Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8300 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1446 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:cleverkitty
photo
Friend of PR
About cleverkittystarstarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/22/07
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/07 1:00 PM
Last Updated:10/20/07 11:21 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mlsews said...
very cute style and color. Was it difficult to add the lining?
9/19/07 1:12 PM
michellep74 said...
Nice jacket--I love the buttons! I just received this pattern from the Vogue free pattern promo and will be making it soon. Glad to hear that it doesn't require much tweaking!
9/19/07 1:17 PM
Soliel said...
Very adorable. I like it on you better than the illustrations.
9/19/07 1:25 PM
marjenann said...
I love your jacket in wool. I made this pattern my for my daughter in beige linen for spring and she adores it!! Great wardrobe builder!! Looks wonderful on you!
9/19/07 1:52 PM
cleverkitty said...
no I just cut out the pattern pieces twice (except for the collar of course) made everything twice: darts, sleeves and cut off the facing of the lining so I can join the lining and the inside facing of the coat fabric together. If you follow directions for a coat with a lining you can apply it to any pattern.
9/19/07 1:56 PM
cleverkitty said...

9/19/07 2:00 PM
Sic said...
What a nicely constructed jacket! Very stylish!
9/19/07 4:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty! And I don't think you need to worry about the solid color. I see nary a mistake. :o) I'm with you on the lining, too. The only time I MIGHT not line a jacket is in the summertime, and even then I really have to force myself. Beautiful jacket!
9/19/07 6:49 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm. why line with wool? The point of lining is to provide a slick inside so your coat goes on without a struggle with whatever is underneath, and stays put without creeping up as you move in it. Do you always wear silk blouses :-)? If you merely want more warmth, you can interline with something like flannel, or use some special lining that's fleeced on the inside but still slick on the outside (your side). Apart from that, it looks really good on you, and you did a fantastic job with the buttons :-).
9/20/07 3:53 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful color on you and lovely jacket. Congratulations on your first review.
9/20/07 5:31 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Good looking jacket - I love the color. It is very flattering.
9/20/07 9:23 AM
staging lady said...
Looks fabulous! Was it tricky? Staging lady
9/20/07 3:34 PM
cleverkitty said...
Hi fuzzygalore, thanks for the advice, I do know all about the slick lining effect. The wool fabric I used is a plaid flannel, very thin like cotton and happen to match the blue wool really great. It has red and royal blue color ways in it. I had several yards and wanted to use it up. I could have interlined it and used the two pieces as one also. The great thing about sewing/design is there are no rules. Chances are I will ware a t-shirt under the coat I'm usually always too warm... LOL‼️
9/20/07 11:31 PM
cleverkitty said...
Hi staging lady, it was just like making a blouse, darts, sleeves, collar, facings and buttonholes. the wool was a dream to work with. The collar you need to take your time and sew slow around to keep it's uniform shape this would be a time at use many pins. thanks for writting!
9/20/07 11:37 PM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful color!
10/20/07 11:27 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute jacket. YOur right I don't think you can buy those type of buttons off the shelf anymore. I have looked and looked.
10/21/07 7:38 AM
marjenann said...
Wonderful fall jacket!!!
10/21/07 8:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 4535
photo
Review by JMarie1962 on 2/29/08
Read Review

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6432
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/13/11
Read Review

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S  Sleepover Pajamas Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6922 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6922 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us