Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2383 (White Dinner Jacket) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1784 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Philip Kime
photo
About Philip Kimestar
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/03 3:08 PM
Last Updated:3/12/03 4:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan Parker said...
Fabulous jacket. Very sharp, Philip. Thanks for the review.
3/12/03 3:22 PM
Georgene said...
Wonderful to hear about all the insides of this jacket, Philip. Pad stitching does yield good results. Did you put a twill tape along the break line of the collar and shrink it in to get the roll? I am very interested to hear about your NEXT jacket, after you have all this new experience, I'm sure it will be wonderful Would it be too much to ask for the reference to your book set? Perhaps a book review? It might be available through a booksearch or library for those of us who are fanatics.
3/12/03 3:50 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow. Very impressive jacket and informative review. Thanks!
3/12/03 4:09 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fantastic as always, Philip. I especially love the detail photos. What kind of thread do you use for the hand tailoring? -Ann
3/12/03 4:17 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I meant hand pad-stitching, sorry -distracted by a 5 year old threatening to shoot me with his ray gun! :)
3/12/03 4:18 PM
Philip Kime said...
Initially, I tried some basting thread for the pad-stitching but this is too thick and shows up as ridges under fine wool so I switched to a stanadrd mercerised cotton. I didn't shrink the twil tape - I attached one side, then rolled the break line a little to far and held it while I attached the other side. It then relaxed into the right position. The books are a three-volume set called "The Modern Tailor, Outfitter and Clothier" edited by A. S. Bridgland (1928). It has everything - cutting (without patterns ...), insurance for tailors, "modern" advertising methods, special chapters on where to place military insiginia ... the level of writing by these working men is far above that displayed by most modern upper managers I've every met. I found it through Abebooks - a superb antique booksearch site.
3/12/03 4:26 PM
Philip Kime said...
Sorry, the abebooks URL was incorrect, it should be http://www.abebooks.com
3/12/03 4:29 PM
Elona said...
Beautiful, beautiful review, and a very handsome jacket!
3/12/03 5:26 PM
Lou. said...
Wow, this is great!
3/12/03 5:43 PM
cindyann said...
Excellent review!! Beautiful jacket.
3/12/03 6:17 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Superb! I could certainly picture Sean Connery as 007 in this dinner jacket. :-)
3/12/03 8:01 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Excellent review, and I am very impressed with the quality and evenness of your hand-stitching.
3/13/03 0:18 AM
Pam Z said...
Wow! Fabulous jacket & great review.
3/13/03 8:47 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
By the way, Philip, based on the work you do and the excellent reviews you post, I think you should rate your sewing skills as Advanced! -Ann
3/13/03 9:55 AM
Sarah McC said...
philip, what a wonderful jacket. You have been a true inspiration to tackle men's clothing, something I thought beyond me. Also big thanks for the book source you mentioned. I have been able to locate (and order) an out of print english book that Amazon has not been able to find for 4 years!!!
3/13/03 11:48 AM
jojoeffe said...
I'm about to embark on this pattern for a friend, and it's encouraging to see how well it turns out. It looks fantastic and must be rather fun to wear out.
6/22/04 7:09 AM
Modiste Madness said...
How beautiful!
7/4/07 5:49 PM
newlywedws said...
What a phenomenal review, thoroughly helpful as I'm currently making my husband a suit - thank you for the detailed review and pictures - a delight for me!
9/23/08 7:45 PM
SavesIX said...
Unfortunately, the links to the photos have been broken.
6/23/11 4:06 PM
maurobrito said...
Hi everyone, I'm having a bit of trouble understanding the direction of this pattern. Here's where I'm at: Front and Pockets, "with right sides together, pin pocket to the front seam allowance, having raw edges even. Stich 3/8'' (10mm) from raw edges above upper large O and between lower large O and clip, keeping garment free." I can not figure out how to do this step. Can someone help me, please. Thank you.
12/23/11 3:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2561 Women's Pants
photo
Review by SewRusty on 3/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1078 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by AnnQ on 2/19/09
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us