SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2007-117 (Sherlock Holmes Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2251 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 150
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/07 4:42 PM
Last Updated:10/19/08 0:04 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
It sure is expensive looking Cidell. It's a gorgeous dress that I really missed in the magazine. I like the detail on the collar. Make it in the same color if you don't like the color difference.
10/7/07 4:50 PM
loohoo44 said...
I love the 2 fabrics on this one, just beautiful! Great fit, too.
10/7/07 4:59 PM
SillyValley said...
Cidell - about mixing fabric you are right. RTW does this and whenever I see it done well I am always impressed. Jun Takahashi (Undercover) is the king of it IMHO. You got great results with your fabric here. Very well done!
10/7/07 5:03 PM
Kay Y said...
This is a gorgeous dress - 2 reviews in one day are making me sad that I did not buy this issue!
10/7/07 5:16 PM
So So said...
Great take on this pattern. i have looked and looked at it, i am a uk 16+ so don't know how it will go, defo. muslin 1st. i had thought on shortening it and making it a top. Without the tab would it be just like a reversed collar 9 sorry don't know correct name for this). Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
10/7/07 5:18 PM
Nancy K said...
This looks great on you! Too nice for Ann Taylor. I love every version I have seen of this dress. This is on my list, but I am a bit pear shaped and heavier than you, so this is a muslin first dress.
10/7/07 5:57 PM
carolynw said...
Well Cidell this time I think you should be walking the runway or doing a fashion shoot - you look as usual wonderful in your creation - way to go girl!!
10/7/07 6:09 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love your interpretation of this dress. A good weekend's work!
10/7/07 6:10 PM
avancleve said...
Looks great, and great tips. I purchased a few yards of some cute plaid wool for just this dress. Nice to have some tips before I get started.
10/7/07 6:13 PM
Linda G said...
I love love love your dress. You are right the fabric makes it. I have looked at that pattern and have tried to figure out how to make 3/4 length sleeves...Minnesota you know!!.....but it was 92 here yesterday, unheard of in October...60 something today and down hill from there! It is so nice that you and Nice Girl sew together...it is hard to find sewing companions these days!!
10/7/07 6:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Rock on Cidell !!! This is one gorgeous dress !
10/7/07 6:33 PM
Vonnevo said...
oops !!!
10/7/07 6:34 PM
Erica B. said...
OK... that's it! I'm making this dress! This dress is too hot. And yes, it does look like high-end RTW. I love how you mixed the fabric... I would have not thought to do that. Fantastic job!
10/7/07 6:43 PM
Pinkytoo said...
FANtastic, as always! Your picture looks like something straight out of Vogue magazine.
10/7/07 7:03 PM
Lori V said...
Cidell, this is amazing. Love your fabric combinations. You look fantastic.
10/7/07 7:24 PM
Christina Sonja said...
The combination of the two fabrics takes this to another level. And it is so flattering on you!
10/7/07 7:47 PM
Hilary said...
I think you look *oh-so-chic* in this-you really look fabulous in your dress!! You always do :o) Thanks for the great review.
10/7/07 7:50 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your dress with the two fabrics. It looks great on you.
10/7/07 8:03 PM
craftyshark said...
Very chic indeed! I love the combination of the fabrics. And yes, it is very expensive looking. Wonderful job!
10/7/07 8:19 PM
blue mooney said...
I love the fabric mix, Cidell! Great lady-like retro look.
10/7/07 8:24 PM
Diane E said...
Cidell, I love your dress. It's absolutely beautiful and you look beautiful in it. It's perfect for afternoon tea with the ladies.
10/7/07 8:30 PM
Bonnie O said...
Spectacular!!! I can't wait to make it!
10/7/07 8:40 PM
Nancywin said...
Super, super super! I wouldn't have tought to color block it either, but it looks fantastic. I'm hoping you have details on the lining on your blog.
10/7/07 8:45 PM
Tiner W said...
Oh, I love that dress! I must get a copy of that! The 2 fabrics are fantastic!
10/7/07 9:07 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous looking dress - it looks great on you. Mixing the fabrics was the way to go because your dress looks very designer!
10/7/07 9:54 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful work, it's so flattering on you Cidell!!!
10/7/07 10:59 PM
nicegirl said...
Love the fabric mix and the way you brought the two fabrics together. Having seen it in person, I am qualified to say it's fabulous!
10/7/07 11:20 PM
LorelleD said...
Love your interpretation of this dress using 2 fabrics. Looks terrific.
10/8/07 2:00 AM
kiddo said...
Beautifully done!!! You look wonderful in the dress.
10/8/07 2:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your version of this dress. It looks great in two fabrics.
10/8/07 5:26 AM
BillieJean said...
This is beautiful, and I agree that is is a little retro. I can remember having a dress very similar to this back in the 60's (I think).
10/8/07 5:59 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! The dress looks terrific and you look like your pic was snapped for a fashion magazine :) !
10/8/07 6:51 AM
Ronda Rae said...
This is so cute!! Very stylish! I enjoyed seeing the other pics on your blog. I didn't realize the top part was plaid until I checked over there. I love it and I can tell that you do, too. Nice work.
10/8/07 7:57 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! and ditto what everyone else said. Very chic!
10/8/07 8:21 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Fan-triple-tastic! I really love this dress!
10/8/07 8:56 AM
lmg said...
Very expensive looking. Fantastic job! Thanks for the great review. Looks like this dress may suit pear types well.
10/8/07 9:16 AM
LauraLo said...
Beautiful, I love it!
10/8/07 9:18 AM
said...
Looks great!
10/8/07 9:54 AM
Kitty Couture said...
The contrasting top and bottom are SO clever! I love your version of that one, Cidell.
10/8/07 11:33 AM
SandraB said...
Fabulous as always. I skipped right past this dress in the magazine, but you managed to make it look very upscale and exclusive.
10/8/07 12:07 PM
Sewing Chick said...
You did a fantastic job! I love your two fabrics together. This pattern is now on my definite to do list. Thanks for a wonderful review.
10/8/07 1:17 PM
OP Gal said...
Great dress, and you look fabulous in it. And you're definitely runway material!
10/8/07 8:54 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Love it!! The two fabrics together is so inspired and really makes this dress your own expensive designer original.
10/9/07 8:30 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
You have another beautiful creation. Great job and thanks for the tips, too.
10/11/07 11:30 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell-I love this version of the dress. I finally got around to subscribing to Burda and this dress will be a great place to start. I'm sure you have already done away with it, but I love the tab against the collar. You look gorgeous and i love thinking about you and NiceGirl and your sewing weekend.
10/22/07 8:25 PM
Marji said...
Looks wonderful on you!
12/3/07 5:00 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
I love the fabric choices - they blend well. If I saw you walking down the street I would be running you down asking where you purchased this from!
10/19/08 0:33 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cidell, I would not have thought that you could possibly improve on your first version, but this grey and brighter plaid with the wide black belt is positively Stylin'! And in your entire ensemble, you look so vibrant; what a beautiful girl you are. Lovely, lovely work, Lily
10/19/08 1:03 AM
Lori V said...
Cidell, great job on the new version. The colors and fabric combinations are wonderful
10/19/08 8:22 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I just love your second version. It really is so au courant. I might just have to get me a second one as well. Thanks for the inspiration.
10/19/08 9:24 AM
CShelley said...
Great job, great results. Doesn't look like Ann Taylor to me -maybe Ann Taylor funkified. And lucky you to have a sewing buddy!!
10/19/08 9:27 AM
Beek said...
What fun you and Nicegirl must have had sewing away! And what a great outfit you have as a result!
10/19/08 10:17 AM
Karen6790 said...
Me likey, too. You've made two of this dress now and it's still on my to do list. Shame on me - it's a fabulous dress. Love the brighter plaid.
10/19/08 1:31 PM
HLT said...
Wonderful blend of the 2 fabrics. I think that it is very RTW. I've seen many dresses in the stores that blend 2 fabrics to make a shirt/skirt look. Very fabulous!!!
10/19/08 11:18 PM
Elke said...
Looks great on you...love the fabric combination!
10/20/08 9:26 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress couldn't be any better - it's so nice!
10/20/08 11:31 AM
ChristineX said...
Good gravy, woman, you look like a 50's pinup! Woohoo!!
10/24/08 12:19 PM
Jali said...
Cidell, your second dress is smart yet funky, and fits you great. In fact, it fits right into the Jan 2009 issue of BWOF and its plaid series.
1/3/09 12:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now