fabulous coat ! I finally tracked down enough old buttons for my hubby's version of this coat.
9/19/07 10:02 AM
crisford said...
Wow! You both look awesome! He owes you big-time, too. Congratulations on completing this.
9/19/07 11:16 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ahoy, sewing wench! Yer cap'n be a lucky sailor, indeed. Nice job! You deserve a big vessel of grog.
9/19/07 11:32 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice, indeed. I agree -- that's no costume! :o) Beautiful fabrics and workmanship. (I'd have to agree with you on the velvet thing though. :o)
9/19/07 12:25 PM
bunz said...
Wow! Kudos for finishing -- that really takes grit:-) Did you couch all that gold braid? I'm interested in what technique you used for that.
9/19/07 12:26 PM
Kellie R. said...
Oh How FUN!!!!!!! That jacket is beautiful (so is your waist cincher). I lived in England for 8 years and truly appreciate what a great price you got for your silk velvet - despite your challenges, the final jacket looks fantastic. Your party looks like it was FAB! Great job!
9/19/07 1:15 PM
moss said...
HOLY COW i hope he takes you out to dinner and rubs your feet every night for a year! You deserve a gold medal for this!
9/19/07 1:25 PM
Melody said...
That jacket is amazing. He's very lucky and did you know, today is "Talk Like a Pirate Day" Yar Matey!
9/19/07 2:08 PM
CynthiaSue said...
yes, epic. so beautiful. I was wondering if it was real velvet in the picture and it is! Amazing!
9/19/07 10:47 PM
Karen6790 said...
Amazing doesn't even cover what you've done here. I've rashly promised to make a "Jimi Hendrix-type jacket" for my DBF, and I foresee similar adventures. I hope I can write such an informative and lighthearted review when I'm done. Absolutely beautiful.
9/19/07 11:28 PM
janet said...
Absolutely Fabulous! You look great too!
9/20/07 4:41 PM
KiwiWendy said...
Luscious ... though I understand not wanting to make it again. Ever!
9/16/08 0:20 AM
normanack said...
The list of alterations is very helpful, as is the discussion of making a costume pattern into a couture pattern. Thank you for reviewing this pattern -- and I wish I could sew as well as you!
10/26/08 5:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Studio Kat Designs 02100
photo
Review by RenaeA on 3/14/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5666
photo
Review by racehorse on 2/14/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us