SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2718 (Misses' Fitting Shell)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1110 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/07 11:37 AM
Last Updated:10/10/07 11:37 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 48 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneFromLambourn said...
Very thorough and helpful - thanks!
10/10/07 5:09 PM
blue mooney said...
This review deserves a category all its own. Thank you so much for your insights!
10/10/07 6:14 PM
pt6356 said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. My twenty-something daughters both live out of state now, so making slopers for them over the Christmas break sounds like a great idea!
10/11/07 7:30 AM
KarenUK said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you! You've helped me decide which pattern company to use for this - I've been putting it off for ages but I know it's a process I need to go through too. No pain, no gain as they say. I think I'm a similar build to you too so your comments will be especially helpful - hope this helps you with your future projects.
10/11/07 8:04 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. Just reading about the Vogue pattern was confusing to me, yet alone trying to make it. Whew!
10/11/07 12:28 PM
Sanibelle said...
What a fantastic fantastic review. Thank you for comparing the two in such detail!
10/13/07 2:54 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I can't thank you enough. Your review has saved me so much labor (and tears, too) -- I've just gotten FFRP and been thinking about which fit pattern to get, never having used a McCalls pattern. I'm still scared to try it, but you've spared me at least half a dozen missteps. Thanks!
1/10/08 8:46 AM
Sherbie said...
Thank you very much for the awesome review! I'm new to sewing and have just read FFRP. I want to try this but am so intimidated! I have some physical issues that are without doubt going to require alteration off the standard, so I need to go through this process. You've helped me so much! Thank you again! :-)
3/15/08 12:52 PM
lendube said...
What a wonderful review you've taken the time to write. I've got FFRP and my next step is to buy this pattern. I'll be reading this review over carefully once again when I do. Thank you so much. You've helped many people. And your pup's adorable. I've got a few myself!
6/4/08 9:46 PM
merteuil said...
Thank you so much for writng such a wonderfully detailed review! I just bought FFRP, and was wondering which fitting shell to order.
7/28/08 8:39 AM
emcrorie said...
thank you! You just saved me time and money :)
10/19/09 9:43 AM
pjhoff said...
thanks.
12/25/10 10:02 PM
Moxie Carol said...
What a thorough and helpful review. I have FFRP and took a 1/2-day pants-fitting class from Marta Alto last summer at a sewing expo. I'm thinking about doing the Palmer/Pletsch Fit seminar in Portland this summer. Your review makes me think I'd get a lot out of it if I order this pattern now and go through this fitting process so I can learn about my body, which has changed so much in the last few years! Thank you again for taking the time.
1/4/11 10:08 PM
Scheri said...
OMG I was going to do the same things. Vogue 1004 McCalls 2718 & Butterick 6092. You saved me a bunch on monies, time & stress. Hats of to you!
2/19/11 3:31 PM
Gendun said...
I'm with Blue Mooney: This review is way out beyond any other review I've read. I hope you know just how helpful it is! (smiles widely) THANK YOU SO MUCH!
6/17/12 4:16 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Amazing review! I'm going to buy the McCalls sloper now and work through it with FFRP as a guide. I'm looking forward to really identifying what issues I have that are previously undiscovered but are preventing a perfect fit
10/30/12 1:23 PM
mnitts said...
Thank you so much for this review. It was exactly what I was looking for. Wonderful!
11/7/12 6:46 PM
mnitts said...
Thank you so much for this review. It was exactly what I was looking for. Wonderful!
11/7/12 6:46 PM
pinkli said...
Very interesting to read the comparison of the two. Thank you for such an informed review.
4/16/14 3:31 PM
Syltin said...
Exactly what I needed, thank you very much for this detailed review!
6/16/14 6:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now