SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5435 (Tunic and Dresses)

2 more reviews
Viewed 979 times 
Reviewed by:Kade
photo

 
 
About Kade
CA USA
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/07 0:17 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
From afar, it looks great. Granted, the bodice didn't line up perfectly, but you can always fix that if you want to. The seam ripper is a very popular and well used tool around PR. :-) I use mine often. And if the dress is too low, you can always wear a cami underneath. It would look great with a cami. Very informative review.
9/26/07 0:32 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi Kade! What does "wonky" mean??
9/26/07 0:38 AM
Kade said...
Rhonda, "wonky" means... "just kind of off, somehow". ;-) Em, I should probably have a seam ripper grafted onto my hand. There's a facing inside the bodice that makes it a bit of a chore to modify. I guess if I'd wanted it badly enough, I could have... good note for anyone considering this pattern.
9/26/07 0:41 AM
Sic said...
I agree with Em's Summer - the picture of the dress looks nice. I also really like the short sleeve adjustment - it really fits the style of the dress. And your fabric is really pretty! I use "wonky" too - it's something I think I picked up from a Joss Whedon television show.
9/26/07 7:49 AM
zora said...
What a cute fabric! And honestly, if you hadn't told me about the wonky neckline, it wouldn't have caught my eye.
9/26/07 8:03 AM
carolynw said...
I like this dress - good save on the back neck gaposis. Thanks for such a helpful review and hope you get a lot of wear out of this dress.
9/26/07 8:05 AM
JeanetteE said...
Cute dress. I love the fabric. Couldn't you put a brooch or button at the neckline?
9/26/07 9:58 AM
Kade said...
Thanks, everyone. Jeanette, I thought about that! I've been considering making a little fabric flower or something -- just to cover that extra inch or inch and a half.
9/26/07 10:46 AM
Larkin said...
Your dress is very cute - could a little lace cami help with the plunge? It might dress it up a bit, too, perhaps not enough for a wedding, but certainly enough to go out. Thanks for a great review.
9/27/07 10:02 PM
Nancywin said...
I think this looks like a great summer dress - love the color. Believe me, nobody will notice anything "wonky" about the neckline. It looks fine.
9/29/07 1:39 PM
Annette H said...
A great dress, looks much better than on the patern envelope.
10/4/07 7:00 AM
juliav2000 said...
I tried to make this dress too --- the matching of the front pieces was impossible to do nicely. I've pitched the mess!
1/17/08 0:30 AM
jennikatten said...
I just made a shirt where the neckline was similar. Believe me, I'm the only one who has noticed, even my husband who's an experienced sewer... and mine's worse. If you hadn't said anything I wouldn't have noticed. I think we're harder on ourselves when we made it.
6/28/09 9:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 6279

photo
by: BrendaJoyc...

Review
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now
Simplicity 2072

photo
by: Elemenopeo

Review