SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2383 (White Dinner Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1786 times 
Reviewed by:Philip Kime
photo

 
 
About Philip Kimestar
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/03 3:08 PM
Last Updated:3/12/03 4:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan Parker said...
Fabulous jacket. Very sharp, Philip. Thanks for the review.
3/12/03 3:22 PM
Georgene said...
Wonderful to hear about all the insides of this jacket, Philip. Pad stitching does yield good results. Did you put a twill tape along the break line of the collar and shrink it in to get the roll? I am very interested to hear about your NEXT jacket, after you have all this new experience, I'm sure it will be wonderful Would it be too much to ask for the reference to your book set? Perhaps a book review? It might be available through a booksearch or library for those of us who are fanatics.
3/12/03 3:50 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow. Very impressive jacket and informative review. Thanks!
3/12/03 4:09 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fantastic as always, Philip. I especially love the detail photos. What kind of thread do you use for the hand tailoring? -Ann
3/12/03 4:17 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I meant hand pad-stitching, sorry -distracted by a 5 year old threatening to shoot me with his ray gun! :)
3/12/03 4:18 PM
Philip Kime said...
Initially, I tried some basting thread for the pad-stitching but this is too thick and shows up as ridges under fine wool so I switched to a stanadrd mercerised cotton. I didn't shrink the twil tape - I attached one side, then rolled the break line a little to far and held it while I attached the other side. It then relaxed into the right position. The books are a three-volume set called "The Modern Tailor, Outfitter and Clothier" edited by A. S. Bridgland (1928). It has everything - cutting (without patterns ...), insurance for tailors, "modern" advertising methods, special chapters on where to place military insiginia ... the level of writing by these working men is far above that displayed by most modern upper managers I've every met. I found it through Abebooks - a superb antique booksearch site.
3/12/03 4:26 PM
Philip Kime said...
Sorry, the abebooks URL was incorrect, it should be http://www.abebooks.com
3/12/03 4:29 PM
Elona said...
Beautiful, beautiful review, and a very handsome jacket!
3/12/03 5:26 PM
Lou. said...
Wow, this is great!
3/12/03 5:43 PM
cindyann said...
Excellent review!! Beautiful jacket.
3/12/03 6:17 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Superb! I could certainly picture Sean Connery as 007 in this dinner jacket. :-)
3/12/03 8:01 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Excellent review, and I am very impressed with the quality and evenness of your hand-stitching.
3/13/03 0:18 AM
Pam Z said...
Wow! Fabulous jacket & great review.
3/13/03 8:47 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
By the way, Philip, based on the work you do and the excellent reviews you post, I think you should rate your sewing skills as Advanced! -Ann
3/13/03 9:55 AM
Sarah McC said...
philip, what a wonderful jacket. You have been a true inspiration to tackle men's clothing, something I thought beyond me. Also big thanks for the book source you mentioned. I have been able to locate (and order) an out of print english book that Amazon has not been able to find for 4 years!!!
3/13/03 11:48 AM
jojoeffe said...
I'm about to embark on this pattern for a friend, and it's encouraging to see how well it turns out. It looks fantastic and must be rather fun to wear out.
6/22/04 7:09 AM
Modiste Madness said...
How beautiful!
7/4/07 5:49 PM
newlywedws said...
What a phenomenal review, thoroughly helpful as I'm currently making my husband a suit - thank you for the detailed review and pictures - a delight for me!
9/23/08 7:45 PM
SavesIX said...
Unfortunately, the links to the photos have been broken.
6/23/11 4:06 PM
maurobrito said...
Hi everyone, I'm having a bit of trouble understanding the direction of this pattern. Here's where I'm at: Front and Pockets, "with right sides together, pin pocket to the front seam allowance, having raw edges even. Stich 3/8'' (10mm) from raw edges above upper large O and between lower large O and clip, keeping garment free." I can not figure out how to do this step. Can someone help me, please. Thank you.
12/23/11 3:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

StyleArc Pleated Pia Top

photo
by: LynnRowe

Review
McCall's 6571

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now