Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Islander Sewing Systems: Waterfall (Waterfall) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1789 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR
About Debbie Lancasterstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/03 10:32 PM
Last Updated:7/27/03 2:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
That is a graceful cut. And the fabric is cheerful and goes well w/ the skirt (no,you don't look like a sofa). I would think this pattern would work for inverted triangle; I'm pear-ish so I will just have to see how other people do with it!
7/25/03 11:42 PM
texellence said...
I have this pattern, but have not made it yet...after seeing yours, I think I will make it sooner rather than later....it is stunning in the pictures you posted! Thanks for sharing all the info.....it looks gorgeous!
7/26/03 3:20 AM
cindyann said...
Very pretty. Your fabric layout is great. The designs are just right! Very graceful and comfortable looking.
7/27/03 7:07 PM
Roberta Johnson said...
Debbie, I just got her Road Runner Jacket Pattern and the "tux" pattern but not made them up yet. I was wondering why you starched the fabric before cutting it out? I do this on cotton -- especially if quilting, trapunto, etc., but had not thought of doing it to anything different. Does this help when cutting out "slippery fabric"? Thanks for any input you can give! Roberta
7/28/03 9:39 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Roberta, yes I starch slippery fabric to make it behave. I use liquid starch diluted by half, dry the fabric, then iron it. It behaves much like paper, then, and is easier for me to deal with. Other people have other strategies, and the traditional way of dealing with slippery fabric is to lay it on a piece of paper, and cut the paper and fabric together as a single piece. It doesn't slide around much that way. I like starching because it also makes the fabric easier for me to handle when I'm pinning and sewing.
7/28/03 10:25 PM
oldsewandsew said...
What size did you use? Is it true to size, or does it run big or small. Beautiful top - looks good on you also!
7/29/03 8:47 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
J. Claire Meeks, I made a M, 12-14-16. I wear a S-M in RTW. I could even have made a S, since the pattern is very forgiving. In fact, a small might fit me better in the shoulders. I think it would be a good idea to pin fit it to your shoulder width--everything else fits very loosely, so that would be the one place the pattern is shaped to fit.
7/30/03 1:35 AM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Gosh, what was I thinking? Must have been some other pattern that has shaped shoulders, because the Waterfall sure doesn't! The shoulder to sleeve line is almost perfectly straight. Good thing I decided to look at the pattern. Sorry about the misinformation.
7/30/03 10:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-108
photo
Review by Claire in ... on 4/26/09
Read Review

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5429
photo
Review by ClaireEmil... on 2/20/09
Read Review

Burda 6982 Pattern
Burda 6982 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1458 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1458 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us