SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2383 (White Dinner Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1792 times 
Reviewed by:Philip Kime
photo

 
 
About Philip Kimestar
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/03 3:08 PM
Last Updated:3/12/03 4:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maurobrito said...
Hi everyone, I'm having a bit of trouble understanding the direction of this pattern. Here's where I'm at: Front and Pockets, "with right sides together, pin pocket to the front seam allowance, having raw edges even. Stich 3/8'' (10mm) from raw edges above upper large O and between lower large O and clip, keeping garment free." I can not figure out how to do this step. Can someone help me, please. Thank you.
12/23/11 3:55 AM
SavesIX said...
Unfortunately, the links to the photos have been broken.
6/23/11 4:06 PM
newlywedws said...
What a phenomenal review, thoroughly helpful as I'm currently making my husband a suit - thank you for the detailed review and pictures - a delight for me!
9/23/08 7:45 PM
Modiste Madness said...
How beautiful!
7/4/07 5:49 PM
jojoeffe said...
I'm about to embark on this pattern for a friend, and it's encouraging to see how well it turns out. It looks fantastic and must be rather fun to wear out.
6/22/04 7:09 AM
Sarah McC said...
philip, what a wonderful jacket. You have been a true inspiration to tackle men's clothing, something I thought beyond me. Also big thanks for the book source you mentioned. I have been able to locate (and order) an out of print english book that Amazon has not been able to find for 4 years!!!
3/13/03 11:48 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
By the way, Philip, based on the work you do and the excellent reviews you post, I think you should rate your sewing skills as Advanced! -Ann
3/13/03 9:55 AM
Pam Z said...
Wow! Fabulous jacket & great review.
3/13/03 8:47 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Excellent review, and I am very impressed with the quality and evenness of your hand-stitching.
3/13/03 0:18 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Superb! I could certainly picture Sean Connery as 007 in this dinner jacket. :-)
3/12/03 8:01 PM
cindyann said...
Excellent review!! Beautiful jacket.
3/12/03 6:17 PM
Lou. said...
Wow, this is great!
3/12/03 5:43 PM
Elona said...
Beautiful, beautiful review, and a very handsome jacket!
3/12/03 5:26 PM
Philip Kime said...
Sorry, the abebooks URL was incorrect, it should be http://www.abebooks.com
3/12/03 4:29 PM
Philip Kime said...
Initially, I tried some basting thread for the pad-stitching but this is too thick and shows up as ridges under fine wool so I switched to a stanadrd mercerised cotton. I didn't shrink the twil tape - I attached one side, then rolled the break line a little to far and held it while I attached the other side. It then relaxed into the right position. The books are a three-volume set called "The Modern Tailor, Outfitter and Clothier" edited by A. S. Bridgland (1928). It has everything - cutting (without patterns ...), insurance for tailors, "modern" advertising methods, special chapters on where to place military insiginia ... the level of writing by these working men is far above that displayed by most modern upper managers I've every met. I found it through Abebooks - a superb antique booksearch site.
3/12/03 4:26 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I meant hand pad-stitching, sorry -distracted by a 5 year old threatening to shoot me with his ray gun! :)
3/12/03 4:18 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fantastic as always, Philip. I especially love the detail photos. What kind of thread do you use for the hand tailoring? -Ann
3/12/03 4:17 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow. Very impressive jacket and informative review. Thanks!
3/12/03 4:09 PM
Georgene said...
Wonderful to hear about all the insides of this jacket, Philip. Pad stitching does yield good results. Did you put a twill tape along the break line of the collar and shrink it in to get the roll? I am very interested to hear about your NEXT jacket, after you have all this new experience, I'm sure it will be wonderful Would it be too much to ask for the reference to your book set? Perhaps a book review? It might be available through a booksearch or library for those of us who are fanatics.
3/12/03 3:50 PM
Susan Parker said...
Fabulous jacket. Very sharp, Philip. Thanks for the review.
3/12/03 3:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Kwik Sew 1017

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

More Info