SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4082 (OOP jackets)

17 more reviews
Viewed 626 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/07 1:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in NZ said...
Hillarious review, sorry I have no suggestions for the buttonhole dilemma (sp?).
10/4/07 2:21 AM
JenniferBee said...
Love your jacket Frantic. I had the same buttonhole problem with a jacket I made recently, I covered the snaps with a matching lining fabric so when the jacket is open they are not so obvious.
10/4/07 2:25 AM
Annette1 said...
I love your fabric, too! I made a jacket a while back out of some upholstery matelasse (possibly not the brighest idea), so I can relate. I love my jacket too, though. As for you buttons, first of all I'm IMPRESSED you could get them covered in the first place. I wonder what about having just one button at the top, with a snap underneath, so it's sort of a fly-away jacket style? Then you could still see one of the big buttons, but the front would be clean. Then I was also thinking, well, maybe she could use the buttons on the sleeves somehow, and maybe just put a neat pin at the neckline. I'm kind of leaning toward the one-button closure at the necline, but I know whatever you end up doing will look great!
10/4/07 3:12 AM
FloraNature said...
Hi, great jacket! Perhaps you could sew a small flat, transparent button to the back of the large one (on the inside of the jacket), and a buttonhole made to accommodate it. I have a skirt which closes this way, and it works - it's just a little bit fiddly to button up, but it looks good.
10/4/07 3:52 AM
Hilary said...
What a great review-I actually LOL-your jacket is *lovely* :o) and have you considered loops instead of button holes? Not sure it would work- and maybe you could use a cording instead of making them from the fabric. Anyway, just a thought! Good luck!
10/4/07 6:39 AM
carolynw said...
I am still laughing at your adventure - glad you stuck with it because it looks wonderful. I cannot begin to imagine how you got the buttons covered - on less thick fabric I have resorted to using a hammer much to my husband's surprise so maybe you used a jack hammer? As far as buttonholes go - have you considred loops - possibly too late to do that fromt the inside but you could make fancy loops and sew them on the outside - I know you will come up with something as you seem to love a challenge. Let us know what you decide
10/4/07 9:04 AM
Sewliz said...
That worked out beautifully! Sometimes just pushing through doubts results in the most wonderful product. How about magnets for closure? Purse magnets are readily available and good ones are pretty "sticky".
10/4/07 11:04 AM
Puppy said...
Well, it may have been a challenge, but it certainly LOOKS cute!
10/4/07 12:43 PM
poplin said...
Lovely jacket. Very much in style. While snoop shopping at Nordstroms, I discovered that most swing jackets with big buttons like yours do not have buttonholes to match. Instead, the buttons are for show and at work are extra large snaps. I also thought the snaps look weird, but after trying on these swing jackets with their one or two buttons at/near the neckline, I also discovered that they really look better all buttoned up when worn. No one will know that xlarge snaps are at work until you take the jacket off. Since you really like your jackets unbuttoned, another suggestion is to attach large hooks behind the xlarge buttons. You can cover the hooks with thread that matches the fabric. You can do the same for the eyes or you can make thread loops. The thread loops will be nearly invisible, if you can match the thread exactly.
10/4/07 7:16 PM
motomoda said...
Could you add smaller buttons on the inside, behind the big buttons and make buttonholes that woudl fit the smaller buttoins? This would mean that the left side (?) would be on top rather than the right side, when buttoned up. I guess ultimately it all depends on whether you can tame the fabric into making buttonholes of any size (smaller than the crater :)) I see Nicky has made the same suggestion.....
10/4/07 10:19 PM
annie1129 said...
I just bought a RTW suede jacket that has the buttons just like yours; no buttonholes, and snaps! Enjoy your jacket!
10/4/07 11:24 PM
MareeAlison said...
Great jacket - I like Motomoda's idea about small buttons on the back side of the big buttons and small button holes to fit those. I've seen this done I'm sure. The only think I could think of is velcro :-) you know a little piece of the locking one at the back of the button and that thick fabric will probably latch right on to it. Motomoda's idea is far better.
10/5/07 3:10 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Love your review & jacket, Frantic.
10/5/07 1:11 PM
rivergum said...
Thank you everyone for your suggestions, you are such a wonderful resource of creative ideas and I'm sure I will use every one of them at some stage. For the moment I decided to go with nicky and motomoda, mainly because it looks the least 'unusual', aka like a fix to a problem (which of course it is). I am not into snaps and in the end just sewing a button on the inside was the easiest to do with all the materials already on hand. The buttonholes worked ok and I made the largest size possible on my machine. Unless you are really comparing the size they look like they go with the outside buttons. Of course the sides are reversed but only a sewist will notice!
10/5/07 4:42 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket! I've seen several styles like this in the stores recently.
10/5/07 7:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-114

photo
by: marie elis...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 12246-1000

photo
by: lacroise1

Review
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now