Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Macphee sewing workshop: 455 (Long Rider Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1566 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/03 0:21 AM
Last Updated:3/13/03 0:31 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pamela thickens said...
Great coat. I've never heard of these patterns before. I'm going to check out their website. Thanks for your thorough review. Good to know about those snaps pulling out.
3/13/03 1:50 AM
Georgene said...
Wow MaryBeth, it came out great! I'm glad you were able to overcome your difficulties and acheive such great results. DH looks very dashing!
3/13/03 1:55 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks very much for this review. Just this week DH2B was mentioning it would be handy to have one of these coats. I had not seen these patterns; I will have to see if they have the coat pattern I am looking for also!
3/13/03 7:33 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
That is a very cool coat indeed! Thanks for your review.
3/13/03 9:18 AM
Linda E. said...
Marybeth, I have been watching Sew Much fun on a local station here And Lind Machee it fun to watch but you see that is encourages the sewers creativlity I have a couple of her patterns haven't got around to trying them. Linda has a fun bubbly personality. You did a great job on the coat I like it very much. Your DH looks great in it.
3/13/03 9:43 AM
MaryBeth said...
Oh Linda: Thanks for reminding me! I forgot to tell you'll how much I enjoyed working with this company! Even tho I had to wait 3 weeks for the order due to inclement weather in Canada it was worth it. The staff is responsive and responsible, they seem like true hands-on sewists. I do thank them for all their efforts.
3/13/03 7:05 PM
sewbehind said...
Mary Beth, wonderful review. I am reading all of these MacPhee pattern reviews with great interest. Would you care to share your source for fleece backed cordura? I have an aging border collie that would love a new coat this winter! (I live in Canada too!)
5/9/06 1:48 PM
MaryBeth said...
Sewbehind, the cordura was a one-time purchase for fabricmartfabrics.com (I asked them) Linda MacPhee sells Kasha satin, which I used to line this coat, making it way too hot for most of our Tennessee weather. It's fleece backed and would make a great lining for a warm doggie coat (lucky dog!)
5/9/06 4:07 PM
sewbehind said...
Thank you, Mary Beth. Will look for it. He is a lucky dog! Great review, by the way.
5/10/06 10:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 4967
photo
Review by katiessewi... on 1/14/12
Read Review

New Look 6108 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6108 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2851 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 2851 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Ellen Medlock
photo
Review by PKPudlin on 6/22/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us