SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2002-119 (Wrapover Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1142 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD United States
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/07 11:43 AM
Last Updated:9/23/07 11:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tearsa said...
I can't even look at this until I do some crunches -- but it looks GREAT on you...
11/5/07 8:01 AM
Tesla121 said...
This is a very cute top and you look great in it!
10/2/07 11:34 AM
blue mooney said...
What a super sweatshirt alternative! You better know that you look smokin' hot in that thing. Have fun!
9/29/07 8:21 AM
Kitty Couture said...
It's beautiful, Cidell!
9/28/07 9:39 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I love it - perfect for tossing over a top, tres chic!
9/25/07 0:17 AM
twistedangel said...
That top looks great on you. The color choice does make it look more classic.
9/24/07 10:09 PM
OP Gal said...
You look ma-a-ahvelous! Great top, great review.
9/24/07 9:08 PM
Tany said...
Fabulous, Cidell! (both top and review!!!)
9/24/07 7:19 PM
ChristineX said...
Burda should do an article on you, or at least use you as a model! You have an uncanny ability to display many of their designs better than they do! =) I didn't look twice at this pattern at the time, but now I will have to go back and check it out.
9/24/07 2:11 PM
Hilary said...
This looks great on you; thanks for the tips!
9/24/07 10:01 AM
Fran G said...
So cute, Cidell! And, you have the shape to wear it! I would have to lengthen to close the gap between midriff & waist! Anxious to see the entire outfit.
9/24/07 8:07 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Good for you for giving this pattern another go - and a successful one at that! Looking forward to the rest of the ensemble.
9/24/07 0:36 AM
svenskaflicka said...
Looks fab! Sweat-suit alternative... Tim Gunn will be so proud! :) I just made a nearly identical top from a 1950s vintage pattern! Haven't reviewed it yet, but the similarity is uncanny. It's Advance 7701.
9/23/07 11:03 PM
Skymom said...
I've loved that pattern since it came out--and never sewed it. Now I think I'll give it a go. Yours looks great, and I rather like the softer ties. Thanks for the construction tips.
9/23/07 10:23 PM
hongkongshopper said...
It is very much a ballet top! Very cute.
9/23/07 9:37 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty Cidell - and you are so beautifully shaped that I am going green with envy but seriously - you do look marvellous in this but it is definitely not for anyone with a figure like mine!!
9/23/07 7:26 PM
2BSewing said...
I like your top...looks wonderful on you.
9/23/07 6:42 PM
Liana said...
This is so cute on you! This could be great with wide leg pants and a dressier looking knit, too. I think you should make more of these. Very flattering!
9/23/07 4:13 PM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely top. It's said before, you can wear this like it is easily, but also over anything you like.
9/23/07 4:08 PM
trinicity said...
looks HAWT!
9/23/07 4:02 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is a classic and looks great! You did a great job. I have some tops in this style, not Burda, but I definitely know what you mean about comfort. It's an easy style to wear! Great review!
9/23/07 3:44 PM
Squeezylemon said...
As always with anything you make it's wonderful Cidell! And of course your fab figure helps too...... I think not only will you inspire me to sew more, I think I may even try to get a few pounds off as well!!!
9/23/07 2:56 PM
bunz said...
Oh, you svelte body -- looks terrific!! You can easily layer this over anything so the shortness won't matter so much.
9/23/07 2:44 PM
MarijaSLO said...
You are so skinny! :)
9/23/07 2:23 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
It looks good, Cidell. It seems that many of us have issues with the low necklines on BWOF patterns. Luckily, wth the absence of seam allowances it is easy to tape the pieces together and check the fit before cutting out the fabric. I'd love to see you make this in a slightly longer length--it would be stunning.
9/23/07 2:12 PM
mochalover said...
Very cute top and it looks great with your jeans.
9/23/07 1:28 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, this looks so nice on you! You'd never know you had jimmy it around to fit it on the fabric. (And how likely are we to find a knit in 64" width anyway? I see them rarely, but ONLY rarely.) Very classy!
9/23/07 1:12 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very nice and comfy Cidell, so much so i dug my issue out...and hey I may just make it too. BTW there is a CB seam...maybe reason for extra 1.25 in back . Thanks for tips using interfacing strips...never thought to do that on knits. This looks really nice on you, wonder if I should lower tie placement if I lengthen it? Great layering idea, extra warmth over T shirts...over gym clothes, chilly morns bringing kids to school. Yes I'm going to trace it now ! :) THANK YOU !
9/23/07 1:05 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow! A truly sexy look--in a feminine, classic way!!
9/23/07 1:04 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm. 19 inches. I think I'd need a bathrobe to cover up the waist if I attempted to wear this to lounge at home after Labor Day :-). Luckily, it looks like it'd be fine with white shoes too :-). Looks great though, shortening the dress version would definitely work for me. And you of course look smashing in anything :-).
9/23/07 12:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

McCall's 5061

photo
by: sewinfranc...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-112

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now