SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2005-102 (skirt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 959 times 
Reviewed by:hongkongshopper
photo

 
 
About hongkongshopperstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/07 1:03 AM
Last Updated:9/21/07 4:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
khurtdvm said...
Very nice! I especially like the brown one.
9/22/07 3:40 PM
blue mooney said...
love it in the menswear type fabric! you'd never know the two skirts were from the same pattern.
9/22/07 7:45 AM
Tany said...
Vicki, again you did a fabulous job! I love your new skirt!!
9/22/07 4:23 AM
lynny said...
Vicki your skirt looks great - the fabric and bias detail is very effective.
9/22/07 3:02 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very flattering skirt - I need one now too!
9/21/07 11:45 PM
Heatherrique said...
That's such a sizzling skirt!
9/21/07 11:31 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Sharp looking outfit!!
9/21/07 8:43 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debra Lee, the lining goes down only to the top of the flounce. It is more straight than A line and if I made it any longer it would restrict walking. Also I did not use any facings at all. The lining was sewn at the waist to the skirt and turned into the inside and then understitched to keep in place.
9/21/07 6:58 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice skirt Vicki!
9/21/07 6:37 PM
Leora said...
I've admired the skirt in the magazine but yours looks even better. Nice work and thanks for the detailed review!
9/21/07 6:11 PM
rivergum said...
Fabulous! Best skirt I have seen in ages!
9/21/07 5:16 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely skirt - I really like how you constructed the waist.
9/21/07 9:00 AM
debra lee said...
Vicki that is a lovely skirt, looks great on you. Let me clarify the lining, it is essentialy an a-line skirt underneath, how far down does it go? Or how high did you hem it? And the waistline was faced as opposed to a band, correct?
9/21/07 8:03 AM
Tiner W said...
Stunning skirt! And what a great idea to add lace to the lining--I'll be using that one!
9/21/07 7:45 AM
MissCelie said...
I really love this skirt. I do not have this edition, but someone was kind enough to share it with me the last time a review was posted on PR. I guess I'll be next making it! Love it with the plaid.
9/21/07 7:30 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Sigrid - thanks for that. I didn't look at the German section. I just kept getting internal error. Will try and link.
9/21/07 4:02 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab skirt!
9/21/07 3:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely skirt, great with the bias plaids. BTW when I read your comment on not showing the line drawings for 2005 anymore, I thought "how strange, I've seen them this week", so checked and found that when you click the English version, you see only the 2006-2007 issues, in German (click DE on top of the screen), you see the issues back to 2004! Hope they keep them on.
9/21/07 3:12 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Vicki !
9/21/07 2:52 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Great skirt!!!! lovely details:-)
9/21/07 2:36 AM
Annette1 said...
Very cute skirt! I like the use of the plaid with the bias cut on the bottom. Also like your lining with the touch of lace. :o) Great review!
9/21/07 1:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 281988-1004

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: Gecko

Review
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

More Info