Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1103 (Artful Dodger Prudence Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1542 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/07 1:56 AM
Last Updated:9/30/07 4:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca D said...
Thanks so much for this helpful review. I've yearned for this pattern for a long time and now I think I'll yearn for something else. I'm sorry for all the troubles with this, but what a help to the rest of us.
9/30/07 7:12 AM
bluenines said...
im sorry this pattern did not work for you,thank you for such a great review, i think i will just keep away for ht patterns i was thinking of trying one but with all the problems with the drafting on them i think they might just be a bit too advanced for my skills at this time,, btw i like the top stitching that you did
9/30/07 8:00 AM
oracle said...
I like your sleeveless version! I've got this pattern, and haven't had a chance to make it up yet; seeing how good it looks overall on you makes me want to make it even more. I have the impression from other sewists that HP has improved their drafting since they put out this generation of patterns. It seems that people are running into fewer problems with their new stuff concerning pieces not seeming to fit or missing notches, etc. I'll re-read your review when I get around to making mine ...
9/30/07 9:55 AM
carolynw said...
Nancy sorry it did not work out - with your level of skill if this caused you a problem I guess I won't be trying it anytime soon!!
9/30/07 10:46 AM
Irene said...
Your blouse is just my style. It looks so good on you that I thought I'd have to make my first Hot Patterns purchase . . . until I read your review. Thank you for your thorough critique. I think I'll pull out a Loes Hinse tried & true top and alter for the design particulars here.
9/30/07 11:46 AM
Heatherrique said...
Nancy, you might think this top did not work for you, but I am seeing a lot of tops that look like yours! I am wondering if those cutesy HP illustrations are made to tempt us into buying the patterns when in fact they are drafted really differently! I found that my first HP was larger than expected also! There are other patterns worth looking into. Thanks for reviewing this and sharing.
9/30/07 2:59 PM
MissCelie said...
True,true. I got really lucky with my first HP and haven't made up the second yet. I will say it was far bigger than I was expecting.
9/30/07 5:41 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
despite the problems I think it's cute and unique.
9/30/07 5:53 PM
Lori V said...
Thanks for the helpful review. I love the pattern and many of their patterns but will hold off.
9/30/07 8:08 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Oh dear! Doesn't sound like fun. At least you have something to wear in the end :(
10/1/07 2:57 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. For some reason, I can't open some of your pictures, so I can't see the whole finished garment. It sounds like you made some great changes to the pattern.
10/2/07 6:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
They are great looking patterns on the envelope but I seem to always have fitting issues. Sorry this did not work out,
10/3/07 7:17 AM
Mari31 said...
I will join others in saying sorry for the trouble you had, but I must say that you made best of it. I like your sleeveless version very much - it looks very light. I am still going to make this piece, as I got the pattern as well and wanted to thank you for the great review! - it will definetely help me
11/24/07 12:53 PM
valerie sews said...
Nancy I made this pattern up some time ago and had all the same problems. I think the sleeves are drafted to be tight fitting - thought it was just me. And I couldn't get the pleats to work at the back without a lot of fiddling. Like you I still think this pattern could work with complete redrafting, and like you I think it's unfair that it isn't well drafted in the first place. Thank you for your review.
9/15/08 3:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 02-2011-421
photo
Review by tiadia on 6/2/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1537 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1537 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7336 Pattern
Burda 7336 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2615
photo
Review by annakeeton on 9/29/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us