SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2718 (Misses' Fitting Shell)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1115 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/07 11:37 AM
Last Updated:10/10/07 11:37 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 48 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneFromLambourn said...
Very thorough and helpful - thanks!
10/10/07 5:09 PM
blue mooney said...
This review deserves a category all its own. Thank you so much for your insights!
10/10/07 6:14 PM
pt6356 said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. My twenty-something daughters both live out of state now, so making slopers for them over the Christmas break sounds like a great idea!
10/11/07 7:30 AM
KarenUK said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you! You've helped me decide which pattern company to use for this - I've been putting it off for ages but I know it's a process I need to go through too. No pain, no gain as they say. I think I'm a similar build to you too so your comments will be especially helpful - hope this helps you with your future projects.
10/11/07 8:04 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. Just reading about the Vogue pattern was confusing to me, yet alone trying to make it. Whew!
10/11/07 12:28 PM
Sanibelle said...
What a fantastic fantastic review. Thank you for comparing the two in such detail!
10/13/07 2:54 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I can't thank you enough. Your review has saved me so much labor (and tears, too) -- I've just gotten FFRP and been thinking about which fit pattern to get, never having used a McCalls pattern. I'm still scared to try it, but you've spared me at least half a dozen missteps. Thanks!
1/10/08 8:46 AM
Sherbie said...
Thank you very much for the awesome review! I'm new to sewing and have just read FFRP. I want to try this but am so intimidated! I have some physical issues that are without doubt going to require alteration off the standard, so I need to go through this process. You've helped me so much! Thank you again! :-)
3/15/08 12:52 PM
lendube said...
What a wonderful review you've taken the time to write. I've got FFRP and my next step is to buy this pattern. I'll be reading this review over carefully once again when I do. Thank you so much. You've helped many people. And your pup's adorable. I've got a few myself!
6/4/08 9:46 PM
merteuil said...
Thank you so much for writng such a wonderfully detailed review! I just bought FFRP, and was wondering which fitting shell to order.
7/28/08 8:39 AM
emcrorie said...
thank you! You just saved me time and money :)
10/19/09 9:43 AM
pjhoff said...
thanks.
12/25/10 10:02 PM
Moxie Carol said...
What a thorough and helpful review. I have FFRP and took a 1/2-day pants-fitting class from Marta Alto last summer at a sewing expo. I'm thinking about doing the Palmer/Pletsch Fit seminar in Portland this summer. Your review makes me think I'd get a lot out of it if I order this pattern now and go through this fitting process so I can learn about my body, which has changed so much in the last few years! Thank you again for taking the time.
1/4/11 10:08 PM
Scheri said...
OMG I was going to do the same things. Vogue 1004 McCalls 2718 & Butterick 6092. You saved me a bunch on monies, time & stress. Hats of to you!
2/19/11 3:31 PM
Gendun said...
I'm with Blue Mooney: This review is way out beyond any other review I've read. I hope you know just how helpful it is! (smiles widely) THANK YOU SO MUCH!
6/17/12 4:16 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Amazing review! I'm going to buy the McCalls sloper now and work through it with FFRP as a guide. I'm looking forward to really identifying what issues I have that are previously undiscovered but are preventing a perfect fit
10/30/12 1:23 PM
mnitts said...
Thank you so much for this review. It was exactly what I was looking for. Wonderful!
11/7/12 6:46 PM
mnitts said...
Thank you so much for this review. It was exactly what I was looking for. Wonderful!
11/7/12 6:46 PM
pinkli said...
Very interesting to read the comparison of the two. Thank you for such an informed review.
4/16/14 3:31 PM
Syltin said...
Exactly what I needed, thank you very much for this detailed review!
6/16/14 6:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Other GertiesBook

photo
by: Bex81

Review
New Look 6068

photo
by: pajamapart...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now