Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1005 (Marfy) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2203 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR
About marjenannstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/07 9:20 AM
Last Updated:9/30/07 9:20 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
60 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
So amazing. The color, the style, the buttons. It's beautiful.
9/30/07 9:40 AM
KathleenS said...
Wow! You're right, it's a really special coat.
9/30/07 9:43 AM
mochalover said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat! Great fabric everything is just perfect.
9/30/07 9:51 AM
TrixieD said...
Stunning!
9/30/07 9:57 AM
Lori V said...
That is stunning, my hubby was super-impressed, too.
9/30/07 10:04 AM
lmg said...
Wow! Truly magnificent. Your daughter should get lots of wear (and compliments) from this
9/30/07 10:15 AM
dbsewer said...
This coat is gorgeous - and it's my color ;-). I'd love to see a picture of your daughter wearing it. I'll bet she'll feel like a princess. I have to admire anyone who can make a Marfy. I have several but haven't had the nerve to try them.
9/30/07 10:33 AM
carolynw said...
This is indeed a very special coat - love the color and the workmanship is terrific.
9/30/07 10:35 AM
Immelu said...
That is absolutely fantastic!!!!
9/30/07 10:38 AM
cindyann said...
That is beautiful! The color is so unusual and gorgeous. Love the style.
9/30/07 10:51 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a gorgeous garment! Your daughter can wear that forever.
9/30/07 10:52 AM
erikagut said...
Absolutely beautiful! So great to see something beyond black for a coat.
9/30/07 11:16 AM
Englebert said...
This is exquisite!!
9/30/07 11:31 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful coat, your daughter will love wearing this. I know exactly what you mean about having no instructions. I am making a Marfy coat at this very moment, and it's much harder without instructions.
9/30/07 11:34 AM
Jan B. said...
Fantastic! That pattern is so cute, your daughter will be so proud. It's amazing that you didn't need to use interfacing. Congratulations on a terrific project--and difficult!
9/30/07 11:36 AM
jessbev said...
Wow Marjenann - this coat is so beautiful. I love the colour, and the feminine shape. You have inspired me.
9/30/07 11:37 AM
Nancywin said...
This turned out beautifully. Don't you just love the Marfy designs? It looks great!
9/30/07 12:38 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning.
9/30/07 1:32 PM
Carolyndh said...
Wow, what a lovely style and color of coat--unusual and striking. What a lucky daughter.
9/30/07 3:26 PM
Kellie R. said...
Everything about your coat is gorgeous! The color... the style! I just love it! Great job!
9/30/07 3:38 PM
Erica B. said...
What a beautiful coat!
9/30/07 3:40 PM
LauraTS said...
Wow, that is jaw-dropping. Gorgeous.
9/30/07 4:00 PM
Reggies Mom said...
Simply gorgeous. What a cheery color to brighten up those dreary winter days. I too would love to see a pic of you daughter wearing it. (I noticed that the princess seams are from the shoulder in front and the armseye in back. Don't think I've ever seen that before....how interesting!)
9/30/07 4:18 PM
Reggies Mom said...
double post
9/30/07 4:21 PM
Reggies Mom said...
Simply gorgeous. What a cheery color to brighten up those dreary winter days. (I noticed that the princess seams are from the shoulder in front and the armseye in back. Don't think I've ever seen that before....how interesting!)
9/30/07 4:21 PM
Elemenopeo said...
You did an incredible job!
9/30/07 4:32 PM
sewbehind said...
Oh, Oh, Oh! That is a pretty coat. Wonderful job.
9/30/07 4:36 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
This is incredibly more gorgeous than the pattern line drawing suggests. Stunning!
9/30/07 6:11 PM
PhyllisC said...
Delightful! This is the prefect coat to wear with a cocktail dress.
9/30/07 6:31 PM
jnamcd said...
Oh my gosh--this is just gorgeous! Beautiful job!
9/30/07 6:32 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can't even describe how much I love this coat. Coats are my weakness anyway. :O) Every single thing is PERFECT. I'll tell you one thing: Your daughter will be in a class all by herself in THIS coat! SUPERB job.
9/30/07 6:38 PM
Linda G said...
Your coat is so beautiful. I admire those of you that are brave enough to give the Marfy patterns a try.
9/30/07 11:54 PM
piggyannie said...
great job on the coat! and the color is just marvelous! I am sure your daughter will love the coat
10/1/07 0:08 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful, beautiful coat, and I'm sure your daughter loves it.
10/1/07 6:10 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
If you need another daughter, I'm available.
10/1/07 6:15 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Words elude me - or have already been used. What a gorgeous coat! You did a wonderful job.
10/1/07 7:02 AM
Sewing Geek said...
Absolutely beautiful coat!
10/1/07 8:52 AM
sarahb said...
wow, that coat looks beautiful!
10/1/07 9:13 AM
crisford said...
Really, really yummy. And I just love how the lapels look so soft and lovely.
10/1/07 2:38 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow -- I think I'm in love with this coat. How beautiful! I bet your daughter is very happy and proud to have such a talented mother!
10/1/07 4:32 PM
EveS said...
This coat is just plain yummy! It makes me want a lemon sorbet!
10/2/07 0:20 AM
Heatherrique said...
What a beautiful sunny delight! Exquisite work for one lucky lady!
10/2/07 4:58 PM
SarahWeb said...
Beautiful! What a terrific result.
10/2/07 5:11 PM
minieme said...
very nice!
10/2/07 6:27 PM
Boo97 said...
Beautiful coat!!!!
10/3/07 11:50 PM
singingtothewheat said...
Very very Nice.
10/9/07 2:52 AM
cmarie12 said...
This is a very pretty coat! Love the color of the fabric and the details!
10/13/07 8:44 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Wow, that is SO beautiful. Very haute couture. Gorgeous!
10/19/07 3:45 PM
fastkitty said...
Excellent work. Beautiful coat.
10/23/07 10:28 PM
CharityAK said...
This is soooooo lovely! Very elegant. Utter perfection in execution.
11/8/07 6:27 PM
/anne... said...
I bought a coat just like that in 1975, when I got my first job. I earned $1.15/hour, and the coat cost $140 - but I felt like a princess in it! I'm sure your daughter will too :-)
11/30/07 10:05 PM
/anne... said...
I bought a coat just like that in 1975, when I got my first job. I earned $1.15/hour, and the coat cost $140 - but I felt like a princess in it! I'm sure your daughter will too :-)
11/30/07 10:05 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
*GASP* This is so very very pretty. Lovely in every way. Where do I sign up to become one of your daughters?
12/27/07 8:47 PM
JaneH said...
Fantastic coat!!
12/28/07 9:49 AM
Elle D said...
This is the kind of garment that draws you to it from across the room, and begs you to bury your hands in the fabric and then you just want to take it home. Any pictures to add of your daughter in this beautiful coat?
1/25/08 5:08 PM
301A said...
I just discovered Marfy some time within this last year and am tempted to try a coat pattern. The 42 size seems very close to a 12 pattern size. I wear a 4 or 6 and wondered if you needed to alter this coat for your daughter since she is tiny. Your coat is very nice. Ande
2/24/08 4:46 PM
susinok said...
That is a gorgeous coat and I love the color!
2/27/08 6:20 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful! The color is wonderful and your DD must feel like a princess in it. How did I miss this before? Great review.
2/27/08 4:53 PM
sara in burli said...
I am thinking of doing this pattern in a light grey cashmere coating weight fabric and your review is very helpful
1/3/09 0:19 AM
/anne... said...
Marfy is wrong about it being a 60s coat - I bought an almost identical coat in 1976. Early to mid 70s clothes were beautifully fitted, flattering and womanly (at least here in Australia). I've been digging out my old Vogue patterns from then, and they're perfect for now. Lovely coat!
7/31/09 11:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4077
photo
Review by Jackie02 on 11/19/08
Read Review

Burda 8376 Pattern
Burda 8376 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6612 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9826 Skirt
photo
Review by KathleenS on 9/10/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us