Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2718 (Misses' Fitting Shell) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1091 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 48 people   
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/07 11:37 AM
Last Updated:10/10/07 11:37 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneFromLambourn said...
Very thorough and helpful - thanks!
10/10/07 5:09 PM
blue mooney said...
This review deserves a category all its own. Thank you so much for your insights!
10/10/07 6:14 PM
pt6356 said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. My twenty-something daughters both live out of state now, so making slopers for them over the Christmas break sounds like a great idea!
10/11/07 7:30 AM
KarenUK said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you! You've helped me decide which pattern company to use for this - I've been putting it off for ages but I know it's a process I need to go through too. No pain, no gain as they say. I think I'm a similar build to you too so your comments will be especially helpful - hope this helps you with your future projects.
10/11/07 8:04 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. Just reading about the Vogue pattern was confusing to me, yet alone trying to make it. Whew!
10/11/07 12:28 PM
Sanibelle said...
What a fantastic fantastic review. Thank you for comparing the two in such detail!
10/13/07 2:54 AM
ElizabethDee said...
I can't thank you enough. Your review has saved me so much labor (and tears, too) -- I've just gotten FFRP and been thinking about which fit pattern to get, never having used a McCalls pattern. I'm still scared to try it, but you've spared me at least half a dozen missteps. Thanks!
1/10/08 8:46 AM
Sherbie said...
Thank you very much for the awesome review! I'm new to sewing and have just read FFRP. I want to try this but am so intimidated! I have some physical issues that are without doubt going to require alteration off the standard, so I need to go through this process. You've helped me so much! Thank you again! :-)
3/15/08 12:52 PM
lendube said...
What a wonderful review you've taken the time to write. I've got FFRP and my next step is to buy this pattern. I'll be reading this review over carefully once again when I do. Thank you so much. You've helped many people. And your pup's adorable. I've got a few myself!
6/4/08 9:46 PM
merteuil said...
Thank you so much for writng such a wonderfully detailed review! I just bought FFRP, and was wondering which fitting shell to order.
7/28/08 8:39 AM
emcrorie said...
thank you! You just saved me time and money :)
10/19/09 9:43 AM
pjhoff said...
thanks.
12/25/10 10:02 PM
Moxie Carol said...
What a thorough and helpful review. I have FFRP and took a 1/2-day pants-fitting class from Marta Alto last summer at a sewing expo. I'm thinking about doing the Palmer/Pletsch Fit seminar in Portland this summer. Your review makes me think I'd get a lot out of it if I order this pattern now and go through this fitting process so I can learn about my body, which has changed so much in the last few years! Thank you again for taking the time.
1/4/11 10:08 PM
Scheri said...
OMG I was going to do the same things. Vogue 1004 McCalls 2718 & Butterick 6092. You saved me a bunch on monies, time & stress. Hats of to you!
2/19/11 3:31 PM
Gendun said...
I'm with Blue Mooney: This review is way out beyond any other review I've read. I hope you know just how helpful it is! (smiles widely) THANK YOU SO MUCH!
6/17/12 4:16 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Amazing review! I'm going to buy the McCalls sloper now and work through it with FFRP as a guide. I'm looking forward to really identifying what issues I have that are previously undiscovered but are preventing a perfect fit
10/30/12 1:23 PM
mnitts said...
Thank you so much for this review. It was exactly what I was looking for. Wonderful!
11/7/12 6:46 PM
mnitts said...
Thank you so much for this review. It was exactly what I was looking for. Wonderful!
11/7/12 6:46 PM
pinkli said...
Very interesting to read the comparison of the two. Thank you for such an informed review.
4/16/14 3:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 3852
photo
Review by DesignsByD... on 5/25/10
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2165
photo
Review by shanntarra on 2/6/12
Read Review

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6739 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6739 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us