SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8300 (Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1447 times 
Reviewed by:cleverkitty
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cleverkittystarstarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/22/07
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/07 1:00 PM
Last Updated:10/20/07 11:21 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mlsews said...
very cute style and color. Was it difficult to add the lining?
9/19/07 1:12 PM
michellep74 said...
Nice jacket--I love the buttons! I just received this pattern from the Vogue free pattern promo and will be making it soon. Glad to hear that it doesn't require much tweaking!
9/19/07 1:17 PM
Soliel said...
Very adorable. I like it on you better than the illustrations.
9/19/07 1:25 PM
marjenann said...
I love your jacket in wool. I made this pattern my for my daughter in beige linen for spring and she adores it!! Great wardrobe builder!! Looks wonderful on you!
9/19/07 1:52 PM
cleverkitty said...
no I just cut out the pattern pieces twice (except for the collar of course) made everything twice: darts, sleeves and cut off the facing of the lining so I can join the lining and the inside facing of the coat fabric together. If you follow directions for a coat with a lining you can apply it to any pattern.
9/19/07 1:56 PM
cleverkitty said...

9/19/07 2:00 PM
Sic said...
What a nicely constructed jacket! Very stylish!
9/19/07 4:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty! And I don't think you need to worry about the solid color. I see nary a mistake. :o) I'm with you on the lining, too. The only time I MIGHT not line a jacket is in the summertime, and even then I really have to force myself. Beautiful jacket!
9/19/07 6:49 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm. why line with wool? The point of lining is to provide a slick inside so your coat goes on without a struggle with whatever is underneath, and stays put without creeping up as you move in it. Do you always wear silk blouses :-)? If you merely want more warmth, you can interline with something like flannel, or use some special lining that's fleeced on the inside but still slick on the outside (your side). Apart from that, it looks really good on you, and you did a fantastic job with the buttons :-).
9/20/07 3:53 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful color on you and lovely jacket. Congratulations on your first review.
9/20/07 5:31 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Good looking jacket - I love the color. It is very flattering.
9/20/07 9:23 AM
staging lady said...
Looks fabulous! Was it tricky? Staging lady
9/20/07 3:34 PM
cleverkitty said...
Hi fuzzygalore, thanks for the advice, I do know all about the slick lining effect. The wool fabric I used is a plaid flannel, very thin like cotton and happen to match the blue wool really great. It has red and royal blue color ways in it. I had several yards and wanted to use it up. I could have interlined it and used the two pieces as one also. The great thing about sewing/design is there are no rules. Chances are I will ware a t-shirt under the coat I'm usually always too warm... LOL‼️
9/20/07 11:31 PM
cleverkitty said...
Hi staging lady, it was just like making a blouse, darts, sleeves, collar, facings and buttonholes. the wool was a dream to work with. The collar you need to take your time and sew slow around to keep it's uniform shape this would be a time at use many pins. thanks for writting!
9/20/07 11:37 PM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful color!
10/20/07 11:27 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute jacket. YOur right I don't think you can buy those type of buttons off the shelf anymore. I have looked and looked.
10/21/07 7:38 AM
marjenann said...
Wonderful fall jacket!!!
10/21/07 8:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Vogue Patterns 1252

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now