SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1290 (Dress and chiffon pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1759 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 267 (patterns: 232)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/03 2:55 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Elizabeth McAlister said... (9/12/11 12:23 PM) Reply
Darn, the picture link is broken. I really enjoyed the review. Have the pattern and would like to make it. Please can the link be fixed so I can see what your beautiful sounding dress looks like.
Carina said... (7/11/04 6:11 AM) Reply
Nikki, I'm halfway through this project myself. It's really encouraging to read your review! Thanks!
Carina said... (7/11/04 6:10 AM) Reply
Nikki, I'm halfway through this project myself. It's really encouraging to read your review! Thanks!
Dede said... (5/30/04 9:15 PM) Reply
Thanks for the great interpretation of this pattern! I have had it since c. 1993, never tried it, liked the lines but didn't like the Victorian-Goth rendering on the pattern envelope. Kinda put it away and forgot about it until reading your review. I am truly inspired now!
Raven said... (10/17/03 0:48 AM) Reply
very beautiful indeed. you are so talented and detailed oriented. Very wonderful review as well. Thank You
Cattgirl said... (3/10/03 3:21 PM) Reply
The outfit looks great and your review was quite entertaining. I also think your cat and my cats are related. The journal format is an approach I think I'll start to use with my projects because I have a tendency to forget steps along the way and have to back track. This will help act as a reminder. Thanks for using the idea!
Mel.J said... (3/10/03 7:00 AM) Reply
... I mean the dress, but I'm sure you got that!
Mel.J said... (3/10/03 6:57 AM) Reply
Nikki. I love the choice you made with the scarf at the neck - SO elegant! The cut of the coat is really flattering.
Skymom said... (3/9/03 10:59 PM) Reply
Nikki, I've always loved that pattern, and you've done a great job with it. I agree--the flounces on the pattern envelope look cool, but do you really want them dragging through the chicken-or-fish dinner?! So are you an art history grad student? I have to ask because of your ref. to Rogier van der Weyden--I'm a reformed art historian myself, and have always thought Flemish portraiture was a great source of inspiration. Gotta love the headdresses, too!
Everyday Sewist said... (3/9/03 10:23 PM) Reply
Thanks Nikki. I usually take my fabric to a pricey coin-op laundry. But once the clothes are made, I wash in my compact washing machine and hang to dry. If I can prewash the yardage by hand at home, I won't have to plan a special trip to the laundromat. Thanks!
Nikki said... (3/9/03 5:14 PM) Reply
Thanks for the compliments! Betty, we have pricey coin-op laundry, so I hand-wash most of my yardage, unless I have something that I specifically want to shrink. Even when I wash garments, I just use the washer and then line-dry everything. I also never put silk or delicate garments in the washer. IIRC, most shrinkage occurs in the dryer, so I almost never have shinkage problems anyway! If you have a larger dryer and usually put laundry thru the dryer, maybe you could handwash yardage, let it drip out for a bit, and then put it in the dryer when it is still moist but not sopping? If I want to shrink something, but think it will bleed badly, that is what I usually dor.
Tini said... (3/9/03 5:14 PM) Reply
Love your Review!!
CatherineN said... (3/9/03 4:28 PM) Reply
What a successful project you made. I enjoyed the art URL too.
Deepika said... (3/9/03 2:21 PM) Reply
Nikki, love that dress! and the purse too. Your review is also fun to read.
Everyday Sewist said... (3/9/03 2:17 PM) Reply
That is a nice evening outfit. I have a question about pre-washing. My washer is too small to handle fabric yardage, so I read with interest that you hand-washed yours. Do you later wash the finished garments in a machine, and if so, do you have any problems with shrinkage? And how does this work with natural fibers?
Georgene said... (3/9/03 2:10 PM) Reply
Nikki, you journal style review is great. Such an eye-opener into the series of little decisions we all make in the course of completing a project. Lovely results, and I predict quite a few other versions of this for you now that you know how to put it together.
susan s said... (3/9/03 10:18 AM) Reply
You look wonderful. I like the journal style review. PS-- the purse was the perfect touch!
Kitty said... (3/9/03 4:56 AM) Reply
Wow !! I really love your review !! And you look BEAUTIFUL !!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Vintage Pattern Lending Library 8354

photo
by: CatnipMous...

Review
Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Pattern Details