Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2787 (Vintage 1948 S Curve Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2115 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/07 5:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Boy, does the TRIM really make this special!! Great job, as usual!!
9/29/07 5:40 PM
ladykicks said...
Totally stunning--and it looks so contemporary!
9/29/07 5:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Welcome back, NiceGirl! Definitely missed your reviews. I was suffering from withdrawal symptoms from more of your creations. You never cease to amaze me. Definitely adore your "groovy to the max" dress! BTW: Heather said that she likes your shoes!
9/29/07 5:54 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Love this fabric and the way the dress turned out!
9/29/07 6:15 PM
frame said...
Great review as always and your dress is absolutely fabulous!
9/29/07 6:41 PM
TrixieD said...
I've had my eye on that pattern. Now I know I will get it. Great look and review.
9/29/07 7:09 PM
maryfrana said...
This is a splendid dress, especially the trim. Love it!
9/29/07 7:56 PM
Bonnie O said...
Wowwee! Unusual style that looks perfect with the fabric. Terrific all round.
9/29/07 9:27 PM
Ceri said...
I am always amazed when I see vintage patterns look so contemporary! Great job!
9/29/07 9:33 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous ! Nice to see you your reviews again :)
9/29/07 9:41 PM
Twinkster said...
Well done! And the shoes coordinate so perfectly.
9/30/07 0:05 AM
EdnaW said...
What an adorable dress! Great choice!
9/30/07 2:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
The addition of trim is a great touch. Love that you made a very modern fabric work so well in this dress.
9/30/07 8:23 AM
ladylola said...
Wow! This is a fabulous dress! And I love the shoes too!
9/30/07 9:23 AM
MissCelie said...
So smart to add the trim. Those heels are AWESOME. You look like a million bucks. Beautiful.
9/30/07 9:39 AM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful dress - you look lovely in it
9/30/07 10:52 AM
Sharon M said...
LOVE the vintage style with the contemporary fabric!
9/30/07 11:05 AM
DorothyK said...
Wonderful dress. Great shoes.
9/30/07 1:50 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very nice!
9/30/07 3:17 PM
ChristineBR said...
It IS lovely, as everyone has said. I wonder if the Advanced rating has to do with the difficulty of changing the fit?
9/30/07 3:23 PM
Karen6790 said...
Now that's a welcome back project! I was hoping you'd get this one done soon, because I'm regretting not buying the pattern for myself and now I at least get to hear about it second hand. I love the combination of pattern and fabric, and we really don't need to discuss those zebra print shoes.
9/30/07 4:56 PM
slanden99 said...
What a cool dress! Love the design
9/30/07 5:28 PM
jnamcd said...
Wonderful!
9/30/07 6:34 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I love the contrast trim on the S curve! I've got this pattern but I haven't found the right fabric for it yet. When I do, I'm going to come back and refer to all your tips! thanks so much!
10/1/07 7:56 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful!
10/1/07 11:02 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Great dress: love everything about it. Hard to believe it only took you 4 hours to sew: looks like it would have taken weeks. Thanks so much for review..and I, too, love your shoes.
10/1/07 12:13 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking dress, and you look so stylish in it. Love the shoes!
10/2/07 6:48 AM
JeanetteE said...
Wow, your dress is amazing! I think you should do another in the solids you talked about. And lastly, I love those shoes!
10/3/07 10:36 AM
blue mooney said...
You have been really busy! Great retro dress, and very smart to trim that fab S curve.
10/9/07 9:22 PM
sewlucky said...
I have the pattern, and now feel brave enough to try it. I hope mine turns out as well as yours.
3/11/08 3:39 PM
MrsBaldwin said...
So timeless! Great job!
6/2/08 9:23 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Wow. I would have never thought to use a print for a vintage pattern. Great imagination.
7/15/08 3:17 PM
Lana E said...
Gorgeous! I love your modern twist on this classic pattern. Your dress came out beautifully and you look stunning it too.
12/9/08 4:10 PM
fabricfanatic said...
This dress looks great short, and the trim really emphasizes the design lines. I just bought this pattern, so thanks for the review!
11/20/11 5:02 PM
tigergirl said...
This is such a fantastic version of this dress.
3/15/12 9:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2683
photo
Review by sacmabell on 7/6/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4968 OOP (50s/60s)
photo
Review by gabc on 12/30/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Gore Skirt
Loes Hinse Gore Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8974 Pattern
Burda 8974 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us