SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5435 (Tunic and Dresses)

2 more reviews
Viewed 978 times 
Reviewed by:Kade
photo

 
 
About Kade
CA USA
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/07 0:17 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
From afar, it looks great. Granted, the bodice didn't line up perfectly, but you can always fix that if you want to. The seam ripper is a very popular and well used tool around PR. :-) I use mine often. And if the dress is too low, you can always wear a cami underneath. It would look great with a cami. Very informative review.
9/26/07 0:32 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi Kade! What does "wonky" mean??
9/26/07 0:38 AM
Kade said...
Rhonda, "wonky" means... "just kind of off, somehow". ;-) Em, I should probably have a seam ripper grafted onto my hand. There's a facing inside the bodice that makes it a bit of a chore to modify. I guess if I'd wanted it badly enough, I could have... good note for anyone considering this pattern.
9/26/07 0:41 AM
Sic said...
I agree with Em's Summer - the picture of the dress looks nice. I also really like the short sleeve adjustment - it really fits the style of the dress. And your fabric is really pretty! I use "wonky" too - it's something I think I picked up from a Joss Whedon television show.
9/26/07 7:49 AM
zora said...
What a cute fabric! And honestly, if you hadn't told me about the wonky neckline, it wouldn't have caught my eye.
9/26/07 8:03 AM
carolynw said...
I like this dress - good save on the back neck gaposis. Thanks for such a helpful review and hope you get a lot of wear out of this dress.
9/26/07 8:05 AM
JeanetteE said...
Cute dress. I love the fabric. Couldn't you put a brooch or button at the neckline?
9/26/07 9:58 AM
Kade said...
Thanks, everyone. Jeanette, I thought about that! I've been considering making a little fabric flower or something -- just to cover that extra inch or inch and a half.
9/26/07 10:46 AM
Larkin said...
Your dress is very cute - could a little lace cami help with the plunge? It might dress it up a bit, too, perhaps not enough for a wedding, but certainly enough to go out. Thanks for a great review.
9/27/07 10:02 PM
Nancywin said...
I think this looks like a great summer dress - love the color. Believe me, nobody will notice anything "wonky" about the neckline. It looks fine.
9/29/07 1:39 PM
Annette H said...
A great dress, looks much better than on the patern envelope.
10/4/07 7:00 AM
juliav2000 said...
I tried to make this dress too --- the matching of the front pieces was impossible to do nicely. I've pitched the mess!
1/17/08 0:30 AM
jennikatten said...
I just made a shirt where the neckline was similar. Believe me, I'm the only one who has noticed, even my husband who's an experienced sewer... and mine's worse. If you hadn't said anything I wouldn't have noticed. I think we're harder on ourselves when we made it.
6/28/09 9:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

StyleArc Abby

photo
by: BeaJay

Review
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now