Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: Pattern Master Software (Yoked jeans) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1614 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Mbarkle
photo
About Mbarklestarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 9/26/02
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/03 10:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana Hilliard said...
Congrats on your stick-to-it-iveness! The fit looks really good from the front and side. What struck me about the back wasn't the peak, but the way the pant pulled down at the back waist, and therefore didn't fit smoothly to your waist. I think this really hit me because that has been a great challenge for me too. What has helped is lengthening the back crotch somewhat. (Not a deeper curve...adding about 3/4-1" to the point where the crotch cure meets the inseam, on the inseam.) I don't know if this would change your nice fit from the side, though. Alternatively, it looks like raising the mid back about an inch and tapering to the sides would help a lot. While I am commenting, may I suggest a smaller pocket? You have a nice butt (grin!) and I think a smaller pocket would flatter it more!
3/9/03 11:46 PM
MaryBeth said...
Hey, Mary, glad to see your jeans! Not perfect but not too bad at all. I sure hope you post these pictures to the patternmasterchat list photo album and ask for some help from the list members. Unfortunately 2 of the "resident" experts are on vacation but I can think of at least 4 other people who are very qualified and would be happy to try to help you. As soon as I finish my DH's outback duster jeans is next both for him and for me. So, I'll be crying soon, maybe! Thanks very much for posting here.
3/10/03 1:17 AM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
Not bad at all, Mary. From a style point, I think the yoke itself is too big - placing the pockets at an aesthetically pleasing distance makes them look as though they're hanging down on your thighs... I think that might help with the fit in the back too - the yoke point looks as though it's the "seat" of your problem *giggle* The yoke point on my favourite jeans is only about 1 1/2 - 2 inches from the waistband.
3/10/03 3:59 AM
MaryBeth said...
PS: try re-taking your meansurements. Something(s) very off. Start with your waist measurement. Wrap your waist with 1/4" elastic and bend to each side. that's your natural waist. It will feel unnaturally high. But it's true. Then meansure where you would like to wear your pants. That's your skirt/pants pants waist. Please call wild ginger and ask for help with measurements so you don't get even more frustrated! I'm hangin' with you and wish I could help more!
3/10/03 6:39 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
First of all, the jeans are not bad. Looks like you are almost there in getting a perfect fit. I do agree that you need more room in the back crotch. And the yoke is too big. I would add length at the crotch point, and at the top of the seat. Then shorten the yoke so the point hits higher. Lengthening the crotch point will make the thighs bigger. It is o.k. to narrow them at the side seams. If you look at a jeans pattern, the side seams curve inward at the thigh. You might try measuring a favorite pair of jeans to see how yours compare. Measure the crotch, the yoke, and then the width at the waist, high hip, hip, and thigh. I did this recently and it was really helpful for me.
3/10/03 10:34 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
I should probably add a disclaimer. I have not made jeans before. The information I posted in my comment above is based on a pair of Gap khakis I copied (successfully). :)
3/10/03 10:37 AM
Mbarkle said...
thanks, guys. Yes, my slopers definitely are higher in the back than in the front, so I thought I had the waist measurement corrected. Not sure why the jeans didn't draft that way. (You can see my red panties -- KS Beautiful Lingerie -- sticking out above them.) This is the first time I used a separate waistband, but even with a faced waistband, the sloper waist stood out and away from my back. It was high enough but not curved in enough to sit where it should. I copied the pockets from my favorite Land's End jeans. I didn't compare the yoke size though, just went with the pattern. I will try lengthening the crotch. I am so frustrated with that back dip. I was hoping PMB would magically solve the problem. With respect to waist measurements, my one inch above the belly button measurement that I used for the fitting shell waistline is actually one inch bigger than the place where I wear my pants, because I have definite rolls on my tummy and side. Probably shouldn't have chosen jeans as my first project, but I had that stretch denim burning a hole in my stash. I love getting your comments, I tend to focus on construction issues when criticizing them, I'm still not very good at evaluating fit.
3/10/03 10:55 AM
Rustybobn said...
"Burning a hole in my stash" ! Tee hee! I love that expression, Mary. I, too, am working through PatternMaster's fitting process hoping for great rewards soon. Hang in there!
3/11/03 11:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5488 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by rosecy on 6/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2587 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissyBelle on 8/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us