SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2007-117 (Sherlock Holmes Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2254 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD United States
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/07 4:42 PM
Last Updated:10/19/08 0:04 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jali said...
Cidell, your second dress is smart yet funky, and fits you great. In fact, it fits right into the Jan 2009 issue of BWOF and its plaid series.
1/3/09 12:32 PM
ChristineX said...
Good gravy, woman, you look like a 50's pinup! Woohoo!!
10/24/08 12:19 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress couldn't be any better - it's so nice!
10/20/08 11:31 AM
Elke said...
Looks great on you...love the fabric combination!
10/20/08 9:26 AM
HLT said...
Wonderful blend of the 2 fabrics. I think that it is very RTW. I've seen many dresses in the stores that blend 2 fabrics to make a shirt/skirt look. Very fabulous!!!
10/19/08 11:18 PM
Karen6790 said...
Me likey, too. You've made two of this dress now and it's still on my to do list. Shame on me - it's a fabulous dress. Love the brighter plaid.
10/19/08 1:31 PM
Beek said...
What fun you and Nicegirl must have had sewing away! And what a great outfit you have as a result!
10/19/08 10:17 AM
CShelley said...
Great job, great results. Doesn't look like Ann Taylor to me -maybe Ann Taylor funkified. And lucky you to have a sewing buddy!!
10/19/08 9:27 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I just love your second version. It really is so au courant. I might just have to get me a second one as well. Thanks for the inspiration.
10/19/08 9:24 AM
Lori V said...
Cidell, great job on the new version. The colors and fabric combinations are wonderful
10/19/08 8:22 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cidell, I would not have thought that you could possibly improve on your first version, but this grey and brighter plaid with the wide black belt is positively Stylin'! And in your entire ensemble, you look so vibrant; what a beautiful girl you are. Lovely, lovely work, Lily
10/19/08 1:03 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
I love the fabric choices - they blend well. If I saw you walking down the street I would be running you down asking where you purchased this from!
10/19/08 0:33 AM
Marji said...
Looks wonderful on you!
12/3/07 5:00 AM
Markie1 said...
Cidell-I love this version of the dress. I finally got around to subscribing to Burda and this dress will be a great place to start. I'm sure you have already done away with it, but I love the tab against the collar. You look gorgeous and i love thinking about you and NiceGirl and your sewing weekend.
10/22/07 8:25 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
You have another beautiful creation. Great job and thanks for the tips, too.
10/11/07 11:30 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Love it!! The two fabrics together is so inspired and really makes this dress your own expensive designer original.
10/9/07 8:30 AM
OP Gal said...
Great dress, and you look fabulous in it. And you're definitely runway material!
10/8/07 8:54 PM
Sewing Chick said...
You did a fantastic job! I love your two fabrics together. This pattern is now on my definite to do list. Thanks for a wonderful review.
10/8/07 1:17 PM
SandraB said...
Fabulous as always. I skipped right past this dress in the magazine, but you managed to make it look very upscale and exclusive.
10/8/07 12:07 PM
Kitty Couture said...
The contrasting top and bottom are SO clever! I love your version of that one, Cidell.
10/8/07 11:33 AM
said...
Looks great!
10/8/07 9:54 AM
LauraLo said...
Beautiful, I love it!
10/8/07 9:18 AM
lmg said...
Very expensive looking. Fantastic job! Thanks for the great review. Looks like this dress may suit pear types well.
10/8/07 9:16 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Fan-triple-tastic! I really love this dress!
10/8/07 8:56 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! and ditto what everyone else said. Very chic!
10/8/07 8:21 AM
Ronda Rae said...
This is so cute!! Very stylish! I enjoyed seeing the other pics on your blog. I didn't realize the top part was plaid until I checked over there. I love it and I can tell that you do, too. Nice work.
10/8/07 7:57 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! The dress looks terrific and you look like your pic was snapped for a fashion magazine :) !
10/8/07 6:51 AM
BillieJean said...
This is beautiful, and I agree that is is a little retro. I can remember having a dress very similar to this back in the 60's (I think).
10/8/07 5:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your version of this dress. It looks great in two fabrics.
10/8/07 5:26 AM
kiddo said...
Beautifully done!!! You look wonderful in the dress.
10/8/07 2:38 AM
LorelleD said...
Love your interpretation of this dress using 2 fabrics. Looks terrific.
10/8/07 2:00 AM
nicegirl said...
Love the fabric mix and the way you brought the two fabrics together. Having seen it in person, I am qualified to say it's fabulous!
10/7/07 11:20 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful work, it's so flattering on you Cidell!!!
10/7/07 10:59 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous looking dress - it looks great on you. Mixing the fabrics was the way to go because your dress looks very designer!
10/7/07 9:54 PM
Tiner W said...
Oh, I love that dress! I must get a copy of that! The 2 fabrics are fantastic!
10/7/07 9:07 PM
Nancywin said...
Super, super super! I wouldn't have tought to color block it either, but it looks fantastic. I'm hoping you have details on the lining on your blog.
10/7/07 8:45 PM
Bonnie O said...
Spectacular!!! I can't wait to make it!
10/7/07 8:40 PM
Diane E said...
Cidell, I love your dress. It's absolutely beautiful and you look beautiful in it. It's perfect for afternoon tea with the ladies.
10/7/07 8:30 PM
blue mooney said...
I love the fabric mix, Cidell! Great lady-like retro look.
10/7/07 8:24 PM
craftyshark said...
Very chic indeed! I love the combination of the fabrics. And yes, it is very expensive looking. Wonderful job!
10/7/07 8:19 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your dress with the two fabrics. It looks great on you.
10/7/07 8:03 PM
Hilary said...
I think you look *oh-so-chic* in this-you really look fabulous in your dress!! You always do :o) Thanks for the great review.
10/7/07 7:50 PM
Christina Sonja said...
The combination of the two fabrics takes this to another level. And it is so flattering on you!
10/7/07 7:47 PM
Lori V said...
Cidell, this is amazing. Love your fabric combinations. You look fantastic.
10/7/07 7:24 PM
Pinkytoo said...
FANtastic, as always! Your picture looks like something straight out of Vogue magazine.
10/7/07 7:03 PM
Erica B. said...
OK... that's it! I'm making this dress! This dress is too hot. And yes, it does look like high-end RTW. I love how you mixed the fabric... I would have not thought to do that. Fantastic job!
10/7/07 6:43 PM
Vonnevo said...
oops !!!
10/7/07 6:34 PM
Vonnevo said...
Rock on Cidell !!! This is one gorgeous dress !
10/7/07 6:33 PM
Linda G said...
I love love love your dress. You are right the fabric makes it. I have looked at that pattern and have tried to figure out how to make 3/4 length sleeves...Minnesota you know!!.....but it was 92 here yesterday, unheard of in October...60 something today and down hill from there! It is so nice that you and Nice Girl sew together...it is hard to find sewing companions these days!!
10/7/07 6:22 PM
avancleve said...
Looks great, and great tips. I purchased a few yards of some cute plaid wool for just this dress. Nice to have some tips before I get started.
10/7/07 6:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love your interpretation of this dress. A good weekend's work!
10/7/07 6:10 PM
carolynw said...
Well Cidell this time I think you should be walking the runway or doing a fashion shoot - you look as usual wonderful in your creation - way to go girl!!
10/7/07 6:09 PM
Nancy K said...
This looks great on you! Too nice for Ann Taylor. I love every version I have seen of this dress. This is on my list, but I am a bit pear shaped and heavier than you, so this is a muslin first dress.
10/7/07 5:57 PM
So So said...
Great take on this pattern. i have looked and looked at it, i am a uk 16+ so don't know how it will go, defo. muslin 1st. i had thought on shortening it and making it a top. Without the tab would it be just like a reversed collar 9 sorry don't know correct name for this). Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
10/7/07 5:18 PM
Kay Y said...
This is a gorgeous dress - 2 reviews in one day are making me sad that I did not buy this issue!
10/7/07 5:16 PM
SillyValley said...
Cidell - about mixing fabric you are right. RTW does this and whenever I see it done well I am always impressed. Jun Takahashi (Undercover) is the king of it IMHO. You got great results with your fabric here. Very well done!
10/7/07 5:03 PM
loohoo44 said...
I love the 2 fabrics on this one, just beautiful! Great fit, too.
10/7/07 4:59 PM
Sigrid. said...
It sure is expensive looking Cidell. It's a gorgeous dress that I really missed in the magazine. I like the detail on the collar. Make it in the same color if you don't like the color difference.
10/7/07 4:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-103

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

More Info