SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 0493 (Cape)

Viewed 1348 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/07 10:21 PM
Last Updated:9/20/07 10:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Liana, that is just stunning-gorgeous-wonderful! And of course, it's done with your always impeccable sewing skills. I love it.
9/20/07 10:27 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Liana, everything you sew is so fabulous. You are such an inspiration. Thank you for sharing.
9/20/07 10:51 PM
Tiner W said...
Oh, I love that!
9/20/07 10:58 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What can I say? That is gowachuss! :)
9/20/07 11:01 PM
Vonnevo said...
Totally Fabulous Liana !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9/20/07 11:08 PM
lmg said...
Wow, just stunning!!. I like what you did with the lining, too and all the construction details.
9/20/07 11:30 PM
Irene said...
Amazing garment, and so beautiful on you! Thank you for the construction details and the reasons for your choices--helpful lessons.
9/20/07 11:35 PM
christine A said...
Wow is that ever a show stopper cape!!
9/20/07 11:38 PM
sewsewboy said...
Like how your cape/jacket has a very 40's/50's swing coat look. VEry old school Dior or Balenciaga. If you make a matching skirt, make a super narrow pencil skirt. The proportion would be great. Full overr narrow. Amazing job.
9/21/07 0:20 AM
Diane E said...
Liana, this is absolutely beautiful. Love your beautiful up-do, too. Lovely work and very inspiring!
9/21/07 1:24 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, I like the design and the combination of cape/jacket look. Looks wonderful on you.
9/21/07 1:49 AM
Annette1 said...
So LUSH, I love it! Your workmanship is beautiful, as always.
9/21/07 1:52 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Gorgeous, wonderful, stunning and so perfectly constructed as your work always is. Really loved this pattern as soon as I saw it, but in the flesh, it is so much more beautiful.
9/21/07 3:40 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, what a fabulous cape, if I thought I could wing it without instructions I'd give it a go.
9/21/07 5:14 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous!
9/21/07 8:10 AM
TrixieD said...
Elegant! You wear this lovely garment well.
9/21/07 8:38 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful cape - and the gloves really complete the look!
9/21/07 9:07 AM
Frosty772 said...
Your cape is sooooo beautiful. I wish I could sew as well as you!! You have the most amazing wardrobe!! Your cape is stunning!!
9/21/07 9:30 AM
Puppy said...
Impressive and unique. I love it.
9/21/07 10:38 AM
marya said...
Stunning Liana! Thank you for including all the thoughtful details.
9/21/07 2:02 PM
moushka said...
Not much I can add, except that you look like you just stepped off the plane from Milan, or maybe Florence! Fabulous interpretation. I think I'll have to purchase the catalogue even if it's just to drool. Thanks for the wonderful review. Sue
9/21/07 2:46 PM
eibhlin said...
Absolutely Glorious!!
9/21/07 4:49 PM
tlmck3 said...
Liana--That is GORGEOUS--and I am NOT a cape fan, usually. I love everything about this one. Definitely make the straight skirt--and take photos of it. God...will you just sew/design/style ME? You are one of my style Icons, BTW...
9/21/07 5:04 PM
carolynw said...
What more can I add - this is drop dead gorgeous - well done Liana - you have outdone even yourself on this one!!
9/21/07 7:11 PM
LindsayT said...
I love the one-of-a-kind details. Very couture!
9/21/07 7:53 PM
Rita123 said...
Oh my, how stunning. This is so very beautiful.
9/21/07 8:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful cape, Liana!
9/21/07 11:29 PM
blue mooney said...
just fabutiful! I noticed the prickstitching right away. that's a very nice touch, as are your perfect gloves! what a nice freebie.
9/22/07 7:50 AM
aunt saidee said...
Gorgeous! You inspire me to try a Marfy pattern. This one is great: beautiful work, as usual...!
9/22/07 1:59 PM
Carolyndh said...
Wow! Very lovely in every way. Nice!
9/22/07 2:19 PM
PhyllisC said...
Very beautiful Liana - this is on my list!
9/22/07 8:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Liana, another stunning Marfy garment! Love this cape, looks great and the fabric seems so right for this.
9/23/07 8:24 AM
moushka said...
Liana, that looks better on you than the drawing! Thank you for the construction details. My mom wants me to order the catalogue just so she can make up the pattern :-) Sue
9/26/07 10:31 AM
Blooms said...
So groovy...truly inspiring
10/1/07 6:12 AM
petro said...
wow, that's really nice!
8/14/08 11:48 AM
Athene said...
This is an absolutely beautiful cape.
9/20/08 10:41 PM
Bevy77 said...
Oh - wow - I want to make this too. I've seen it twice at an ASG meeting ... all I need is the pattern - instruction and some expert help - :)
12/30/11 9:02 PM
Bevy77 said...
Oh - wow - I want to make this too. Yours looks GREAT! I've seen it twice at an ASG meeting ... all I need is the pattern - instruction and some expert help - :)
12/30/11 9:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2011-137

photo
by: olgarosita

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now